We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tour Especially When the” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage City Trolley Tours

Anchorage City Trolley Tours
546 West Fourth Avenue, Coner of 4th avenue and F Street in front of the Log Cabin Visitor Center, Anchorage, AK 99510
907 276-5603
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$20*
and up
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: All aboard Anchorage's favorite city tour!Hop on our historic and scenic 15 mile tour of Anchorage. Alaskan guides will share history, family stories, and explore Anchorage's past and present.From the most riveting moments of Anchorage's yesterdays to present day living, our fully narrated trolley tours visit cultural and historical sites, watch seaplanes splash land on Lake Hood, hit scenic viewpoints with mountain and ocean views, and travel through Earthquake Park. We search together for a sighting of our most famous resident - the mighty urban moose. Every step of the way, you'll be guided by a team of local Alaskans who love sharing the heart and history of our town. Every ticket comes with a complimentary coupon book with over $100 worth of traveler savings. So, when you're ready to get the "lay of the land," or get off the beaten path - Anchorage City Trolley Tours is your best and finest place to begin your adventure in the Greatland.
Laconia, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour Especially When the”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

After finishing up a great cruise-land package with Princess cruises we decided to spend a couple of days in Anchorage sightseeing before we heading back to the lower 48 states and home. One of the tours we recommend is the Anchorage City Trolley Tours. It was not very expensive, and if you get the tour guide we had, a retired Anchorage school teacher, who married a native Alaskan and had many wonderful stories to tell, you'll be very entertained.

One such story was about her husband who as a young boy was undergoing his first bit of Novocaine in the dentist's chair during the Good Friday earthquake of 1964 (March 27th). Imagine being drugged up and feeling the whole world shake and collapse around you. She also told of personal encounters her family had with the wildlife such as bears and moose living in Anchorage.

The trip goes for around 45 minutes and there is always the chance you might get to see some of that Alaskan wildlife moseying along during the trip. Great way to get introduced to Anchorage so try to do the tour early on your first day of exploring.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    43
    29
    12
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great way to see Anchorage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This trolley tour was worth every penny! A great way to see Anchorage! I can't remember our drivers name but he was so knowledgeable and he is what truly made this tour so amazing! He talked about the underground houses that people live in for cooling and warming, about the earthquakes, the school and how they painted a hidden symbol onto the front of it, all sort of awesome facts! It was a wonderful and super fun way to see Anchorage! Would highly recommend.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice introduction to Anchorage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We did the 45 minute trip with a retired school teacher who was very entertaining and well informed about Anchorage. Including the history of the earthquake that was told with interludes of her husbands dentistry experience at the time! Good tour to get your bearings, learn a bit about the town and figure out what you want to go back and explore in detail. After the tour we went across the road for the free film screenings by the parks department and also visited their educational display which was informative.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorageTrolley, Owner at Anchorage City Trolley Tours, responded to this review, December 1, 2014
Thank you so much for taking part in our tour and for taking your valuable time to write a review. We really appreciate your kind words and great compliments. Please come back and see us again whenever you're in Anchorage!

Cyrus A., Owner/Operator
Anchorage Trolley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Introduction to Anchorage.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

A fun way to be introduced to Anchorage. Our tour guide was smart, funny, and enthusiastic. While on the trolley, we learned where to shop, where to eat, great history, and had many opportunities for pictures. We even got a coupon book! I felt safe on the trolley. The driver was conscious of traffic and made no risky moves. This relaxing and informative one hour tour was a great way to get acquainted with Alaska's largest city. I would even do it again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Anchorage from the resident's perspective”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This trolley line is owned by a young man that spends hours and hours of every week on site, selling tikets. A very nice, polite young man. And the trolley tour guide was awesome! Now, I don't remember his name, maybe 'Jim' but he is a retired school teacher, bush pilot, resident and very informative of early Anchorage. He is a plethora of information and is very willing to share his knowledge of this beautiful city. Truly enjoyed the ride and the $20 was very well worth the hour's information.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchorage City Trolley Tours also viewed

 

Been to Anchorage City Trolley Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage City Trolley Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.