We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Shuttles to Downtown!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4050 University Lake Drive, Anchorage, AK 99508   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Free Shuttles to Downtown!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Not only did they pick me up from the airport and drop me off, they also had hourly shuttles to downtown restaurants and other attractions. We had to reserve rides an hour in advance but it sure beat the $25 cost of the can ride. They will also pick up from downtown. I would stay here for this service alone because the bus rides (which I also tried) are a bit challenging in winter due to some unpredictability in schedules (since buses get stuck in snow also) and even the nearest stop is about 2 block away. The hotel had a reasonable hot breakfast every morning and the business services computers and printer worked fine for printing boarding passes. The Christmas decor in the hotel was nice and they also had a fire-pit and some chairs at the back for ambiance and to sit around and chat. The room was very well setup and spacious. The bed was comfortable and I slept well for four nights. The people who checked me in did not mention the shuttle to downtown - that would have helped. After fighting the buses the first couple of days, I decided to ask and then I found out! Although on one of the bus rides I met a great driver who shared some interesting stories with me.

Room Tip: I recommend top floor rooms for less potential for noise as the place is popular and can get busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    89
    15
    1
    6
See reviews for
86
68
17
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southcentral Alaska
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Have you ever had such a perfect experience at a hotel, it's almost irritating that you cannot find even the pettiest flaw to pick apart? That was my view of this establishment during a recent stay. The customer service was impeccable (which is exceptionally rare in this state, sadly). The lobby and lounge area was dazzlingly lit and beautifully decorated. The complimentary breakfast is better than you'll find at most diners. The rooms are spacious and modernly appointed, with the lakeside suites enjoying gorgeous views of the small lake and the Chugach mountains. Although I'm a local resident- having booked a room as for a fun "staycation"- the unexpected quality and professionalism really transported us out of the winter dreariness of November in Alaska.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a lakeside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Close to where we needed to be and went for a look. The price was surprising good and the quality of the hotel was great. Room was modern and "fresh". Price was much less than nearby competitors. Easy access to the airport, tourist areas, and other parts of Anchorage. Shuttles and breakfast were provided.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel was very nice! The lobby staff was nice, tvs, plenty of seating, back patio nice and relaxing, beautiful scenery out the back, the mountains were covered in snow and the lake frozen over, beautiful! The room was spacious, comfortable. Loved the bathroom! The shower was big and the shower head worked well. Would have liked the mats outside of the shower as the floor is very slick! The hotel room was clean, sheets crisp, comfy bed and pillows. Fridge, TV, coffee maker, microwave. We stayed for almost a week the first time and almost 2 the 2nd time. I think I could have moved in. Breakfast was good, pool was nice. A little Pricey!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My rrecent stay at the SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake was a wonderful home-y place to relax. The (courtesy) buffet breakfast was tasty, and the "make-your-own-waffles" were delicious. Pleasant scenery and plenty of room in the breakfast room and its fireplace made the scene cosy even though outdoors there was rain and rather cool weather for September. The shuttle service to the airport and downtown was reliable, on demand, and always had very cheerful drivers. The staff at the hotel represented Marriott beautifully. Everything was pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

If you are looking for a modern, clean and reasonably priced place to stay in Anchorage, then SpringHill Suites is the place. This hotel was very charming, spacious and had wonderful service. It is conveniently located, has a good complimentary breakfast and a nice outdoor space. I would recommend it to anyone going to Alaska with children since the rooms are huge and there is a lot of space to move around (which helped a lot with our 3 year old son).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here because just about everything else was booked in the area, but was overall pleasantly surprised. The hotel seemd fairly new, the rooms were clean and spacious, although the bathroom set up was unique. The toilet and a sink were in a separate area with a very small mirror, then the shower and sink we're in another area. But this was fine, the shower had plenty of room that way. Beds were comfortable and there was a separate seating area, mini fridge, and microwave. The only issue was the noise. You could really here just about everything going on in the hallway, people walking, talking, and doors shutting.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake

Address: 4050 University Lake Drive, Anchorage, AK 99508
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#7 Best Value Hotel in Anchorage
#7 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a different kind of hotel with style and space, beautifully priced.Beautiful lakefront lodging with mountain views, in town. Featuring separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, SpringHill Suites provides guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Marriott and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Anchorage University Lake Hotel Anchorage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.