We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4050 University Lake Drive, Anchorage, AK 99508   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Asheville, North Carolina, Usa
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Springhill Suites Anchorage University Lake is on the eastern outskirts of Anchorage and so it's quiet and somewhat pastoral with a lake right behind. Try to get a lakeside room, which will offer you lake views and mountain views. With being on the outskirts it's somewhat remote from downtown, but the hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to downtown and back, as well as to/from the airport of course. The rooms are spacious and clean. Nice place. We stayed three separate nights here and one night at the Hampton midtown. No contest -- I'll rebook the Springhill over the Hampton next time I'm in Anchorage.

Room Tip: Choose a lakeview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    90
    15
    1
    6
See reviews for
87
69
17
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cape cod
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed just one night. Found the accommodations up to par with other Marriott properties, i.e., clean rooms, helpful staff, and hassle free check-in. Breakfast was included and it was ample. Concierge/front desk was helpful with information on restaurants. Recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Beautiful area. Lake and walking close by. The hotel is more modern and the room was comfy. We only were able to stay one night. Tried to use the jacuzzi-it was closed for maintenance so was unable to get back there when it was open again. Nice pool/spa area though. Gym area is nice as well. B-fast was very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel seemed to be very new and clean. If you are driving it's a good base for the local area but it is some way from downtown and you will need to drive to a restaurant. The hotel was quiet, the rooms were comfortable and I had no complaints. If you are visiting the nearby hospital or university it's a great location. As runners we loved the trails behind the hotel, it was great to start the day with a run in the fresh air.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Had a short stay here in June. No complaints at all. The hotel is clean, staff were all friendly, the breakfast was also good (spread was a little more than what I'd personally call continental: cereal, porridge, waffles, a little fruit, yoghurt, scrambled egg, donuts etc).

Not in centre of the town, but it was only a short ride on the free shuttle bus. This drops guests downtown, airport, hospital, shops and you can also call them to pick you up from downtown restaurants after dinner, always prompt and comfortable.

Also within easy walking distance of the university.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMS-Lodging, Director of Marketing at SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hello -
Thank you for the great feedback. It’s common for us to hear how nice it is for guests to stay at this lakefront location and enjoy all the amenities, but we always appreciate it when you take the time to share it with others.

We hope your trip to Alaska was fantastic!

Shelley
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

So I took a chance and stayed at the Springhill by UAA. When I first got here, it seemed much further away from downtown than I anticipated - which gave me pause. But, the room is very nice, the view of the lake and Chugach Range is nice, and the lake is a dog walker's paradise. I've walked the lake trail daily and easily encountered lots of people and no less than 50 dogs (all friendly and looking for attention and to show you their toy or a stick!). Not a bad stay...

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very clean and modern hotel. The nice little trail around the lake let us experience a little nature in the city, a little beaver building homes. It's by the University and the Hospital, so not convenient for downtown, but last trip we navigated the city bus from the airport and there were several buses that went from this area to downtown. They do offer a free shuttle to the airport but you need to reserve it ahead of time and it leaves on the hour. We didn't know this, so we ended up taking a cab, which was there in less than 5 minutes and cost around $22. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and had no noise issues at all. The light from outside was bothersome and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake

Address: 4050 University Lake Drive, Anchorage, AK 99508
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#7 Best Value Hotel in Anchorage
#7 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a different kind of hotel with style and space, beautifully priced.Beautiful lakefront lodging with mountain views, in town. Featuring separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, SpringHill Suites provides guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Anchorage University Lake Hotel Anchorage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.