We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel- clean, decent, great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Executive Suite Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Executive Suite Airport to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - Executive Suite Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4360 Spenard Road, Anchorage, AK 99517   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #41 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Alaska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Budget Hotel- clean, decent, great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I used to stay downtown Anchorage, but found it to be too noisy for a good nights sleep, and I've chnged location to Executive Suites the past 6 years. Ihave seen quite an improvement in the hotel the past two years. It is a budget hotel, but overall fairly clean. It is locally owned rather than corporate, and the owner seems to be putting all his money right back in the place. New card type lock for the doors two years ago. The owner keeps renovating the place- new beds going in and new paint outside in 2012.

The location is nice for an early morning or evening walk (about 3 minutes) to Lake Hood where it is interesting to watch all the float planes taking off and landing.

Front desk staff are friendly and helpful with smiles, and the shuttle driver was also friendly and helpful. Shuttle runs on the hour and 1/2 hour.
Breakfast is the basic free hotel breakfast, cereal, some fruit, fresh muffins and bread, coffee and juice. The lady who takes care of the breakfasts speaks about 8 different languages and is quite interesting to talk to. If someone wanted a big breakfast Gwennies Alaskan Restaurant is just up the street, and Village Inn is directly across the street.
There is a nice sitting area near the breakfast room where a group or family can meet.
Overall it is the best value for a hotel in Anchorage I have found, and I will keep staying here for the value and location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    37
    47
    28
    48
See reviews for
38
49
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Dirty, non-modern, and run down.Trash and cigarette butts abound around entrances and parking lot. Found syringe under television in bedroom unit.Bellhop and breakfast monitor basically beg for tips.Poor and limited continental breakfast with no eggs. Discourteous office staff. Poor maid service with poor cleaning skills. No monitoring or enforcement of laundry room hours. Dirty and old washers and dryers. Dirty laundry room. Clogged sinks and tubs. Rickety furniture.Appears to house druggies accompanied by a lot of in and out late night activity.No plug in for vehicles. No elevator in 3 story back building. No handicap access doorways.Television and WiFi don't work consistently. Limited channels on television.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvianchorage, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Executive Suite Airport, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the comments as we do use them to help us continue to get better serving our guest. I do apologize that we did not meet your expectations and hope that in the future you will visit us again.

I hope that the rest of your visit went well while in Anchorage and that you had a safe return back home.

Sincerely,

Archie Sharretts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

As a contractor in Alaska, I have been staying on this property on and off for the past 5 years.

The prices are high during the summer for any property that boast better accommodations and amenities, but I think for the value in relation to it's price that the ABVI - Executive Suites on Spenard go hand in hand.

Pros: Close to the airport, good restaurants within walking distance, close to Diamond and no to far from downtown, comfortable beds, continental breakfast. low turn over of front office management and CSR's (important to those of us that return to same locations time and time again)

Cons: Nightly yelling matches with some long term residents, slow internet (important for people that work from lodging locations); can be very noisy during summer but hey people are on vacation or in between rotations on the Slope.

This is not a great location for families with small children but very good for contractors, business persons or those needing a decent place for a night with great support.

Room Tip: Get something on the 3rd floor near 265 and higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvianchorage, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Executive Suite Airport, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the comments and giving us the opportunity to serve you. We are very lucky to have the current staff as they are eager to help, our front office manager Monica has done a tremendous job and deserves much credit. Regarding our high speed wireless connection, we did increase our bandwidth several months ago as we were seeing an increase number of video streaming and gaming, I will contact our provider to see if what more we can do. However, it is in the near future to upgrade to more TV channels and movies as we think this will slow the downloading of internet material.

Thanks again for staying with us and please continue to post comments as they continue to help us serve all our guest.

Sincerely,

Archie Sharretts
Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

one of the cheapest airport properties in Anchorage. i had a late arriving flight and early departure so i only needed a place for about 4 hours. The room/suite was huge, but the bed was terribly soft and bouncy. the room was "old" and shabby but it was fairly clean. Airport transportation was a plus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Booked this place on Hotwire - hotels in Anchorage in the summer are typically exhorbitant prices.

Needed one overnight between legs of our Alaska vacation. This was fine for that purpose.

Location is near airport, so convenient for anyone flying out of Anchorage headed home, or in our case out to more remote parts of the state.

Basic, no-frills rooms. Stayed on ground floor - all rooms have got exterior doors. Not the most up to date of furnishings, but did what we needed it to do.

Location is on moderately busy road, but traffic noise didn't impact our stay.

Typical free hotel breakfast (waffles, muffins, toast, juice, fruit, etc.).

We're the type that would rather spend on activities than fancy lodging, and this suited us well in that regard. Especially for just one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My itinerary was out of order due to weather and I needed an extra night in Anchorage. I was in a hurry and didn't read reviews before bidding on Hotwire. As soon as I entered the hallway of the building, I know I made a huge mistake. "Suspicious looking" characters were hanging out who appear to be tenants there. The room is dirty, has dirty furniture and bedding, very dismal. The entire place is dismal. I didn't stay and checked out promptly. The price was about $100. I know it's Alaska and hotels are expensive. But the $100 would roughly translate into a $30 dump in the lower 48. Totally not worth it. You are better off sleeping in the car, seriously.

To be fair, staff OK, location close to the airport and convenient. But the main point is: the property is in terrible condition.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was one of the only places I could find with a two bedroom suite. My first bad feeling was in the lobby with peeling wallpaper and dirty floors. The room was large with two bedrooms and a single bath. I definitely expect more for $200/night. The "kitchen" was a fridge and counter, no coffepot or any other amenity. The furniture was old and worn-my son thought it looked like hand-me-downs from his year in the dorms at The University of Alaska. I almost didn't want to sit on the couch-just had a greasy look and feel and the room smelled.
The bathroom was large with updated tile but with utilitarian soap and shampoo dispensers-don't expect any foo foo lotions or a box of Kleenex!
We had booked the room for two night but decided to give up the $200 for the second night and go somewhere else!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvianchorage, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Executive Suite Airport, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve and we do appreciate you visiting our hotel. I do apologize for any inconvenience during your stay. If the opportunity presents itself to visit Anchorage in the future please contact me as I would be happy to assist with one of our newly remodeled kitchen suites.

Sincerely,

Archie Sharretts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Executive Suite Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Executive Suite Airport

Address: 4360 Spenard Road, Anchorage, AK 99517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Executive Suite Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn & Executive Suites Airport is conveniently located just 1.5 miles from Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport. Airport and Train Station Shuttle service is complimentary and is avail.24 hrs, Train Station Shuttle is seasonal. ABVI / Executive Suite Airport boast the best value in Anchorage for the economy market with large suites and studios and excellent customer service. ABVI/ Executive Suite Airport is used for hub in many cases for the close vicinity of Seward Hwy, Airport, downtown and Coastal Trail. Start your day with high energy continental breakfast with homemade waffles, muffins, several brands of cereal, fruit etc...Welcome to the LAST FRONTIER ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Executive Suite Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn - Executive Hotel Anchorage
Americas Best Value Inn Anchorage
Anchorage Americas Best Value Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Executive Suite Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.