We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Home, Perfect Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkside Guest House

Parkside Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkside Guest House
Save
You added Parkside Guest House to your Saves list
1302 W 10th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 121 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Home, Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was the perfect place to stay in Anchorage. It's close to downtown, so you can get everywhere easily - but it's just far enough away that you can find peace and quiet in Alaska's "big city." They did a fantastic job renovating the home. The woodwork, the stained glass, the decorations, the kitchen and the living space were fabulous. I kept wandering around taking in all of the beautiful details. And if we weren't so jam-packed with things to do in Alaska, my husband and I probably would have stayed in the living area and read all of the amazing books in the libraries cover to cover. We were definitely checking out all of the books and the early-edition volumes from famous arctic explorers and mountaineers.

And Carly was fantastic. We really enjoyed chatting with her in the evenings and over breakfast. And breakfast was perfect - yummy homemade yogurt, granolas, fresh fruit, freshly baked breads - and we got to pack the extras for our hikes!

I would definitely recommend this gem in the middle of Anchorage. If you're just passing through or using Anchorage as your home base for a longer trip - Parkside is the place to be! Thanks to Wally and Jerry and the folks at Camp Denali for building such a special guest house. The love and care and attention to details is obvious. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed two nights following a wonderful visit to Camp Denali. The house is exquisite, our room and bathroom were immaculate and comfortable, and we really appreciated being able to do laundry. The house is within walking distance of many attractions and we preferred the location to "downtown." Carly was a terrific hostess, helpful, informative and interesting, and provided great breakfasts and some snacks to go. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkinsville, Georgia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights here while we toured the Anchorage area. The hostess was very helpful and the continental breakfasts were outstanding with homemade yogurt and granola as well as muffins or scones. The day we were leaving, the hostess even sent us off with additional food. There was always fruit and nuts available for snacking. The living room area is huge. Our bedroom was small but comfortable. The hostess makes you feel like this is your home away from home. The location is excellent. You can walk downtown or along the coastal trail. It is across the street from a park. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The downstairs room has its own living room as well, but it does not have any view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, OR
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've stayed in numerous B & Bs over the years and Parkside definitely makes our top 10. The Craftsman home is a gem and the setting close to the park and coastal trail makes it a perfect location, as Anchorage is a very walkable grid. Our room and bathroom were immaculate, with attention to details that these travelers appreciate - laundry facilities, adequate reading lights, ample & accessible plugs for charging electronics, bathrobes, guest refrig to chill our wine, snacks for the train and more.Carly was an informative hostess and went out of her way to make sure each guest's varied needs were met. For us, the breakfasts were just right with homemade granola, breads and muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt and flavorful local coffee. We liked being able to eat within our time frame rather than an exact sit down time with multiple courses.

Room Tip: We LOVED the basement room since it made the room dark enough to sleep during the 22 hours of daylig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here prior to going to Camp Denali. Our room was impeccably clean and attention to detail was evident throughout. Carly prepared us a sumptuous breakfast and went so far as to provide us snacks for our long bus ride to Denali.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

charming B&B, small rooms, gracious hostess; met other people going to or coming from Camp Denali and North Face Lodge. Good breakfast, although not very large. Fruit available in the afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed at the Parkside on our way to and from Camp Denali in Denali National Park. The Parkside is owned and run by the same people who own and run Camp Denali, and as such, it holds to the same high standards of accommodations. Carley, our host, was congenial and helpful, yet gave us a lot of space and didn't hover as many B&B hosts feel they have to. The accommodations themselves were impeccable, and Carley's homemade baked goods, which augmented the standard B&B fare, were delicious. All in all, a nice, homey change of pace from standard hotels, and the perfect entry and exit from a stay at Camp Denali.

Be sure to have the address handy, as neither of our cab drivers knew the location by name.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside Guest House

Address: 1302 W 10th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkside Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.