We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Anchorage Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Anchorage Grand Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   505 W 2nd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 69 Hotels in Anchorage
Vonore, Tennessee
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We wanted a place to stay near the railroad depot. This is one block away so can walk to the depot. We did not have a noise issue but maybe we were tired and slept through it. We appreciated having room darkening blinds as we were not used to the daylight hours. The hotel is older but we really enjoyed our stay. The "room" turned out to have a separate sitting room and small kitchen. The staff were great. They stored our bags for a couple of days while we headed north and then we returned for a second stay. They serve a nice continental breakfast with bagel, cream cheese, granola bar, oatmeal (more than enough to eat) delivered to the rooms and even had it to us by 6 a.m. on the day we left on the train.

The hotel was convenient to walk to the older part of downtown and to the Anchorage museum and the stops for the tours. We liked staying here much better than at the newer Mariott, even if it is a bit older and funkier.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    114
    40
    15
    7
See reviews for
53
107
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The rooms are very spacious, more like a studio apartment. It had a small kitchen, living area with tv and a comfortable bed. It is a older place but it is well maintained and kept clean. It is also in a good location especially for those going to the train station. There is no a/c and you don't need it, but with closed windows it's stuffy. With open windows you hear the trains all night long and if you are unlucky some noisy, inconsiderate people on the streetside late at night. That is the only downside to it. The front desk clerk was very friendly and made us feel welcome. They will hang a bag on your door early in the morning - your continental breakfast. It is in walking distance to the shops/restaurants in the downtown area. Overall, and compared to how expensive most accommodations in Anchorage are, this place is a good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

just returned from wonderful trip in Alaska.this place called hotel is maybe for backpackers.
located near train station of Anchorage.very very loud,couldn't sleep whole night due to trains horning every hour.
the "hotel" itself is very old,furnitures, carpets,bathroom & what not.
we were more than happy that we booked only1 night & left the next morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ihsn2012, General Manager at Anchorage Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
We regret that you had a bad experience while staying at the Anchorage Grand Hotel. We are popular with tourists who plan to travel by train, due to our proximity to the train depot. We believe the extremes for the sounding of the train horn are 11 PM at night, and 7 AM in the morning - there shouldn't be any sounding between 11 PM to 7 AM. Many guests are not bothered by the horn noise, but actually enjoy it. It does not disturb their sleep. We do supply ear plugs at the front desk, though, to any guests who might feel they need them, since we have gotten complaints such as yours before. As to the condition of our rooms, we have very spacious rooms at 500 square feet, with fully equipped kitchens. All rooms have brand new carpeting, and many have newer furnishings, and TV's. We are constantly upgrading. We have plans to replace all sleeper sofas and chairs, hallway carpets, and paint the exterior of the property, during the next 12 months. Each rooms is equipped with a brand new Simmons "Heavenly" mattress. These are top of the line beds, and we get many compliments. We also get compliments regarding our high standards of cleanliness, and friendly staff. It is our continuing goal to maintain our high standards of upkeep. If you took the time to compare what we offer, at the rate we offer, to any other hotel in Anchorage, I guarantee our value can't be beat.
Sincerely,
John Wirum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because with a 4 year old and a 1 year old, we wanted to be able to give them their own room within a suite and this was the most economical option.

Pluses:
1) Staff is very friendly and helpful, quickly addressing all of our requests/needs.
2) Rooms are clean, complete with stove, microwave, dishwasher, stove, fridge, pots, plates, utensils, cups, etc.
3) My kids loved the view of the train station and were glued to the windows at all times watching trains pull in and out (and there's a container terminal behind the train station that they also enjoyed watching)
4) Pretty convenient location, although downtown Anchorage isn't super exciting.

Negatives:
1) As other reviewers have mentioned, the train station's pretty noisy and is active almost the entire day while we were there during the summer. Our kids sleep pretty well, esp. with a noise machine, so it didn't affect them, but if you're a light sleeper and can't get back to sleep once awoken, I wouldn't recommend this place.

Other notes:
Breakfast is just a granola bar, oatmeal, bagel (w/ cream cheese), and juice, but is included and is delivered to your front door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I was surprised to see how big the room was - it was more of a studio apartment size. It had everything - small kitchen, living area with tv and a comfortable bed. It is a older place but it is in a good location especially for those trying to going to the train station. Since there is no a/c so we had to open the windows and all night long you can hear the trains going by. That is the only downside to it. The front desk clerk was very friendly and made us feel welcome. They will hang a bag on your door early in the morning - your continental breakfast. The parking for the hotel is just a short walking distance but included with your room. We were able to walk to all the shops/restaurants in the downtown area. A short walk to the Anchorage Marketplace (open on the weekends only).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Booked this hotel because we had to catch the train early the next morning and station is easy walk down the hill. We had a large room with a full kitchen and everything was very clean and well kept. Continental breakfast was included and at the suggestion of the lady at the front desk we requested it to go and they fixed us a nice bag of goodies for the train ride. Worked great for us at a fair price.

Room Tip: Laundry available if you need to catch up on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel maybe a little dated but the rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. The continental breakfast was excellent, I didn't want bagels one morning and they replaced them with muffins. The on site laundry very handy especially when you arrive back from hiking in Denali!
Location was great the only negative was the noise from the trains BUT fantastic if you are catching the train to Denali or Seward. We arrived back in at 8pm them left again at 0645 so very handy. However we if you stay further in downtown you get the city/traffic noise. We stayed here twice and were very happy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Grand Hotel

Address: 505 W 2nd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 69 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchorage Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite hotel. Terrific downtown location, one block from Coastal Trail, within walking distance of 5th Avenue Mall, Convention Center, Performing Arts Center, Anchorage Museum, and restuarants. Fully equipped kitchens. Breakfast items delivered to your door. Morning newspaper. Free Wi-Fi. Cable TV with HBO. The best value in Anchorage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Anchorage Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.