We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, clean room, good location, lots of amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4050 University Lake Drive, Anchorage, AK 99508   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
Pound Ridge, New York
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Big, clean room, good location, lots of amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our suite was very spacious and clean. There was a sitting area with a desk and couch, which was kind of separated from the sleeping area with the bed. Bed was comfy and clean.There were two bathrooms- 1 with a shower and sink, and 1 with a toilet and sink - which was nice for couples/families. There was a laundry room, computer room, pool and exercise room on premises. The hotel was new and open layout, but was not cheap- although I do not think any hotels in the area are. The breakfast was crowded at peak hours, but was an average continental breakfast (cereal, eggs, yogurt, pastries) and nice to be included. 24/7 coffee was nice and internet was reliable. The location is a short drive from down-town, and ideally you will have a car to get there. The hotel has shuttles to the downtown which is nice in case you don't have a car and the shuttles will take you to/from the airport. One of my favorite features is a lake out back with walking trails which is nice to walk around. Pretty views of the mountains and lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    76
    14
    1
    6
See reviews for
77
63
16
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was a fantastic hotel; it had a great look and feel to it, the rooms all have black-out shades, it was very clean and the location was perfect! Everything you would expect from a Marriot. Only a couple minutes from Moose's Tooth pizza place and Flattop Mountain. To top it all off, we saw a moose and her baby about 2 blocks from the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The good- wonderful location. Great place for a walk if you want to see dogs. Most are unleashed, but are friendly. Breakfast was good. Staff was outwardly helpful and friendly.

The bad- they didn't leave a receipt under the door so I had to check out at the desk. It wouldn't have been bad if I didn't have to wait in line behind some woman who wanted her Gatorade purchase on a separate tab so she could charge her company. When I was finally helped, she said they usually leave them under the door but didn't this time for some unknown reason.
Lucky for me I had little to know airport traffic so was able to recover.

Bottom line- stay here if you like good locations and friendly staff. But skip it if you are usually running late because the checkout process was slow.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We recently took a vacation in Alaska, as you probably know the prices of hotels here are very high, we stayed in 3 hotels here and by far this one is the best one in Anchorage.
Clean, Comftarble, nice standard breakfest, staff was great, its about 10 min from the airport and 10 from downtown but we stayed there without a car, used their shuttle service which was great.
the High speed internet was the best i have yet to see at any hotel, maybe even faster than my home, we could stream movies on 2 seperate ipads without a problem, HD movies...
the beds are comf, the room layout is a bit odd with the new modern look to it, but thats ok with us, even has a small fridge and microwave.
there is a nice walking path and park right behind the hotel, the pool and hot tub are nice the kids loved it.
even though it looks a bit far this for sure is the best hotel in anchorage!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for my first night after an evening flight into Anchorage, before driving south in the AM. Everything with my stay was flawless! The guy who checked me in was very nice and professional. I'd asked for a quiet room and they had me at the very end of the hallway, facing out into the woods. The room was immaculate, spacious and all very modern. I didn't take advantage of the breakfast, but should have - it looked delicious!

I don't know that I would have wanted to spend multiple night here if sight seeing was the plan because I like to be more in the action and walkable distance, but I do know there is a free shuttle to get you around - downtown, airport, train depot, etc.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

After a week and a half of various B&Bs and hotels (including another SpringHill Suites in Fairbanks that wasn't as nice), we ended our Alaska trip at the University Lake location for one night and it was by far the best stay of our vacation. Considering how expensive any lodging in Alaska is during the summer, this place turned out to be a great deal.

The hotel is located slightly outside of the downtown area, but their shuttle vans took us anywhere we wanted to go (the movies, airport, etc.), and honestly we'd seen enough of downtown Anchorage by this point in our trip. The staff was gracious, incredibly friendly and even called our room a few minutes after we got in to make sure we were happy. The building feels new and clean. There's a lovely lake behind the building along with a dog park and various trails where you can spend hours hiking. The breakfast was a little busy, but that's only because the hotel was booked. We'd easily stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel is in a quiet area, overlooking a lake from one side. The rooms are large, with modern furniture and are very clean. Breakfast is included in the price, quite standard but of good quality. Coffee, tea and cookies are available throughout the day. They offer a complimentary bus service into town and/or airport. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Having stayed in various hotels in Anchorage, we find this one the best and would choose it again. Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake

Address: 4050 University Lake Drive, Anchorage, AK 99508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#3 Best Value Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#11 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a different kind of hotel with style and space, beautifully priced.Beautiful lakefront lodging with mountain views, in town. Featuring separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, SpringHill Suites provides guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Anchorage University Lake Hotel Anchorage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.