We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Purchased Online” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ulu Factory

The Ulu Factory
211 West Ship Creek Avenue, Anchorage, AK (Downtown)
+1(0)800 488 5592
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 87 Attractions in Anchorage
Type: Cultural
Attraction details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Purchased Online”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We didn't go to the factory because we are in Sitka, not Anchorage. However, we did purchase 3 ulu sets online. We got one for ourselves and two for family members for Christmas. Customer service from this company is more than amazing! As previously stated we made our purchase online. The next day we recieved a call. A lady politely informed us she noticed our 3 orders to seperate addresses. Then she asked if we would like to add a card and to have the boxes stamped "Do not open until Christmas." Of course we did! We were so surprised and pleased with the customer service I felt obligated to write a review.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    45
    25
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Factory and shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The knife factory and shop has something for everyone. The prices are reasonable too. Even their two dogs are well behaved and sweet.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Ulu Factory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

You can see the boards and knives being made behind glass window. My daughter I bought 4 sets. The CD shows how it got started . A must to buy. Shows how to use knife and board as well.
The sets we bought were from the factory. But wal mart and other stores also sells them, some are made in China , just look for it to say they're made in alaska. They're a little out from downtown . Use you google map on your phone. It'll make it easy to get there.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, ME
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun and Interesting Place to Visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

It was near out hotel so we stopped by a couple of times. A bit pricy, but the native art carvings alone are worth the time to visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fun place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

A friend recommended visiting this place and glad we visiited. These ulu knives are handmade right on the premises. Able to view the process of making these knives through viewing windows throughout the store. Ended up buying one for ourselves and three more sets as gifts. Very well made, high quality and work great. Staff friendly and helpful. A little tough to find but make this a stop when in Anchorage.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ulu Factory also viewed

 

Been to The Ulu Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ulu Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.