We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dimond Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dimond Center Hotel to your Saves list
Dimond Center Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 E Dimond Blvd, Anchorage, AK 99515   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Haines, Alaska
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here for a week long conference. Hotel has very large, comfortable rooms with a unique layout. Huge bathtub. I'm more a shower person, and as other reviews point out, the showers are so-so. Very little pressure and water. I guess all the water goes to the huge tub. Other than that, very clean and comfortable. Bar food is pretty good, but there are many other options for dining in the area. Hotel is also in a great location for shopping. Overall, it's a very nice place and reasonably priced especially for Anchorage.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    95
    27
    12
    6
See reviews for
51
99
19
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

This could be an excellent hotel with a little effort. Rooms are very large indeed but for some reason painted in a dark green! Would be so much more inviting in a brighter colour. Modern, clean and airy though, with a decent bath and separate shower. No safe.
Breakfast was the big let down. A buffet with poor selection, offered on paper plates with plastic cutlery!
Staff variable, one helpful happy receptionist, the rest growled.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is amazing. It's a favorite when going to Anchorage. The rooms are great and the bed is extremely comfortable and my wife loves the huge soaking tub. The continental breakfast is more than adequate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Everything looks great from the outside, but changes very quickly once in your room. This is a cheaply built hotel with no soundproofing. The walls are just ply wood and so are the floors. I could hear everything next and below me. And when people are walking in the room next to you, you feel it and hear it. People walking in the halls, you feel it and hear it. I was very disappointed and expecting a bit more for the price. And I will never be staying here again. Great staff, great location, but cheap owners. I absolutely hate when hotels cut corners and it's on soundproofing. Concrete floors and walls people.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if noise is an issue. Very loud hotel with zero soundproofing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Dimond Center Hotel is in a shopping center, 3-4 miles south the international airport, easy to get on Seward highway, 5-7 miles to downtown. This hotel is a good base to travel in Alaska. You can do the last min shopping if you forget something that you need for your trip. Staffs are friendly, and the hotel is very clean, nicely decorated with the native art. The hotel has large guest rooms with a large Jacuzzi bath, a refrigerator and a microwave. They have free parking, free breakfast (better than most motels) and free shuttle to the airport. This hotel is better deal than other downtown hotels. The hotel restaurant is average, not too bad for seafood plate, except the crab cakes. There is a wonderful restaurant that is between the airport and the hotel, about 2-3 miles from the hotel, Kincarid Grill (kincaridgrill.com). If you rent a car from the airport, you are better to eat dinner there when you are on your way to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Vernon, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed here twice recently. First time was before we went to Denali. Spent 2 nights. Hotel is okay with the first impressions but once I saw the room, it was upgraded to WOW! The room is spacious and very comfortable. Given that this was the cheapest hotel within its' class that I could find while making reservations I was very happy with the quality. The wi-fi worked well. The staff is friendly. I had reservations for a week later but was so happy we returned without hesitation. The location with all the stores and restaurants around is lovely for those you want choices. Best price for gas that I saw in all my Alaska travels was only several blocks away on Abbot Road. The minor issues were that a different room had a shower that squealed while in use. Luckily this wasn't for very long. The train that travels behind the hotel could be heard within the room but I only heard 1 train each day so it isn't very busy. The shuttle service could be tweaked. We had to lose a half hour worth of sleep because the shuttle only runs on the hour and we didn't really need to leave until 30 minutes after the hour. However, with all that said, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

It is located in a shopping center FYI, it looks kind of like a converted doctors office. Great clean well priced hotel. A bit noisy with people upstairs running around until 10 pm which was a bit of a turn off. The staff is great and friendly, nothing super amazing but nothing horrible just a decent hotel for when you're passing through Anchorage. The jetted tub was pretty nice to have though I highly recommend the rooms with these.

Room Tip: Jetted tubs are nice but are on the ground floor so you can hear upstairs neighbors walking around
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dimond Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimond Center Hotel

Address: 700 E Dimond Blvd, Anchorage, AK 99515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#7 Best Value Hotel in Anchorage
#10 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#10 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dimond Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2002, the Dimond Center Hotel was designed with your comfort and convenience in mind. Located in the heart of Alaska’s largest shopping district, 10 minutes from Ted Stevens International Airport, and only 15 minutes from downtown, no other hotel puts you next door to all that Anchorage has to offer! Our spacious guest rooms offer a unique experience of peace and relaxation; all featuring a 72” soaking tub, 42” flat screen TV, and the Ultimate Dream Bed by Serta. Room amenities include a mini-fridge, microwave, the Keurig coffee maker, plush bath robes and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dimond Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimond Hotel Anchorage
Dimond Center Anchorage
Hotel Dimond Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dimond Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.