We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the only hotel in Anchorage I like staying at” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Marriott Downtown

Save Saved
You added Anchorage Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   820 W. 7th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99506   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #13 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is the only hotel in Anchorage I like staying at”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel multiple times for conferences, business, pleasure, and weekend trips, and I travel to Anchorage pretty often. I've stayed at all the other chain hotels and other 'upscale' hotels in the area; again, this is the only one I really like staying at. This hotel has comfy beds, a safe and secure atmosphere, staff who are friendly and very accommodating, rooms are very quiet at night and you can get a good night's rest, a clean pool/jacuzzi/fitness area, a cute little bar with friendly bartenders, nice shopping options in-house and a great location near everything but not crowded by other shops or foot traffic. The rooms are always clean, you can get a late checkout, stay late in the pool and jacuzzi and staff often remember you by your first name if you are polite to them. It may not have microwaves and refrigerators but I don't notice those things because I like the bar downstairs and there are GREAT restaurants very close by. It's always clean and having lived in Manhattan and knowing the quality of service and atmosphere that is delivered at hotels like the 4 Seasons, I highly recommend the Anchorage Marriott Downtown for its atmosphere, service, cleanliness, staff, and spaciousness/comfort in their rooms. It's a great place to hunker down for business travel or to hideaway for a weekend. Oh yeah and the heat and A/C are rapid response, too cold, heat takes a minute, too hot, A/C takes a minute, there is no waiting time for an exasperated HVAC system, which is wonderful. AND if you request a room on the upper floors with a view of the Knik Arm, you'll see why I love this hotel! Only recommendation to the hotel managers would be to establish better parking options. Parking is luck of the draw or outrageously overpriced.

Room Tip: If you are not afraid of heights, ask for a room that is on one of the higher floors which faces the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    116
    56
    12
    4
See reviews for
55
80
12
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night at the MDA. Location is fine and the rooms have nice views.
The service at the hotel is phenomenal. When I tried to check-in and my room wasn't ready, the guy at the front desk was truly apologetic and made recommendations where I could get a bite. When I checked out and the hotel had double billed me for Internet, the lady again apologized and with a smile took care of the problem. Another employee offered a complimentary toothbrush when I was wandering in the store looking fur one.
And, the valet guys were very helpful and friendly and truly apologetic when it took too long to retrieve the car or when the driveway was congested. Other pros: bed is comfortable. Gym is well equipped.
But, the great service alone is not quite enough to make up for the Internet charge (wifi connection is painfully slow), the expensive valet ($24), or the paper thin walls (able to hear soft conversations in the next room).
Overall I feel bad giving an average review since the people were really so nice, but at $189/night, there are some basics that the hotel couldn't match...with the thin walls being suboptimal.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Warmly greeted upon arrival I was offered a choice of a "VIP" amenity which was unexpected. Making my choice I asked for it to be delivered the next day due to my late arrival. My room was granted as requested...higher floor, away from elevators/ ice machine and with a view. Room was very spacious and comfortable. Great location to convention centre, museum, downtown shops and restaurants. Issues... I had to follow up the next afternoon on my amenity - which was promptly delivered, and there is no bathroom fan to dispel humidity, so bathroom upkeep will be job security for employees to keep up on some small peeling paint issues.

Overall the staff, friendly, location great and I would definitely stay again. It suited my business requirements well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, AK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I liked the location of this hotel, and the coffee shop down the street (down 7th) was wonderful, but the room service menu left alot to be desired. The room was also drafty and does look out over a parking lot. The staff was helpful but valet parking was really the only option to park your rental car. But walking distance to many great restaurants and you can walk to the mall as well.

Room Tip: The higher you go the quieter the rooms get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for his birthday. They were very friendly at the front desk, making sure they said happy birthday to my husband and bringing cheese and and bottle of wine to our room. The room overlooked the mountains and could even see Mt McKinley from our room. The room was clean, bathroom was small but was clean. Overall we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

You will notice that most of the people who give this hotel great reviews are tourists from out of state. That's because when given a choice Alaskans don't stay here. There are so many better options. Why don't Alaskans like this hotel? I'll give you four reasons...

1. You have to pay to park. $24 a night
2. You have to pay for internet, and it is really slow. $12 a day.
3. You wave to pay breakfast and its expensive and not that great. $18 buffet.
4. There are no mini fridges and microwaves in the room.

If you are a tourist and want to be near downtown and are used to paying extra fees for everything on top of what you already paid for the room then this place is ok. It is clean and the employees are nice. The rooms are ok and if you don't mind being on the 15th floor during an earthquake the view is nice, but if you are renting a car there are so many better options available with free Internet, breakfast, and parking.

I struggled when deciding whether I should give this a rating of poor or average and finally decided to go ahead and choose poor. The reason for this is I feel the place is really just an average hotel pretending to be upscale by charging a bunch of extra fees.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights - one on reward points and one as the first night of our land tour from Celebrity Cruises. It wasn't incredibly memorable. It was easy to get to and close to places to eat in downtown. The pool hot tub was cement and very rough. Definitely in need of re-surfacing. The hotel receptionist that we checked in with on day one didn't make note of our dual pay-type stay and so when we returned from sight seeing, we were locked out of our rooms. Fortunately, our clothes and such were still inside, so no harm, no foul. Good light blocking curtains, which is vital in Anchorage in July!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to get a better view of downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Marriott Downtown

Address: 820 W. 7th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#11 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#12 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anchorage Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Anchorage Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Marriott Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Marriott Anchorage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.