We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Anchorage Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anchorage Grand Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   505 W 2nd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
Eureka, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location, nice suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This old, but restored, hotel is a good place to spend a few days while exploring Anchorage. The rooms are suites with kitchen, living, bedroom, and bath, plus a large clothes closet with ironing board, and TVs in two rooms. They deliver a free breakfast (rolls, juice, fruit) to the door upon request the night before. Very comfortable rooms, altho I do think the mattress in our room was ready to be replaced - a bit on the saggy side. Not a fashionable place, but comfortable and convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    110
    36
    14
    7
See reviews for
50
103
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

OK so the Grand is a little shabby and a little frumpy but give it a chance. You will find it is also roomy, comfortable, accessible, affordable and oh those beds! That was the best night's sleep I had in weeks. The room was very large and furnished with someone's granny's old couch and chairs but there was also a desk, chest of drawers, breakfast table and 2 incredibly comfy double beds.With the free wi-fi I was able to catch up on my email and business before we continued on our way. Conveniently located close to the train station we didn't have to rush the next morning. Although we only made a pot of coffee, the kitchen is fully equipped for cooking full meals. The day clerk was distracted and overworked, but the night clerk was very attentive and helped us with our heavy luggage. It was easy to walk around downtown and from the museum back to the hotel was only about a 15 walk. There was a bit of noise in the halls late that night but not enough to keep me awake for long. I would definitely return to the Anchorage Grand and think it would be particularly good for traveling families.

Room Tip: The photos suggest that some of the rooms have been renovated - that or they are very old photos. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Perhaps not everyone’s cup of tea but it is very affordable for downtown Anchorage. We booked a suite with living room, kitchenette and very nice bedroom for substantially less than the other hotels in the area. The suite was well appointed, immaculately clean, and the bed was very comfortable with luxurious linens. The front desk is staffed around the clock and the staff were terrific. Very helpful in giving us hints on places to eat and attractions in the area to walk to. The hotel is an excellent choice if you’re taking the 6:45am train down to Seward. You just wake up, pick up your picnic lunch outside your door (prepared by the hotel on request the night before), and roll down the walkway to the train station, just a couple of minutes away. Otherwise, the hotel is in easy walking distance to many good restaurants on 4th and 5th Streets and even the Avis Car Rental is a quick walk away. Hotel will also store your excess luggage for however long you need them to at no charge. Would highly recommend this place for a different experience. Oh, there are freshly baked cookies at the front desk and apples for guests each day. How can you argue with that kind of down-home touch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

5-10 minute walk (with cases) from convention center where we were dropped off after cruise. Room was 1 bedroom apartment - very spacious with kitchen. Decor a bit dated but still clean & tidy. bed really comfy :-) . Continental breakfast was included - & was good (bagels with Philadelphia, porridge, cereal bar & juice) - plenty to keep you going. Hotel receptionist very helpful - chased up taxi when it hadn't arrived. All in all a great base for our stay I Anchorage

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is quite well maintained, and I was really impressed by the size of the room, with a separate kitchen and living area. The staff were okay, and there was a small breakfast included in the price. The only thing that took a while getting used to was the hotel's position across from the Alaska Railroad station. I know it isn't the fault of the hotel, but the train's bells and whistles can certainly take getting used to, especially at night. Sleep isn't impossible, but I would recommend taking ear-plugs for a restful night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ihsn2012, General Manager at Anchorage Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for the nice review. And yes, the train noise does disturb some guests more than others. Just to let you and others know, we have ear plugs, and other sundry items, available at the front desk, free of charge.
Best regards,
John Wirum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The TripAdvisor rankings have it just about right. This is a good all-suites hotel in a very convenient location, especially if you are traveling by train. A five minute walk from the train station, and just a few steps away from dining and shopping, this is a well located, clean, friendly place for your stay in Anchorage. You will hear train whistles day and night, but that may be just your ticket if you long for the romance of the rails. The continental breakfast of bagels and yogurt can be enjoyed at the kitchen table while you brew your own coffee. Or, you can walk two minutes to a Starbucks or find a place serving local Kaladi Brothers coffee. The desk staff was friendly and helpful and our room was clean and comfortable. What more can you ask?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a simple, well equipped place to stay, especially if any trips are planned via the Alaska Railroad. It's a very short walk to the train depot and an easy walk to other downtown Anchorage sites.The room included a small kitchen and living room area; a sufficient continental breakfast (bagels, instant oatmeal, granola bar, fruit, juice, and coffee) delivered at the door made mornings very easy.
The windows were thick enough that when closed, the sounds of the trains really weren't a bother. The staff was attentive and helpful, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anchorage Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Grand Hotel

Address: 505 W 2nd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchorage Grand Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite hotel. Terrific downtown location, one block from Coastal Trail, within walking distance of 5th Avenue Mall, Convention Center, Performing Arts Center, Anchorage Museum, and restuarants. Fully equipped kitchens. Breakfast items delivered to your door. Morning newspaper. Free Wi-Fi. Cable TV with HBO. The best value in Anchorage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Anchorage Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.