We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Service Budget Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Executive Suite Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Executive Suite Airport to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - Executive Suite Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4360 Spenard Road, Anchorage, AK 99517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Hammond, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“5 Star Service Budget Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

If there were a separate classification for budget hotels, I would give it 5 stars. The hotel staff, the manager , front desk staff, continental breakfast hostess, and the shuttle drivers were prompt, courteous, very responsive, and most helpful. Although the hotel is old and shows its age, the room was spacious. It had a large sofa, writing table, newly-renovated bathroom, and a roomy kitchen. The latter was equipped with a refrigerator, microwave, and perhaps a stove. The hotel is located much nearer to the airport than downtown. However, you can easily ride downtown inexpensively (every ½ hour daylight hours, weekdays via city bus (People Mover). The bus stop is conveniently located across the street from the hotel. The same route also goes to the airport during certain hours and days. The hotel has a shuttle service to the airport. A word of caution: taxicab drivers will be reluctant to bring you from the airport to hotels near the airport because it is more profitable for them to go downtown from the airport.

Room Tip: Try getting the manager's special pricing directly from the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    37
    46
    27
    47
See reviews for
37
47
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011 via mobile

We needed a cheap, clean place to stay near the airport after flying all day. This place fit our needs. Arrived in town after midnight local time. Their shuttle picked us up without incident and took us to the hotel for some much needed sleep. Check in process was quick and friendly. Rooms are dated but clean. Our room was very warm when we arrived so we cracked open the window. Breakfast was simple but edible. Overall a fine place for people looking for a clean and affordable place to sleep for a few hours.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The employees need to take customer service instruction. They are extremely rude and could care less about problems. The internet was so slow we had to go across the street to Wendy's to get online. The policy for not being allowed to take coffee and juice to the room is absolutely ridiculous and the kitchen Nazi that oversees the continental breakfast needs to have a good smack down for her rude, arrogant smarmy attitude. I did not speak with one staff member that didn't have an attitude or at the very most were sullen and unhappy to be there. We will never stay there again, the company will never book rooms there again and we will make sure that everyone that does business with our company is advised about the conditions.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The reason there were only two dim lights in the big room, they didn't want you to see how nasty it was. The bedroom was fine, the bathroom was the best part of the room. Found out from family that we were staying in the Red Light district there on Spenard Rd. Won't ever come back again.

Room Tip: Don't bother with this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

I had originally made a reservation here for 2 nights because I was just flying through Anchorage but I had never been to Alaska before so I figured I'd schedule my flights with a day or so in between so I could check out the city. Upon arriving at the hotel and realizing just how far I was from the downtown area, I asked what the hotel's policy was for changing my reservation (I was thinking about staying one night instead). I was told that if I could let the front desk know within 30 minutes if I was going to check-out early that it wouldn't be a problem to change my reservation (I explained that I was then going to try and change my flight so I could leave early). I was able to reschedule my flight and call the front desk within 5 minutes. I explained the situation to the woman who answered at the front desk and was assured that everything was ok. I then remembered being told when I called to make my reservation that cribs were available, so I called to have one brought to my room. I was initially told that one was on it's way, but about 2 minutes later received a call informing me that it would be an additional fee. Not knowing what condition the crib might be in after seeing the condition of the furniture already in the room, I decided it probably wasn't worth it. The furniture was old and dirty, and I made the mistake of letting my 9 month old son crawl around on the floor assuming it had been recently vacuumed only to find him playing with a wad of hair he found on the floor moments later. When I went to check-out and catch the complimentary shuttle to the airport (the only positive I found at this hotel), I was told that the manager was the only person who could authorize my early check-out and of course he wasn't there. I was told to call on Monday to speak with him and that he could straighten any issues out (it was Saturday). I will also add that as I waited to check-out there was another disgruntled guest making a complaint to the ladies at the front desk, and after she left they laughed at her complaint and acted as if they could care less, and I found that very unprofessional. So on Monday I called but the manager was unavailable, so I left a detailed message. Tuesday comes and the same thing. Finally on Wednesday I reach him not on his direct number which I was given, but at the front desk. I explained my situation and what I had been told, and he flatly replied that they could not alter reservations. I explained again that I was told it was ok, and that had I been told that I couldn't alter my reservation I would not have changed my flight plans and I would have stayed both nights if I was going to be charged for both nights anyways. He was completely unsympathetic, and offered no explanations for what I had been told by his staff. I then called the hotel's corporate office to make a complaint and was told that I had to fill out a complaint through their website. When I did so, the website conveniently was unable to submit my complaint, and even now, 2 months later, will not allow me to submit a complaint. In summary, this hotel is way overpriced and not well-kept, and the customer service is very poor.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed three nights in July. Room was pretty spacious, comfortable & clean. We were happy with room and price.
Guest service need to improve. We called front desk and asked for extra blanket and it took more than two hours to receive. I’d careless if they phoned explain. Other than that everything was good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Because of some of the reviews I read about this hotel, I was leery about staying here. But since we were arriving late and leaving early the next morning and it was one of the cheaper hotels, I decided to give it a try. We were impressed enough that we ended up booking a room for the night before I had to fly out. The room was large and clean. One room we stayed in had a kitchenette and both rooms had a separate bedroom from the living area. The breakfast was good and included waffles. It was a quiet area and we didn't have any problems with loud people or dirty rooms as some reviewers have complained about. It was a quick drive to downtown and to the airport.

Room Tip: I booked on their website and received a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Executive Suite Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Executive Suite Airport

Address: 4360 Spenard Road, Anchorage, AK 99517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Executive Suite Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn & Executive Suites Airport is conveniently located just 1.5 miles from Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport. Airport and Train Station Shuttle service is complimentary and is avail.24 hrs, Train Station Shuttle is seasonal. ABVI / Executive Suite Airport boast the best value in Anchorage for the economy market with large suites and studios and excellent customer service. ABVI/ Executive Suite Airport is used for hub in many cases for the close vicinity of Seward Hwy, Airport, downtown and Coastal Trail. Start your day with high energy continental breakfast with homemade waffles, muffins, several brands of cereal, fruit etc...Welcome to the LAST FRONTIER ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Executive Suite Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn - Executive Hotel Anchorage
Americas Best Value Inn Anchorage
Anchorage Americas Best Value Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Executive Suite Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.