We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place in Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkside Guest House

Parkside Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkside Guest House
Save
You added Parkside Guest House to your Saves list
1302 W 10th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 120 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Sanibel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place in Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Have stayed in many B&Bs and this was one of the best. The house is beautifully restored (worth going just for that), the room comfortable, Carly was friendly and helpful, and the location on the park and close to everything was fantastic. We got to walk around Anchorage through the waterside park to Sacks (good) for dinner and around the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hopkins, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed at Parkside three different nights during our recent trip. The beds were very comfortable, the breakfasts were excellent and Carley was very helpful. Her homemade yogurt, granola and other baked goods were a great start to each segment of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Great in every way. CSNY83 took the words right out of our mouths. We had an early morning flight and Carly got up and made sure that the taxi was there for us at 4:15 am! She helped us make sandwichs fo the flight.

Room Tip: William Morris room was huge. Décor was exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was the perfect place to stay in Anchorage. It's close to downtown, so you can get everywhere easily - but it's just far enough away that you can find peace and quiet in Alaska's "big city." They did a fantastic job renovating the home. The woodwork, the stained glass, the decorations, the kitchen and the living space were fabulous. I kept wandering around taking in all of the beautiful details. And if we weren't so jam-packed with things to do in Alaska, my husband and I probably would have stayed in the living area and read all of the amazing books in the libraries cover to cover. We were definitely checking out all of the books and the early-edition volumes from famous arctic explorers and mountaineers.

And Carly was fantastic. We really enjoyed chatting with her in the evenings and over breakfast. And breakfast was perfect - yummy homemade yogurt, granolas, fresh fruit, freshly baked breads - and we got to pack the extras for our hikes!

I would definitely recommend this gem in the middle of Anchorage. If you're just passing through or using Anchorage as your home base for a longer trip - Parkside is the place to be! Thanks to Wally and Jerry and the folks at Camp Denali for building such a special guest house. The love and care and attention to details is obvious. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed two nights following a wonderful visit to Camp Denali. The house is exquisite, our room and bathroom were immaculate and comfortable, and we really appreciated being able to do laundry. The house is within walking distance of many attractions and we preferred the location to "downtown." Carly was a terrific hostess, helpful, informative and interesting, and provided great breakfasts and some snacks to go. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkinsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights here while we toured the Anchorage area. The hostess was very helpful and the continental breakfasts were outstanding with homemade yogurt and granola as well as muffins or scones. The day we were leaving, the hostess even sent us off with additional food. There was always fruit and nuts available for snacking. The living room area is huge. Our bedroom was small but comfortable. The hostess makes you feel like this is your home away from home. The location is excellent. You can walk downtown or along the coastal trail. It is across the street from a park. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The downstairs room has its own living room as well, but it does not have any view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, OR
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've stayed in numerous B & Bs over the years and Parkside definitely makes our top 10. The Craftsman home is a gem and the setting close to the park and coastal trail makes it a perfect location, as Anchorage is a very walkable grid. Our room and bathroom were immaculate, with attention to details that these travelers appreciate - laundry facilities, adequate reading lights, ample & accessible plugs for charging electronics, bathrobes, guest refrig to chill our wine, snacks for the train and more.Carly was an informative hostess and went out of her way to make sure each guest's varied needs were met. For us, the breakfasts were just right with homemade granola, breads and muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt and flavorful local coffee. We liked being able to eat within our time frame rather than an exact sit down time with multiple courses.

Room Tip: We LOVED the basement room since it made the room dark enough to sleep during the 22 hours of daylig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Downtown
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#6 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#22 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
GuestHouse Anchorage Inn
#35 of 71 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside Guest House

Address: 1302 W 10th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkside Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.