We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great house to rest and plan the next leg of my Alaska journey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchorage Guest House
Save
You added Anchorage Guest House to your Saves list
2001 Hillcrest Drive, Anchorage, AK 99517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 122 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great house to rest and plan the next leg of my Alaska journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed at this place 2 times – once upon arriving in ANC and then right before I had to fly out. The house is great –it’s a real house in a nice residential neighborhood. After traveling around the western US and dealing with a lot of budget-saving hostels, this one rocked on the scale of “feel like coming home.” I grew up in the Midwest and felt right at home in this place. The female dorm room was quiet and had plenty of space. There were some renovation projects going on, but the room and bed were great, along with the kitchen, and the price included breakfast. The home owner was flexible and allowed me to store some stuff in the garage while I traveled, which really helped me out. I’d recommend this place anytime.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
3
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I live near Kenai so need to fly in and out of Anchorage a few times a year. Whenever I'm traveling solo I stay at the Anchorage Guest House. I learned about it from a referral from the Girdwood hostel. It is the least expensive place as well as one of the most comfortable in Anchorage. It feels like home. I meet lots of interesting and friendly people there. We often go out to eat, sightsee, or bicycle around town together.

You don't get maid service, starched sheets and a mint at night - you have to make your own bed and bring the sheets to the laundry in the morning, but to save $60 for 5 minutes work is not a bad trade-off.

I also value the information I get from other guests and the owner. The owner is an effervescent fountain of information. He is never too busy to provide detailed suggestions and great ideas of things to do in Alaska. I never would have seen the historic and beautiful Kenokott Copper Mine if not for him.

Room Tip: Bicycle rental is a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I'm afraid to say that after my excellent first stay 10 years ago, my second stay was not that nice. I stayed in both the private and hostel rooms and none were clean and general maintenance seemed to be lacking. The bathrooms were not at all clean and I had difficulty feeling clean after showering, trying not to touch any surface and stay away from the walls and put towels on the floor so I didn't have to stand on it.
It's in a nice location, there is private parking, albeit limited, and there are kitchen facilities, which are really useful.
Also, I'm a little annoyed that the positive review I posted on the website in 2001 has been redated to 2010, which is misleading.
If the place was clean and maintained then I would consider staying but I think it just needs some more attention.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

As a solo traveler, I found the Anchorage Guest House extremely accommodating. Andy was very helpful with helping me to plan my adventures in Alaska. I stayed there the first night after I flew in and ended up returning for 2 more nights while passing through Anchorage again. Even though Andy was on a vacation of his own at this time, he made sure I was taken care of and had a comfortable and safe place to stay. It felt more like a home as opposed to many other hostels that I walked past and found somewhat intimidating. Lots of good food, company and music. The guest house is also focused on green initiatives, which I always appreciate to see.

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I've been staying at the Anchorage Guesthouse whenever I am in town for 10 years now, and there is a reason I keep going back. This is a spacious home, clean and quiet. the location is excellent - right by the coastal trail for bike riding or walking (it's only a 20 minute walk to downtown), and also convenient to bus lines and the airport.

The proprietor encourages adventure travelers to stay here, and the folks you meet at the Guesthouse are always interesting. I have met other outdoor enthusiasts from all over the globe, young and old. Owner Andy Baker is cheerful, helpful, and likely to end up as a good friend.

The upstairs dorm room for women is light and airy, with lots of room with only 4 persons sharing. The private upstairs rooms are likewise well-conceived. Andy has added rooms downstairs, and has done a lot of work to get light to them as well. The bathrooms are well maintained and clean. The yard is lovely. Main room furniture is sparse, but this just gives more space to those fortunate enough to select the Guesthouse. Summer 2012 saw new paint and many updates.

Room Tip: Gals - stay in the upstairs dorm: what a bargain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I stayed at Anchorage Guest House in July this year 2011 and it's the third time i have stayed here as i think it's the best place to stay in Anchorage. This is because it feels like a home away from home, the owner Andy Baker is very friendly and welcoming, it's a great set up with plenty of food for breakfast, comfortable beds, nice rooms and the location is excellent being in a nice neighborhood and close to the coastal trail and downtown. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Anchorage i love it there !

Room Tip: Book at least a week in advance if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Pros: Value - under $90 a night in Anchorage is crazy cheap. Well-stocked with quality provisions - excellent coffee, fresh fruit, healthy cereal, organic milk and soy milk. Large common areas. Friendly owner.

Cons: When we arrived, construction materials were all around the grounds and the interior of house, although the inside was tidied up by morning. Room had no closet doors, adding to under-construction feel of the property. Curtains were cut too small to block out sunlight entirely. Once renovations are complete, though, you'd really only have the easy-to-fix issue of the curtains as a negative.

Verdict: If you're only in town for an evening or two, this is the place to stay. Even for longer-term visits, hard to justify paying Anchorage's going rate of $200+ per night unless you really need a traditional hotel's comfort and amenities.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Guest House

Address: 2001 Hillcrest Drive, Anchorage, AK 99517
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, safe and friendly accommodation for independent adventure travelers in a quiet residential neighborhood - close to downtown, Coastal Trail and outdoor gear shops. Private and dorm rooms, parking, wifi internet, mountain bike rental, laundry, gear storage, friendly and experienced managers. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.