We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooper Dooper Awesome Bathtubs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dimond Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dimond Center Hotel to your Saves list
Dimond Center Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 E Dimond Blvd, Anchorage, AK 99515   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sooper Dooper Awesome Bathtubs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Dimond was recommended by a friend that lives in Anchorage. I was in Anchorage with my BFF for the friend's wedding.
Nice big room, comfortable beds, soft sheets, lots of pillows, plenty of room for us to unpack all of our stuff in to the drawers and hang up stuff in the wardrobe. There were good quality bath products: soap, body wash, shampoo, conditioner, lotion. Also in the room was a Keurig coffee maker with multiple coffee types, including Newman's organic. We didn't want our room cleaned, as messy=comfortable, The cleaning woman let us pluck all of the extra bath products and coffee supplies that we wanted directly of off of her cart.
Every evening there were warm cookies in the lobby...although it might have actually been night...the fact that it was bright as day at 11:30pm made time rather confusing.
The (free!) breakfast buffet was very good. Eggs, make-your-own waffles, bagels, toast, peanut butter, cream cheese, jam, sausage, cereal, juice, coffee, tea, milk and lots of fresh fruit. It was a full breakfast, not just a pastry and coffee deal. We took our plates and ate in the big sunny glass walled lounge area. A ton of money was saved eating breakfast at the hotel. Plus eating breakfast at the hotel also saved time and we could go right out for adventures.
The bar was also nice. Small. The bartender was super nice, especially considering 8 of us sat and drank nothing but iced-tea for several hours (consideration for the non-drinking bride and groom). After they left we partied out a bit more. I had some very decent fish and chips.
And now I come to the bathtub. Huge. Two people could easily fit in the tub...and I am not small. Every single night I was in Alaska I filled that pond up with hot water and bubble bath (Walmart with bath products right next door!). The extra crazy-cool thing was that bathroom had frosted glass windows that opened up on to the main room. If I'd wanted to, I could have had a nice private bath. But I was traveling with my BFF, who I rarely see... I could soak, drink booze AND talk to BFF as she lay on her bed watching TV and facebooking! I had so many bubbles it wasn't even like I was naked! I wanna go back to Alaska just to take some more baths!
The hotel is in the middle of a shopping complex, it's not the most beautiful setting...although just past the stores are spectacular snowcapped mountains. Very odd combination of strip mall and wonderfulness. Don't let the location deter you. The rooms are nice, Anchorage is small, and it's easy to get out of town into the wilderness.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    100
    33
    16
    8
See reviews for
62
113
22
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We arrived in Anchorage on the 10:15pm train from Seward and took a taxi to the Dimond Center Hotel tired and ready for bed. We were so happy to find a clean, spacious, comfortable room waiting for our family of five! The beds were comfortable, the blackout shades were great and in the morning, the continental breakfast was perfect! Checkin and checkout were both painless and the price was right. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning on visiting Anchorage!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The lobby of Dimond Center Hotel has very nice native artwork and decoration. The computer is right there and convenient for making ongoing travel arrangements. No pool, but big soaking tub is in each room. Run by capable and friendly Seldovia native people. I would score this hotel very high on the comfort and convenience scale. There was even a sparkling coin laundry on our floor, perfect for travelers spending a few days in Anchorage between the Kenai Peninsula and Denali. It was easy to run into Anchorage to rent bikes, go out to dinner, or pick up a glacier excursion to Whittier. Breakfast was excellent. For sure you knew you were in a typical American shopping and dining area if you stayed near the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel is a good place to stay, particularly if you are planning on doing and extended backpacking trip. It is located a little far from the airport, but there is a shuttle that will take you to the hotel. There is a Wal-Mart Supercenter across the street, and a Sportsman's Warehouse and a mall located near by. So we were able to obtain all of our last minute necessities by walking to these locations. The hotel itself is very modern and clean, and they even had a small restaurant/bar. They had a full breakfast which tasted fine to me and it is even located near the bus depot that would take you downtown if you didn't have a car (which I didn't have at the time).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Good location, large rooms, spa bathtub in the room. 1,75$ bus #2 and#60 going to downtown , bus stop in front of the hotel. Free schuttle to airport. Walk in freezer ( great for fisherman) . I would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
242 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night. We had a room with the jetted tub/separate shower. The room itself is very spacious. The bed was so comfortable too. It was so nice to relax in their jetted tub. There was also a mini fridge/microwave in the room. They also have a very nice free continental breakfast...loved the waffles with fresh strawberries/cream. You do get a nice variety of breakfast items to choose from. The hotel is conveniently located to a lot of good restaurants and shops. Yes you're right next to the shopping mall. Great location!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for discounts when booking this hotel. Also they will give you a coupon book good fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed for four nights post Alaskan cruise there are plus and minus points to the hotel:-

Plus. Free wifi
Free shuttle bus to & from Airport
Free car park
Huge bathtub
Comfy bed
Clean
Fridge and coffee maker in room

Minus:- Location, a shopping mall, car park and very large Walmart was the neighbours!!
Reception staff not helpful appeared unhappy and disinterested
Breakfast. Not good quality cooked food, paper plates and plastic cutlery
Plastic cups in bedrooms and breakfast room would have preferred proper crockery
Hourly bus service into town and takes 40 mins approx to get there so feel quite isolated

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from laundry and bar/restaurant as they will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#23 of 71 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dimond Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimond Center Hotel

Address: 700 E Dimond Blvd, Anchorage, AK 99515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Anchorage
#10 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#19 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dimond Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2002, the Dimond Center Hotel was designed with your comfort and convenience in mind. Located in the heart of Alaska’s largest shopping district, 10 minutes from Ted Stevens International Airport, and only 15 minutes from downtown, no other hotel puts you next door to all that Anchorage has to offer! Our spacious guest rooms offer a unique experience of peace and relaxation; all featuring a 72” soaking tub, 42” flat screen TV, and the Ultimate Dream Bed by Serta. Room amenities include a mini-fridge, microwave, the Keurig coffee maker, plush bath robes and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dimond Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimond Hotel Anchorage
Dimond Center Anchorage
Hotel Dimond Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dimond Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.