We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations but not quite perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dimond Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dimond Center Hotel to your Saves list
Dimond Center Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 E Dimond Blvd, Anchorage, AK 99515   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Mont Vernon, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations but not quite perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed here twice recently. First time was before we went to Denali. Spent 2 nights. Hotel is okay with the first impressions but once I saw the room, it was upgraded to WOW! The room is spacious and very comfortable. Given that this was the cheapest hotel within its' class that I could find while making reservations I was very happy with the quality. The wi-fi worked well. The staff is friendly. I had reservations for a week later but was so happy we returned without hesitation. The location with all the stores and restaurants around is lovely for those you want choices. Best price for gas that I saw in all my Alaska travels was only several blocks away on Abbot Road. The minor issues were that a different room had a shower that squealed while in use. Luckily this wasn't for very long. The train that travels behind the hotel could be heard within the room but I only heard 1 train each day so it isn't very busy. The shuttle service could be tweaked. We had to lose a half hour worth of sleep because the shuttle only runs on the hour and we didn't really need to leave until 30 minutes after the hour. However, with all that said, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    95
    27
    12
    6
See reviews for
51
99
19
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

It is located in a shopping center FYI, it looks kind of like a converted doctors office. Great clean well priced hotel. A bit noisy with people upstairs running around until 10 pm which was a bit of a turn off. The staff is great and friendly, nothing super amazing but nothing horrible just a decent hotel for when you're passing through Anchorage. The jetted tub was pretty nice to have though I highly recommend the rooms with these.

Room Tip: Jetted tubs are nice but are on the ground floor so you can hear upstairs neighbors walking around
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

On our recent trip to Alaska, we had only a few days to see the sights. This little gem is perfect for access to the airport and major roads to other locales. We stayed here upon landing before we drove up to Denali, and we got a good rest at this hotel. The rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable, and the native artwork is awesome. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the view of the mountains from the lobby reminds you of the beautiful place you are visiting. If you are not renting a car, you may find this place a little removed from the downtown action, but the people mover bus station is just outside the door. The hotel is also part of a mall complex with plenty of shopping, and Wal Mart is within walking distance. We thoroughly enjoyed out stay and would highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor if you want total peace and quiet - you may have a little overhead n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

In case you (or the misses) are in a shopping spree, then go for it. The hotel is located within a huge shopping Plaza where you can find more stores you might even want to, including a Walmart 200 steps from the hotel door. Now, on the real side: Good, spacious room with very poor TV channels selection, a decent wireless connection (I got the standard room with one king size bed) but a very cold atmosphere in every sense. The room, the customer service, the lobby...A weird place really. On a terrible note, I got a room in the back of the building and I in spite being Saturday I could hear a noise from time to time. Not too loud but disturbing nonetheless. I think it was a train sound but I couldn’t be 100% sure (trying to sleep through it!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

For being in downtown Anchorage in a shopping area this hotel is excellent. From check in to check out it was the best. What a CLEAN and modern facility with all of the ambience of native Alaska, even in the rooms. The staff is awesome and the rooms are to die for. When we left this time the staff were taking down wall hanging and cleaning them, I've never seen that before. Our jacuzzi room was spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable. The included breakfast offered a great selection and the food was good.

Room Tip: Pick the upper floors so you don't hear the people above you with heavy feet. The rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed 2 different times at this hotel in August 2013. Managed by native Alaskans; very friendly staff. Rooms are large and well-appointed. Entire establishment is very clean. Great hot & cold breakfast with lots of selections is included in the rate. Good central location for going places in / around the city. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers Point, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for 6 days in July, with my daugter. My son and his wife also had a room. The rooms were clean, modern, great view from either mountain side or the courtyard. Courtyard is set up so nice, with large metal, Alaskan-type sculptures, picnic tables, walkways. Very nice to eat outside there. The rooms were large, with beautiful large bathroom, with a giant sunken tub and lockable window to the room. Such a luxurious modern touch. The breakfast was good. We did not have to go out to eat every morning. Hot eggs, sausage, waffles, and the rest of the usual. Beds were comfortable. Towels were high end. The best coffee maker in the room... Keurig. The lobby had the most comfortable sofas and chairs and great decor to just sit and relax and look at the mountains. Walmart next door on one side, Mall on the other. Very convenient. Loved this hotel the best!!!! And I have stayed in at least 1/2 dozen others. Location was not an issue for me, as my other son lives about a mile away. But, hey, everything is pretty close in Anchorage.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dimond Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimond Center Hotel

Address: 700 E Dimond Blvd, Anchorage, AK 99515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#10 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#13 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dimond Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2002, the Dimond Center Hotel was designed with your comfort and convenience in mind. Located in the heart of Alaska’s largest shopping district, 10 minutes from Ted Stevens International Airport, and only 15 minutes from downtown, no other hotel puts you next door to all that Anchorage has to offer! Our spacious guest rooms offer a unique experience of peace and relaxation; all featuring a 72” soaking tub, 42” flat screen TV, and the Ultimate Dream Bed by Serta. Room amenities include a mini-fridge, microwave, the Keurig coffee maker, plush bath robes and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dimond Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimond Hotel Anchorage
Dimond Center Anchorage
Hotel Dimond Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dimond Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.