We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My best hotel experience in Anchorage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4050 University Lake Drive, Anchorage, AK 99508   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“My best hotel experience in Anchorage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

OK, it’s not a total surprise, when you consider the price plus the fact this is a brand name hotel (Marriot) but there’s one important lesson (at least for me) here; It’s better to pay a little more and get exactly what you expect than paying almost the same for rooms would never be booked outside the pricey and high demanded hotel market of Alaska during summer. This was THE most common problem I had during my time in Alaska. I know US$205 is not cheap (or even fair) but it’s better than paying US$180 for a room way below average. On this one I got the Marriot standard in everything; space, comfort, customer service, Wi-Fi speed, silence,… It’s not close to anything else but Alaska University although 3 miles to downtown is not bad if you’re driving a rental, especially in Anchorage where traffic is a breeze even in July. One dummy problem here though; as another reviewer pointed out, the space under the room door is high enough to disturb you while trying to sleep, so I also had to put towels on the door threshold to kill the light’s entrance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    94
    18
    1
    6
See reviews for
90
71
20
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
madison
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by what a really, nice hotel this is. Quiet location but not far from downtown. Large, comfortable and clean rooms. Beautifully decorated both in the rooms and the lobby area. Very good breakfast and friendly staff. We would highly recommend this hotel, definitely the best Springhill suites we ever stayed in and definitely the best place we stayed in Alaska.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night. This hotel is near the University of Alaska and their facilities. Very convenient for people who needs to stay near the university. For cruise travelers, downtown options are more convenient but the hotel is still young in age, about 3-4 years and extremely well maintained.
Rooms are extremely cleans, large, nice. Service is wonderful.
We did used the pool and the spa, very nice if you can smell a large quantity of chlorine.
They have a nice pit fire outside to warm up on these cold summer nights. Very nice....
The breakfast in included and the place get very crowdy in the peak hours. Decent items availables & plenty of choices.
A nice lake is behind the hotel where you can walk and do the trail around. A lot of local around the lake walking their dogs. We meet great people there....
The only issue I have with this property is don't count on having restaurants, clubs, bars near the hotel. You need to take a car to go somewhere by a few miles.

Going back to Anchorage, I will definitely consider this property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel was extremely clean, modern and comfortable. The toilet is in a separate room from the shower which can be useful for multiple people getting ready in the morning. The design of the rooms are very interesting and feel very modern to me, which you can see in the photos I am uploading. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. Internet was blazing fast, which was awesome for uploading my photos to online backup websites. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel for first night in Alaska. A new hotel, clean, large rooms with desperate shower and restrooms. Generous breakfast. Friendly front desk. Have nothing bad to say on the place. Really. I mean it

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel was busy but there were many different public spaces you could use: the pool and spa, lobby, breakfast area and the fire pit and patio outside. A gate takes you to the trail around the lake, which was very busy with locals over the weekend. A quiet location away from downtown but still within 10 mins.

At check-in they recognised me as a Marriot reward member and I was given 2 bars of chocolate! A nice gesture but what would have been nicer was the correct number of towels in the bathroom. Why do hotels only put in 3 towels when you reserve the room for ?. I think all the hotels we stayed in over our 2 week vacation did the same. I find it very frustrating.

The room was well designed and very nice. The beds were comfortable, except the mattress on the sleeper sofa. As this was a new hotel I had expected a better mattress. It was so bad that my daughter couldn't use it and we had to make her a bed from the sofa cushions. The mattress was in the closet for 2 days!

The breakfast was good and the staff carried on replacing items up to and beyond the time breakfast was supposed to end. It was however very busy, but we found a table each day.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here. The suites have well thought-out layouts and amenities. New and immaculately clean. Convenient location just minutes from downtown. Outdoor patio with firepit and access to a walking trail around the lake were especially nice. Excellent breakfast. Staff pleasant and helpful. We had stayed at a lesser quality downtown hotel at a much higher room rate on arrival in Anchorage before heading out of town for our pre-arranged tours. So glad we decided to change location and stay here upon our return to town. There's no comparison -- stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake

Address: 4050 University Lake Drive, Anchorage, AK 99508
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Best Value Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#8 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a different kind of hotel with style and space, beautifully priced.Beautiful lakefront lodging with mountain views, in town. Featuring separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, SpringHill Suites provides guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Anchorage University Lake Hotel Anchorage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.