We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better every time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fressen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fressen
2602 Spenard Road, Anchorage, AK 99503 (Downtown)
(907) 333-5555
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #237 of 676 restaurants in Anchorage
Cuisines: German
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Better every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

(part of the bbq research project - the search for the best bbq baby back ribs in anchorage)

Going here is an evening in itself - if you don't have two hours to spend over dinner, you need to go somewhere else.

On a return visit we tried menu items previously skipped, including desserts that weren't available before.

Big surprise: the bbq. After trying out seven different places around town, this was eye-opening. Members of our party who are careful to take half the meal home were unable to contain themselves and consumed the entire serving. Sharing was soundly rebuffed. I think my mouth is actually beginning to water, just by the memory.

The black forest cake is just as good as we hoped - the restaurant now makes extra effort to have enough on hand to fulfill all requests.

Take time to hang with friends and enjoy some great food.
tip: trying parking on beside or behind the building. If daring, park in Chilkoot's large lot and hotfoot it across spenard.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    8
    4
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“blah - won't go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Went in and were seated fairly quickly, although there aren't many tables. Server unable to give any recommendations on the beer, nor did she offer to consult with anyone else. Food just ok once it arrived after one HOUR!

The thing that really got me, though, was that they charge extra for everything. Want some bread while you're waiting way too long for your food - that'll be a few bucks extra. Want some cabbage instead of the salad that comes with your meal - they don't do substitutions, but the cabbage will be a few bucks additional.

It reminded me of some of the Portland restaurants that think they can just do whatever they want and people will still come. The food at Fressen wasn't good enough, and it is too expensive, to justify that attitude.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdez, Alaska
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Fantasic Food! Best Meal in Anchorage!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I went to Fressen with my wife and a friend, after reading a favorable review from the Anchorage Daily News. We arrived at the restaurant and were seated within five minutes. The waiter commented on how fortunate we were; apparently, twelve people had been waiting over an hour for a seat, got tired of waiting, and left! We were very fortunate, indeed!

Fressen is a small restaurant. The menu provides sufficient choices, and offers a number of German beers and wines. The service is a little slow (one waiter), and the meals take a while (over an hour after ordering). However, the food is superb! I relly enjoyed the Jaegerschnitzel, and I look forward to going back for the other items on the menu: brats, ribs, etc.

Fressen is one of the best places in Anchorage... if not the best! I can't wait to go again!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Terrific traditional german dishes - well worth a trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is a small Spenard store-front that has been several restaurants over the last ten years (previous was "Manhattan Pizza"). Seating is quite limited: perhaps only room for 30 or 40.

The menu is limited, but exceedingly well done. Weinerschniztel, Jaegerschnitzle, wurst, rouladin - all the primary dishes of a good german dinner. Of special note is the spatzle side-dish, a delicious soft egg noodle

This is no fast-food restaurant. Plan on loitering over the tasty soup, bread, and salad while entree's are prepared.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, not put out at all when our party of eight descended on them 40 minutes before closing.

Only regret: we couldn't get the the black forest cake which, by all accounts, is delicious (it's made with kirschwasser). The day's production is completely consumed by the lunch and early dinner crowd.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fressen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fressen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.