We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Is Tired But It Tries” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Anchorage Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Anchorage Grand Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   505 W 2nd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Mount Dora, Florida
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
“It Is Tired But It Tries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I want to write that this hotel makes an effort to provide something special for it's guests. For the price of a hotel room you get two comfortable beds, a living room area and a fully supplied kitchen. I am sure you could not get more square feet for the money anywhere else in the city.

In addition, the staff members are lovely. The lady who took my reservation was gracious. The lady who greeted us was swift and helpful and the lady who checked us out was also very nice. The fresh cookies on arrival were a nice touch.

The hotel location is not bad. It is not in the center of town, but certainly within reasonable walking distance. Parking for the hotel is in a paid lot, but is included in the room rate, unlike some much more expensive downtown hotels. We did not notice any noise from the train. We rather enjoyed listening to it while we were awake. We did see the only moose we saw in Anchorage while staying at the Anchorage Grand Hotel.

The room was clean, as were the linens and towels. The beds were excellent. In fact, they were some of the best beds we have slept in while using a hotel.

There is no place for a breakfast area, but they bring a bag of breakfast goodies to your room.

My problem with this hotel is that it is old, and it does not wear it's age well. It just needs some restoration. The furniture is old, and things do not match. The carpets are worn. Everything needs a new coat of paint, new draperies at the window, new covers for the bed and just a general facelift.

In the meantime, however, if you are willing to tolerate some cosmetic issues, this is a good hotel with good beds, plenty of hot water, and lots of good will. It is an excellent bargain in a city with very expensive hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    118
    40
    15
    6
See reviews for
52
110
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I spent two nights in this hotel and both were great. The furnishings are a bit dated - but they jive with the building as a whole. When you stay here, you can feel the homey atmosphere. The price is not bad for the room you receive. We had a kitchen, living area, bathroom, and a separate bedroom. You are only 2 minutes from downtown on foot. Anchorage is real easy walking, and everything you may need is close. This hotel was perfect for what I needed and I would stay there again.
Something that people often complain about is the railroad station. This hotel sits on a hill above the rail depot. If you stay here, you will most likely hear trains. This does depend on what side of the building your room is on, whether you leave your windows open, and how light of a sleeper you are. Being in Anchorage in mid September, the train activity had slowed so I was not bothered by train noise.

Room Tip: You have better views from the top floor. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room further away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This old, but restored, hotel is a good place to spend a few days while exploring Anchorage. The rooms are suites with kitchen, living, bedroom, and bath, plus a large clothes closet with ironing board, and TVs in two rooms. They deliver a free breakfast (rolls, juice, fruit) to the door upon request the night before. Very comfortable rooms, altho I do think the mattress in our room was ready to be replaced - a bit on the saggy side. Not a fashionable place, but comfortable and convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

OK so the Grand is a little shabby and a little frumpy but give it a chance. You will find it is also roomy, comfortable, accessible, affordable and oh those beds! That was the best night's sleep I had in weeks. The room was very large and furnished with someone's granny's old couch and chairs but there was also a desk, chest of drawers, breakfast table and 2 incredibly comfy double beds.With the free wi-fi I was able to catch up on my email and business before we continued on our way. Conveniently located close to the train station we didn't have to rush the next morning. Although we only made a pot of coffee, the kitchen is fully equipped for cooking full meals. The day clerk was distracted and overworked, but the night clerk was very attentive and helped us with our heavy luggage. It was easy to walk around downtown and from the museum back to the hotel was only about a 15 walk. There was a bit of noise in the halls late that night but not enough to keep me awake for long. I would definitely return to the Anchorage Grand and think it would be particularly good for traveling families.

Room Tip: The photos suggest that some of the rooms have been renovated - that or they are very old photos. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Perhaps not everyone’s cup of tea but it is very affordable for downtown Anchorage. We booked a suite with living room, kitchenette and very nice bedroom for substantially less than the other hotels in the area. The suite was well appointed, immaculately clean, and the bed was very comfortable with luxurious linens. The front desk is staffed around the clock and the staff were terrific. Very helpful in giving us hints on places to eat and attractions in the area to walk to. The hotel is an excellent choice if you’re taking the 6:45am train down to Seward. You just wake up, pick up your picnic lunch outside your door (prepared by the hotel on request the night before), and roll down the walkway to the train station, just a couple of minutes away. Otherwise, the hotel is in easy walking distance to many good restaurants on 4th and 5th Streets and even the Avis Car Rental is a quick walk away. Hotel will also store your excess luggage for however long you need them to at no charge. Would highly recommend this place for a different experience. Oh, there are freshly baked cookies at the front desk and apples for guests each day. How can you argue with that kind of down-home touch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

5-10 minute walk (with cases) from convention center where we were dropped off after cruise. Room was 1 bedroom apartment - very spacious with kitchen. Decor a bit dated but still clean & tidy. bed really comfy :-) . Continental breakfast was included - & was good (bagels with Philadelphia, porridge, cereal bar & juice) - plenty to keep you going. Hotel receptionist very helpful - chased up taxi when it hadn't arrived. All in all a great base for our stay I Anchorage

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is quite well maintained, and I was really impressed by the size of the room, with a separate kitchen and living area. The staff were okay, and there was a small breakfast included in the price. The only thing that took a while getting used to was the hotel's position across from the Alaska Railroad station. I know it isn't the fault of the hotel, but the train's bells and whistles can certainly take getting used to, especially at night. Sleep isn't impossible, but I would recommend taking ear-plugs for a restful night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ihsn2012, General Manager at Anchorage Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for the nice review. And yes, the train noise does disturb some guests more than others. Just to let you and others know, we have ear plugs, and other sundry items, available at the front desk, free of charge.
Best regards,
John Wirum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Grand Hotel

Address: 505 W 2nd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchorage Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite hotel. Terrific downtown location, one block from Coastal Trail, within walking distance of 5th Avenue Mall, Convention Center, Performing Arts Center, Anchorage Museum, and restuarants. Fully equipped kitchens. Breakfast items delivered to your door. Morning newspaper. Free Wi-Fi. Cable TV with HBO. The best value in Anchorage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Anchorage Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.