We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Alaskan European Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Alaskan European Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Alaskan European Bed & Breakfast
3107 Cottonwood Street, Anchorage, AK 99508   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 121 Anchorage B&B and Inns
La Marque, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is in a very dated, (green fixtures in bathroom) cluttered home. The headboard and mattresses were not the same size. Kitchen counters piled with paperwork, etc. We stayed in two different B&B's in Anchorage and this one just was not up to par for us. We did not eat breakfast. No insulation in walls, you could hear all sounds from other rooms.

Someone banged on the door at 1:30AM, the guest across the hall finally got up and went to the landing. Seems someone was looking for a vacancy and had walked right into the home. Did not feel real safe after that.

Room Tip: Keep looking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
13
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Enosburg Falls, Vermont
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We had a long flight from VT, especially Philly to AK. Although we were tired but extremely excited to be in Alaska. When we arrived at the B&B we were met by our Host David, whom was very pleasant to visit with, he showed us to our room , which was very nice, clean & cozy, it had it's own bathroom and shower.
The next morning we met our Breakfast Host Cobie, she whipped up an excellent breakfast. If you left the table hungry it would be your own fault !! Fresh coffee, pastries, breads. We had a good visit with other travelers. Just felt like home-no worries, friendly atmosphere.
We also spent the night before we left there too. We got to visit some more with Cobie & David. Previoulsy we mentioned that we wanted to rent a car and just so happens that Cobie's husband Milton has a car rental business of his own. we rented a car from him and by the way he came to the B&B and brought us back to the airport. So if your going to stay at the B&B and need a car, ask for Milton, he's your man !!! we left Alaska with memories we'll never forget, made new friends w/ David, Cobie & Milton. I would highly recommend this B&B. we plan on going back and we will definetly being staying there. Did I happen to mention that they have WI-Fi and Laundry available.
Donna & Glenn Deming, Enosburg, VT

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdez, Alaska
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The Alaskan European B&B is located in a quite neighborhood in Midtown, Anchorage. The owner is a kind woman and is fluent in many different languages. The rooms are clean, warm, and comfortable. The Alaskan European B&B is centrally located.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

stayed 1 night on the way back home from a fishing trip. the room was comfy and there were nice conveniences - free wifi, tv, movies. the breakfast was cooked to order and very good. eggs, meats, breads, etc.
will definitely stay again on my next trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

The place had a family/home welcoming atmosphere. The caretaker was willing to assist in any way possible and prepared large, sumptuous breakfasts made to order. This is great place to relax and energise before embarking on other travels within Alaska.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

I can not describe the welcome a person receives from the owner at this B and B. Maybe the best way to put it is to say that the owner makes her guests feel like they are visiting family in Europe. The rooms are immaculate. The quality of sleep is unsurpassed. The breakfast is beyond compare (and I mean excellent Dutch pancakes while I was there!). The entire time, I felt like I was staying with close family. Comfortable, no pressure, like a person is at home. The owner speaks a multitude of languages and is very willing to translate which makes visiting with other guests a real treat. It is off the beaten path, but I am giving it a 5 for location because it is not so far that a person can't walk to major attractions within 6 minutes. I just flat will not stay anywhere else when I am in Anchorage.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

Our experience staying at Alaskan European B&B was relaxing and entertaining. Irene is a real gem and made us feel like long-time friends. She went out of her way to be very accommodating to our needs and her blueberry-apple pancakes are out of this world. We would definitely stay there again.
M. Dries - Easton, PA

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alaskan European Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaskan European Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3107 Cottonwood Street, Anchorage, AK 99508
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European Atmosphere. Your hosts are fluent in Dutch, German, Italian, French, and Swiss, and they also speak some Spanish. They have been residents of Alaska for 33 years and are happy to share their knowledge of Alaska with you. We offer delicious homemade European-style breakfasts, and are happy to accommodate the needs of travelers from all over the world. We are proud to assist mountain climbers who stay with us before and after their trips by allowing them to use our large backyard for spreading and drying tents and other equipment. We also offer our garage for equipment storage and we can store important documents, such as your passport, in our safe while you are out climbing the mountain. A special rate is available for climbers -- please contact us for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Alaskan European Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaskan European Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.