We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, no hot water in bathroom :(” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Lena

Pho Lena
2904 Spenard Rd, Anchorage, AK 99503-3604
907-277-9777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 684 Restaurants in Anchorage
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Thai, Vietnamese
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food, no hot water in bathroom :(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great food, no hot water in bathroom makes me concerned for my health though !! Yuck. Health dept. frowns on that :( wont go back....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Try the yellow curry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Went here for lunch after it was recommended by some friends and was not disappointed. The yellow curry is delicious! Definitely not a fancy place, but the food is excellent. I will be coming back- often!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Thai food outside of Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I *love* Thai food, but have a hard time finding high-quality options around most of the United States. Pho Lena is traditional Thai and Laotian dishes cooked fresh and served in generous portions. Having tasted the full range of authentic Thai food on various trips through SE Asia, I can honestly say I have not had better Thai food anywhere else outside of Thailand.

Pho Lena looks like a hole-in-the-wall, both outside and inside. It's not a romantic place for a date, nor is it quiet... it feels like a diner but smaller. However, the minute you smell the curry or Tom Yum wafting from your bowl, you won't care... the tastes are heaven.

Phone ahead if you want take-out, but not too far in advance... most dishes come out in about 10 minutes.

The price is a little steeper than other Thai places in town, but well worth the difference.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Prepare to indulge (and not spend a lot)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Not the place for the hoity-toity. This is a mom & pop Asian restaurant that serves huge portions for a reasonable amount in Mid-town. Drive slow as you approach it because it doesn't look like much and it's easy to miss the first time but their food is outstanding. Drive between Pho Lena and the ski shop next door to limited parking out back and get ready to feast. Their hot and sour Pho (pronounced 'fa') is amazing. Homemade noodles really set this place apart. Bathroom needs a serious remodeling but if that's why you visit, piddle first at home.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superbowl”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We decided to try Pho Lena. First impression was a broken front door. Made me pretty skeptical. We ordered a SuperBowl of Pho, decent noodles and meat, the broth seemed to be a generic that I am sure they use in all their soups. We ordered fresh spring rolls and had to ask for peanut sauce. The sauce they gave us was not good. It was not made the way all the other vietnamese places make their sauce. I am assuming they are not even vietnamese, they are probably thai or chinease. The soup was good but it wasn't authentic. I would still eat there again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Lena also viewed

 

Been to Pho Lena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Lena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.