We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top-notch B & B on every level” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkside Guest House

Parkside Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkside Guest House
Save
You added Parkside Guest House to your Saves list
1302 W 10th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 122 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Sisters, OR
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A top-notch B & B on every level”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've stayed in numerous B & Bs over the years and Parkside definitely makes our top 10. The Craftsman home is a gem and the setting close to the park and coastal trail makes it a perfect location, as Anchorage is a very walkable grid. Our room and bathroom were immaculate, with attention to details that these travelers appreciate - laundry facilities, adequate reading lights, ample & accessible plugs for charging electronics, bathrobes, guest refrig to chill our wine, snacks for the train and more.Carly was an informative hostess and went out of her way to make sure each guest's varied needs were met. For us, the breakfasts were just right with homemade granola, breads and muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt and flavorful local coffee. We liked being able to eat within our time frame rather than an exact sit down time with multiple courses.

Room Tip: We LOVED the basement room since it made the room dark enough to sleep during the 22 hours of daylig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here prior to going to Camp Denali. Our room was impeccably clean and attention to detail was evident throughout. Carly prepared us a sumptuous breakfast and went so far as to provide us snacks for our long bus ride to Denali.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

charming B&B, small rooms, gracious hostess; met other people going to or coming from Camp Denali and North Face Lodge. Good breakfast, although not very large. Fruit available in the afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed at the Parkside on our way to and from Camp Denali in Denali National Park. The Parkside is owned and run by the same people who own and run Camp Denali, and as such, it holds to the same high standards of accommodations. Carley, our host, was congenial and helpful, yet gave us a lot of space and didn't hover as many B&B hosts feel they have to. The accommodations themselves were impeccable, and Carley's homemade baked goods, which augmented the standard B&B fare, were delicious. All in all, a nice, homey change of pace from standard hotels, and the perfect entry and exit from a stay at Camp Denali.

Be sure to have the address handy, as neither of our cab drivers knew the location by name.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

We just returned from a wonderful vacation in Alaska. We decided to use Parkside Guest House in Anchorage as our transitional lodging. We booked three non-consecutive nights there and were thrilled with this place. Our hostess, Carly was exceptional. She treated us like family, helped us with arrangements, offered suggestions for dining and pointed us to attractions. The house is beautiful and had a real comfortable feel. I would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Anchorage.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

My husband and I stay at the Parkside Guest House on June 8th , and again on June 25th, 26th and 28th. We originially had reseved only June 8th and 28th. The first and last days of our three week trip to Alaska. The house is beautifully decorated in Mission Oak throught out. With extreme detail attention to everything in the entire house. It was spottlessly clean. Our host was very attentive but never invasive. We had the pleasure of have the owners at breakfast one morning. They are a delightful couple. They also own Camp Denali and Northface Lodge inside Denali National Park. This would be a great addition on anyone's trip to Alaska. We enjoyed our stay so much we called back and reseved two additional nights at the end our trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside Guest House

Address: 1302 W 10th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkside Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.