We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room and lots of it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Anchorage Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Anchorage Grand Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   505 W 2nd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Room and lots of it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Plenty of room to spread out. Well appointed and within walking distance of plenty of restaurants and the main shopping area. Didn't notice any undue noise from the railway. We were taking the train to Seward the next morning so the Grand was perfectly located, we walked to station with our luggage -its downhill :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    118
    40
    15
    6
See reviews for
52
110
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The full apartment is spacious with everything you need. Some rooms have mountain views. Bedroom has excellent blackout drapes so you can sleep whenever. Normally I wouldn't recommend a hotel where you could hear train whistles but they really didn't bother me. With the windows closed in the bedroom it was not loud. Did not wake me.

Room Tip: Less train noise on the front of building. Better views from back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

There was a break down in communication which resulted in a major billing mistake. Without hesitation the hotel manager, Pearl took swift action and completely resolved the matter. I am most appreciative of the incredable customer care Pearl demonstrated. Certainly actions that encourage continued business with the Anchorage Grand Hotel. Thank You.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The management could save a whole lot of money for this hotel, by turning down the heating....it is so darn hot we had to open the windows, and then we were awake most of the night because of the trains shunting and tooting and the rail crossing bells going....Therefore we cannot recommend it to fellow travellers. When we were down at the rail station and looked back up to the hotel there were about 20 windows open....obviously others also found it too hot. It is not possible to regulate the heating from within the room. Location to town is good. Front office staff were distracted on the computer when checking us in, and were not very responsive when we were enquiring about points of interest nearby.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandManager01, Manager at Anchorage Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We truly regret the bad night’s stay that you describe in your post to Trip Advisor. We would like to point out that we have thermostats for adjusting the heat in every room. We have not had any other complaints from guests who have stayed in the room you occupied, but we take these complaints seriously, so will double check to make certain the thermostat is functioning properly. We will also to see who was working front desk when you checked in, as we pride ourselves on having friendly/helpful staff. Once again, we regret you had a bad experience, and would greatly appreciate the opportunity to make it up to you on any future visit to Anchorage.
Sincerely,

Pearl
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Nassau, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have stayed here before and the staff treats you like family. Great location, great price and a 1 bedromm suite for half of the other hotels. One block from train stattion and walking distance to museums, restaurants, shopping and hiking trails.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hellertown
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The location is great for the early morning train trips to Whittier, Seward and Denali. It is a great location because it is at the train station - the train is outstanding, by the way, but the freight trains go through all night during the week and I mean blowing their whistles every 15-30 min. We came in between the warm weather and the cold weather and the heat was not turned on in our room which made it extremely cold the first night - there was no real sense of urgency to get it resolved, and so we requested to be moved the following night. The rooms are clean - however not so much if you are staying more than one night....we stayed again when we got back from Denali and it was better - the staff was friendly and nice - cookies were great - breakfast was okay. We paid over $200 for the 2 nights August 30/31st and under $100 for the Sep 4th as the rates had changed. It is definitely a bargain at $100.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the opposite side of the train station - although not sure it will make a huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is by far one of the nicest places I've ever stayed, regardless of price point or star rating (and I've stayed at some pretty swanky hotels). The property and rooms are spotlessly clean and well organized. Housekeeping and maintenance staff are obviously doing a great job here! All the rooms are suites or like mini-apartments. We booked a king room and found it to be very comfortable with a pillow top mattress, fresh clean linens, a nice little kitchen, and a lounge area with sofa and TV. Windows open nicely for fresh crisp Alaskan air if it gets too stuffy. The lighting in the room is plentiful and there were 3 nice closets and other furniture to store our belongings. TV is the older tube style, but with full cable and lots of channels with an easy to use remote. Continental breakfast is basic, but nice (and free!)...delivered right to your door every morning with a local newspaper. Full size refrigerators, stove/ovens, and microwaves are included in the rooms (along with dishes) if want to go grocery shopping and prepare your own food.
Sure some of the decor is a bit dated, but everything is in good repair with fresh paint. Furniture is nice with glass table tops and is a grade above the usual particle board junk you see in most modern hotels now. We found no broken items or other maintenance issues in the hotel during our stay. You can tell that the management obviously cares about the quality of the facility.
Parking is just a quick walk down the street on a nice size public lot, and the train station is just down the hill via covered stairway. Downtown shopping, museums, and nightlife are just a few blocks walk from here and you can leave your car behind.
One thing I would mention to a potential guest is that the train noise is definitely something to consider. If this type of thing bothers you then I would seek another place to stay, as it can be quite loud with the windows open. It's not so much the engine rumbling as it is the horns......lots of horns sounding....and seemingly all night long.
We enjoyed this hotel so much that we actually stayed here twice.....the 2nd time after our plans got changed due to weather and we were re-routed back to Anchorage for a few extra days. Luckily they had rooms available.

Room Tip: Street side of the building probably has less train noise, but there are cars driving by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Grand Hotel

Address: 505 W 2nd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchorage Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite hotel. Terrific downtown location, one block from Coastal Trail, within walking distance of 5th Avenue Mall, Convention Center, Performing Arts Center, Anchorage Museum, and restuarants. Fully equipped kitchens. Breakfast items delivered to your door. Morning newspaper. Free Wi-Fi. Cable TV with HBO. The best value in Anchorage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Anchorage Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.