We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Uptown Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Anchorage Uptown Suites to your Saves list
Anchorage Uptown Suites
234 East Second Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Humansdorp, South Africa
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Nice new modern apartment style accommodation,all very clean and comfortable with all amenities one could require.Friendly reception.Only negative might be for people with problems with stairs.We were on the 3rd floor and had to lug our suitcases up there.Outside parking for our hire car which did not feel very safe,but we had no problems.I do think one needs a car to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
11
12
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the Uptown Suites and really enjoyed it. The suites are really spacious with full kitchens and it would be a great place to stay for a longer term rental as well. There was free secure off street parking, free wifi and it is in a convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We got into town with no reservations and found that our favorite b n b was booked solid. They suggested this hotel. The woman at the hotel gave us a great rate so we took it. The hotel is within four blocks from downtown so it's a pleasant walk to stores, restaurants, and the museum. We really felt at home. We had a large living room, a nice balcony, and a good-sized kitchen. After we started our laundry in the coin op laundry room on the first floor for guests to use, we drove to Carr's (Safeway) and picked up some food items. Then we returned to our suite to enjoy a home-cooked meal, a cool beer, and a football game on the livingroom tv. It was a wonderful way to relax and recuperate after several weeks on the road. The wifi router was just outside the door so the signal was strong. The bed was soft. Electrical outlets were plentiful for our gadgets. My only complaint is the bathroom towels are a tad wimpy, but that's about it. Absolutely no bugs, in contrast to the one reviewer. The folks at the front desk were helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano TX
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Ended up here one night paid by B&B which overbooked. The property is more like a small apartment complex than hotel and is walking distance to downtown; very nice 2nd floor one bedroom with small balcony. Complimentary WiFi that worked well. Limited parking but we had no issues. Only downside was full-size bed and we're used to king size. Front desk very helpful in navigating area with suggestions on places to go eat, explore.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I was very pleased with this place up until last day! Nice appartment, close to downtown, clean, nice furnishing, etc.
I stayed there 3 nights. The last night I decided to watch some tv on the couch and fall asleep. I waked up a few hours later with at least 30 bed bugs bite over my arms and chest.
During the check out I told them about this problem and they didn't offer ANYTHING!!!! And when I say anything I am not expecting them to give me my money back, I am talking about a small gesture! Not even ointment for the bites or an allergy pill, nor a discount, NOTHING AT ALL!!!! The lady on the reception told me: I'll let the manager know. THAT WAS ALL!!!!
In conclusion: nice place but with BED BUGS!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorageUptownSuite, Manager at Anchorage Uptown Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Regarding your stay with us, we would like to address the problems you had encountered. We are glad that you enjoyed our furnished kitchen suites and location of our hotel, but we would like to add our input regarding your bug bites.

The morning of your check out you and the General Manager spoke for quite some time, and even in German - realizing you could both speak the language. You had asked her to leave your luggage here in our hotel while you went about your day and to pick it up later that night right before your flight. We had no problems accommodating that. Upon your return to get your luggage that night is when you informed the night manager about bites you had on your arms and chest. You said that you had fallen asleep on the couch the previous night and woke up to the bites. This was not mentioned to the General Manager during your conversation upon check out that morning.

As soon as the General Manager was informed of this she had our maintenance personnel in the room to address this matter - however, no bed bugs were discovered in the couch or bedding in the room after a proper search/cleaning. We apologize for this inconvenience you experienced during your trip to Alaska, but we are not sure where the source of the bites came from.

Before your stay with us we had a company occupying all of our kitchen suites for three months, including the room you rented, and other nightly rentals before and after your stay, and have had no similar complaints. We take pride in keeping our rooms clean for our nightly and long-term rentals and have never experienced an issue with bed bugs before. Again, we apologize for any inconveniences and hope you would consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just got back from Alaska a week ago. The location is in a great spot, walking distance to all the shops. The rooms were clean and there was a kitchen which was handy. The breakfast was adequate to last to lunch. I would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: the rooms at the back are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
archer
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed a week...great accommodations. Found this place after an unsuitable booking elsewhere, and thank goodness they had a room!! Very convenient to downtown Anchorage, two blocks to the train station. Clean, service and towels daily. Nice kitchen--big TV, clean bathroom. All staff were very welcoming and friendly, nice conversations and chats with all. Ilona is very helpful. Clean and safe, nice furnished apartment at a very reasonable price in downtown. Had a wonderful visit to a beautiful place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Anchorage Uptown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Uptown Suites

Address: 234 East Second Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers the personal convenience of homeEnjoy our friendly service and quality single or double occupancy rooms. We have 19 rooms, 16 of which have full kitchens. All rooms offer plenty of space for tranquility and relaxation. There is even an exquisite suite available at The Anchorage Uptown Suites & Condominium with a full jacuzzi and a view of the Cook Bay. Our hotel is conveniently located close to all the attractions in Anchorage, AK. If you are visiting for business or leisure, staying at our clean and comfortable accommodation at reasonable room rates will delight you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Anchorage Uptown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Uptown Hotel
Uptown Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Uptown Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.