We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generous portions, well-prepared” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kriner's Diner

Kriner's Diner
2409 C Street, Anchorage, AK
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 684 Restaurants in Anchorage
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Glennallen, Alaska, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Generous portions, well-prepared”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Be hungry when you eat here! My husband and I have often split a breakfast sandwich (our favorite). Consistently good breakfasts and excellent burgers. If you traditional comfort food in generous quantities, well prepared, this is the place.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    24
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good classic diner... No one leaves hungry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I visited Kriner's with friends for lunch. The full parking lot was a bit daunting, but we got a table right away. I did not see anyone who came in waiting more than a few minutes to get a table.

The menu covers the whole spectrum of typical diner fare, some of it with a different twist. The burgers are huge... Andy's Awesome Burger was particularly good, with jalapeño jack cheese and onion rings. Regular diner entrees like meatloaf with mash or open faces turkey sandwiches, and of course breakfast is served all day - omelettes, skillets, waffles, and big fluffy biscuits with gravy.

The service was fast and friendly.

You want to come hungry when you eat at Kriner's, and will likely still need to take some leftovers home. Despite the generous portions, the prices are reasonable.

This is not a fancy or romantic restaurant, but if you're looking for freshly cooked diner-style food, you'll leave here happy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. VA
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Yummy!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I stopped at Kriner's Diner for lunch,and it was yummy!! Their sandwiches are HUGE, so there's no chance of leaving there hungry. The food was delicious, and the service was terrific. They really make you feel welcome! If you're hungry, I'd highly recommend it!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We love the food and the atmosphere! Very comfortable with friendly staff. When friends come from from out of state, we bring them here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Slipping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Granddaughter loved Kriner's, so we took her there for her birthdays. Last year they were closed so it has been two years since we ate there. Until this morning, when six of us from the family went for breakfast. Didn't ask her if she still rates them as high as before. Sort of doubt it though.

Sorry to say they have slipped badly during the interim. Gave them an A- in the past, C- today. Good and friendly service still though.

Hard to say what contributed specifically to the overall deterioration. I thought they always used those nice thick slices of wheat bread, sort of like the Village Inn does, not any more though, but then maybe, I forgot and their bread wasn't as good as I remembered. The hash browns tasted of a grill that hadn't been properly cleaned, you know, sort of like a "rancid" taste.

But, then, maybe we caught them on an off day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kriner's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Kriner's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kriner's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.