We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of China Lights Oriental Cuisine

China Lights Oriental Cuisine
9220 Old Seward Highway, Anchorage, AK (Downtown)
(907) 522-5888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #376 of 684 Restaurants in Anchorage
Cuisines: Chinese
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I know it is a little pricy place but, I love going there& expect to get a good service and awesome food. Sushi is so so but I love Chinese version of mussel bake or any type of sea food there. I recommend anyone to go there and be happy what you have there at the restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Somewhat random food offerings, but a very good buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have not eaten here in several months, but have always had good service and enjoyed their food. It is after all a buffet, so we're not expecting five-star gourmet dining, but as far as Anchorage buffets go, we like the attempt at a varied menu. There's a little bit of randomness in their attempt to offer Asian and American dishes, in the clear attempt to please a wider audience of clientele. The sushi is fairly average, nothing fancy, but it suffices. If we want sushi and sushi only, we know where to go in town. There are generally other good choices, such as King crab legs, pepper shrimp, oysters on the half-shell (steamed, with sauce, a little rubbery if you don’t get a fresh batch, but generally pretty good), and all manner of traditional Asian dishes. We like the flower-shaped buns with bean curd, and the peanut-sauced chicken. Desserts are very sad, and are often some sort of bland cake, but my kids enjoy the ice cream machine. However, the salad bar has fresh fruit which I often have as my dessert. It’s a buffet, and as far as these go, pretty good. Our servers diligently clear our table and bring drink refills for kids. The price IS a bit high, but after a visit to some of the other buffets in town, I am willing to pay the price to avoid the stampede for food that is the atmosphere at some other buffets in town.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Buffet was awful. Worst we have ever had. We spent $60 for two adults and one child. Probably ate $20 at best. Everything was so bad we couldn't even finish the plates. We tried a variety of foods hoping that something would taste good, but it didn't. Dried out, or bad temperature. Cold foods were warm and hot foods were cold. Below average at best.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Good lunch stop with variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed this buffet. It is definately a fusion menu. I tried the Vietnamese fresh spring rolls, kimchee, tofu stir fry, bok Choi, egg rolls, Mongolian beef. There were many other items including fresh baked Brownies for dessert. There was also a good variety of sushi. Servers were very attentive and food was hot. Pricing is a few dollars higher than other buffets but variety was great

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is an over price restaurant for the food that is ADVERTISED (Sushi included). There are no sushi here, its a poor copy of good Japanese food and poor Chinese quality food. The dinner is $18 which should be $12.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Lights Oriental Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to China Lights Oriental Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Lights Oriental Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.