We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, clean, convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Uptown Suites

Save Saved
You added Anchorage Uptown Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchorage Uptown Suites
234 East Second Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 69 Hotels in Anchorage
archer
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“nice, clean, convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed a week...great accommodations. Found this place after an unsuitable booking elsewhere, and thank goodness they had a room!! Very convenient to downtown Anchorage, two blocks to the train station. Clean, service and towels daily. Nice kitchen--big TV, clean bathroom. All staff were very welcoming and friendly, nice conversations and chats with all. Ilona is very helpful. Clean and safe, nice furnished apartment at a very reasonable price in downtown. Had a wonderful visit to a beautiful place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
11
12
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halfiax
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just came back from Anchorage a week ago, stayed at this suite and LOVE it! The location is convenient, 5 minutes walk to downtown, closer than I expected. I definitely will stay at this place again!!!

As soon as we stepped into the room, we feel we are home. It's basically a one-bedroom apartment, quiet, very clean, renovated, wifi, cable TV, a patio too! Stove, fridge, dish washer, and everything you need to cook a meal (except food and beer of course). There is also a pull-out couch in the living room, so my friend happily slept there. A safety box is available too!

The staffs are extremely friendly and helpful, the blind in the bedroom doesn't shut all the way, so we called the front desk at 10pm, the staffs showed up shortly and looked extremely sorry and fixed it. I think most of the staffs there are younger people who like to travel and from away, so we had some good chats too!

Where I stay is not a big deal for me when I travel, location, sanitary and safety are the main things I'm looking for, Anchorage Uptown Suites exceeded my expectation, we had an amazing time in Alaska (soooooo beautiful and spiritual!!), and it's definitely is one of the highlights from our trip!!

If you are someone who's never been to Alaska but always want to go? My suggestion? Book your ticket today!!! What the hell are you waiting for?!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

In short: our room was like an apartment -- kitchen with dishwasher, large fridge and plenty of counter tops (and a garbage disposal). The bathroom was sparkling and had a *wonderful* showerhead. The manager Ilona was very welcoming, and when we forgot our keys at a friend's house Jeri the night manager was eager to help. Questions about where to eat, buy booze or whatever -- no problem, friendliest staff in the world. Even the house keepers are friendly.

Found this place after a very poor experience at Duke's 8th Ave Hotel. My wife and I just moved back to Anchorage and wanted an extended stay so we could focus on finding work. We also didn't have a lot of money. That we found such a solid hotel for such a cheap price...we looked all over Anchorage and this isn't our first time here, Uptown Suites for sure. I would bring my grandmother here.

All in all we spent 24 days in #102, and are very happy we did.

Room Tip: I stayed in 'A' building, but it looks like building 'C' would have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana City, Montana
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

We recently spent 5 days in this Condo/Hotel. What a find. We lived in the Anchorage area for 12 years and at various times have stayed at other downtown hotels. From now on we will stay here.
Though this hotel is not in the prettiest part of downtown, it is tucked into a quiet area that is safe, at half the cost and three times the space of other downtown hotels. Two blocks to the heart of downtown.
Our suite/condo was perfect for our family of four, even with the teens sleeping on the futon sofa. It is very spacious.and updated .It was perfectly cleaned and the housekeeping was excellent. Our suite was had a balcony facing a wooded area and a view of the inlet.

The management here is wonderful. We felt very looked after and they really went above and beyond for us. Being a small hotel they know who is here and something about them, we felt at home after the first day. Ilona the head manager is a delightful woman who really cares about her guests.
Again, I do not hesitate to recommend this hotel, it is not a luxury hotel, there are very few luxury hotels in downtown Anchorage, but it was clean, safe, spacious and again, half the price of other downtown hotels.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Anchorage Uptown Suites for several days in August 2008 and boy are we glad we did! First off, we did extensive research in Anchorage and found most other locations were AT LEAST 30% more BEFORE taxes. We spent less here, had a large, clean, comfortable room with a kitchennette, living room and large bedroom and VERY spacious bathroom. The rooms have been recently redone and it was great! The bed was so comfortable that we didn't want to get up. The hotel is close enough to the Alaska Railroad Depot that making early train rides is a piece of cake plus the cab ride was only $5! The staff was incredibly friendly and Ilona (GM) and Sandra (night manager) went out of their way to accomodate our scheduling needs and even helped us out with a room the SAME day with just a few hours notice when our return train ride from Denali was delayed 3 hours and we would have to stay the night. We considered staying at the Hilton Anchorage, Sheraton and other big names but when we considered dollars, cents and reviews, we decided to give Anchorage Uptown Suites a chance. "Don't judge a book by its cover - isn't the fanciest BUT if you are watching out for your budget and aiming for a great value in a central location (especially if you are taking the train anywhere!), I hope you will sincerely consider this establishment.

  • Liked — price and size of room as compared to other hotels in anchorage as well as proximity to alaska railroad depot
  • Disliked — no elevators or help for the luggage
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2008

I can only say one word.....frumpadump for this place. Nothing is suite here especially the location which is not nice at all. In fact its located out of the downtown core and quite out of the way. The "suites" do have size but the amenities are very out of date which is reflective of the price. At this place you really do pay for what you get.

  • Liked — The Size of the room
  • Disliked — The Rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, ut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

I think those reviewers that have previously written about this property don't get out much. This is a little old apartment converted to a condominium. Some of the rooms are rented on a nightly basis. It is approx 40 years old and constructed with the cheapest materials available. They have done some recent remodeling. New carpet in some units. There are really only 4 nice properties in the downtown area, The Hilton, Marriott, Sheraton (which is a bit isolated) and the Captain Cook. The problem is they are all about $300.00 per night
I would rate this hotel fair at best. We paid $150.00/night and had 4 rooms for 3 nights.

  • Liked — separate living room and bedroom
  • Disliked — location and condition of property
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage Uptown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Uptown Suites

Address: 234 East Second Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 69 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers the personal convenience of homeEnjoy our friendly service and quality single or double occupancy rooms. We have 19 rooms, 16 of which have full kitchens. All rooms offer plenty of space for tranquility and relaxation. There is even an exquisite suite available at The Anchorage Uptown Suites & Condominium with a full jacuzzi and a view of the Cook Bay. Our hotel is conveniently located close to all the attractions in Anchorage, AK. If you are visiting for business or leisure, staying at our clean and comfortable accommodation at reasonable room rates will delight you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Anchorage Uptown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Uptown Hotel
Uptown Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Uptown Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.