We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dimond Center Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dimond Center Hotel to your Saves list
Dimond Center Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 E Dimond Blvd, Anchorage, AK 99515   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

As the last leg of our Alaskan journey, we wanted to spend four days in Anchorage before heading home. One of the compelling reasons for choosing this hotel was the for its access to the airport, train and tours that one may want to see in Anchorage.

Our final cruise stop was in Seward Alaska. Rather than rent a car to get to Anchorage, we took the train. Not only was this an excellent choice as we both could experience the down time and take on the spectacular scenery as we headed to Anchorage. From the train station to the hotel, it is only a 14 minute ride which is very convenient.

The hotel rooms are tasteful and clean. The soaking tub is not only novel but also useful; it has that romantic ambiance. The hotel also provides a free breakfast. However if you have ever stayed at a Holiday Inn or similar places that provide a free breakfast, you will know what is in store. After day two, the same-old breakfast can get old fast.

Our stay was somewhat uneventful except for one particular night. I certainly cannot blame the hotel for this; the issue is really centric to the guests that had the room next to us. In this particular instance the hotel guests endured an all night love making session. Due to the layout of the rooms and the sounds made, it would appear that the headboards for the these two rooms are on the same wall. Their frolicking activity went from the early evening to 1:30 am. It made me wonder if they had a trampoline or some sort of trapeze device due to the headboard smacking into the wall. I am sure this couple will earn a trophy for their endeavors. Other than that, everything else was what we expected.

The hotel provides transportation to and from the airport. They leave for the airport on the hour. This is not a big issue as the airport is only 15 minutes away, plan accordingly. As for dining, I would suggest traveling down town which is 10 minutes away. The restaurants near the hotel are so-so. There are better choices elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    95
    27
    12
    6
See reviews for
51
99
19
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Dimond for 2 nights following several nights in Fairbanks visiting our grandchildren. I chose the Dimond because of the native Alaskan ownership, online photos, and Tripadvisor comments. WOW! We were not disappointed. The decor was a playful, but very artistic combination of color and texture. The lobby alone is amazing. I suggest sitting in several chairs like Goldilocks! Guest room very roomy and the bathroom will wow you. Satisfying hot breakfast and attentive staff. The native Alaska prints and artifacts add so much.
Next time we will stay longer than 2 nights!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Not in the centre, but ideal for shopping. The hotel itself is very comfortable with an unusual arrangement of bathroom facilities. Bedroom spacious and lovely and quiet after previously staying near the train station. When my i-pad did not fit in the safety deposit box, it was taken into a locked office for safe keeping. Staff friendly and helpful and breakfast offered sufficient choice to suit everyone.

Room Tip: We overlooked the back of the hotel, but I think they all face the little garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, nevada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We spent three nights here recently and recommend it. The staff was able to take our frozen seafood and store it in their walk-in during our stay. The rooms are large but the shower may feel small to some. Each morning the hot breakfast included sausage patties and links, scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit and assorted cold cereals. If you have a choice of room request an inside court room as they will be quieter.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We got in to Anchorage at night and after calling for the shuttle, 20 minutes later we were in a beautiful room with high ceilings, comfy beds and welcoming hosts. The breakfast was delicious. The furniture and decor was delightfully Alaska for us. We ate enough breakfast to last the whole day!! The boys were prepared to spend the rest of our vacation here- they felt so at home. I loved the papaya scented wash and shampoo. I think it is delightful to have a scent that highlights your experience! Thanks

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The staff has always bent over backwards to help us with anything we need. Central to the shopping district for those doing bush shopping. Reasonable distance from air cargo, hotel will allow you to temporarily store items past check out times so that more than one car trip can be made to air cargo. They will freeze your meat and allow some items in refrigeration depending on space available. There are huge jetted bathtubs on first floor; 72" bathtub in every other room. Handicap facilities. Their rooms are amazing and triple the size of any other hotel room in Anchorage. Continental breakfast available. The beds are good. Business center with two printers and four computers. Roll away bed available and will be in your room when you get there if requested at reservation time. If you forget, they will bring one immediately. Walking distance to all the shopping you could ask for! Our favorite place to stay while in Anchorage! Well over 30 nights in this hotel for business and pleasure.

Room Tip: They don't have a pool but can't figure out how to unclick it! Sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoonah, Alaska
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I travel to Anchorage 4 or 5 times a year and after I found the Dimond Center that is the only place I stay. I used to stay at the Shearaton on 5th Ave but not anymore. After staying at the Dimond Center for years I decided to try dinner there. I got in late and didn't want to go out. I was skeptical. I had the burger and was blown away. Now I never go out to dinner, I always have that burger! And the room of course are always spotless and sooo comfortable! Highly reccommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dimond Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimond Center Hotel

Address: 700 E Dimond Blvd, Anchorage, AK 99515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#10 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#12 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dimond Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2002, the Dimond Center Hotel was designed with your comfort and convenience in mind. Located in the heart of Alaska’s largest shopping district, 10 minutes from Ted Stevens International Airport, and only 15 minutes from downtown, no other hotel puts you next door to all that Anchorage has to offer! Our spacious guest rooms offer a unique experience of peace and relaxation; all featuring a 72” soaking tub, 42” flat screen TV, and the Ultimate Dream Bed by Serta. Room amenities include a mini-fridge, microwave, the Keurig coffee maker, plush bath robes and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dimond Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimond Hotel Anchorage
Dimond Center Anchorage
Hotel Dimond Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dimond Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.