We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not expect such a nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   109 W. International Airport Road, Anchorage, AK 99518 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Did not expect such a nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We arrived late a couple of weeks ago. The Hampton Inn had over booked us, and put us in this hotel. I thought for sure it was going to be an awful room. The staff could not have been nicer. The room was wonderful. Great block out curtains. Good food. Very impressed. Check in was easy, would definitely go back to this hotel next time in Alaska!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMGAlaska, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the 5 Star review! We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    42
    24
    12
    5
See reviews for
29
38
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tappan, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel staff has done their home work, the service is just perfect and everyone makes you feel at home even with you being far away from home. Best recommendation I can give for anyone who needs to stay over in Anchorage for they travels around Alaska.
Great place to enjoy and relax.

Room Tip: Higher floors are preferred, also the guest lounge is up on the 6th floor that would prevent from ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMGAlaska, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star Trip Advisor review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex Uk
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

On hindsight this may not be the best location for a stay in Anchorage. It is fairly equidistant between the airport and downtown. They offer a free shuttle to the airport which we used. However there is nothing in easy walking distance near the hotel. Taxi to downtown cost us $12 each way. Ithink that if the hotel wanted to be more enterprising or helpful theu could offer a free, or low cost, shuttle to downtown.
We had two breakfasts and two dinners in the restaurant and the service was excellent and friendly and the waitresses were very helpful with my wife's allergies. The restaurant lacks atmosphere though as few people use it. That does mean it is not noisy though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMGAlaska, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review, I'm glad to hear that our wait staff was very helpful in making suggestions to accommodate your wife's allergies. I also appreciate your candid feedback regarding providing a downtown shuttle. Your comments will help us to better serve our guests needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here thanks to a screaming deal on Hotwire. It's a little too fancy for us, but we didn't have any problem endulging in it. The hotel has a number of features and is kept spotless. There is a great breakfast buffet included too. Also, for those of you arriving late, its super easy to get to from the airport but is far enough away so you don't feel like you're staying at the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMGAlaska, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to right a review on Trip Advisor for the Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown. We appreciate the 4 star review and hope to see you again during your next trip to Anchorage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleton, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I was on a recent photography tour and this hotel was our base from which the tour began and ended. It's conveniently located about 3 miles (maybe a little less) away from the Anchorage airport. They offer free shuttle service to and from the hotel which is helpful. Shuttle service from the hotel runs on the half hour, so don't expect it to be ready when you are. And you will probably have to actually call the hotel for a pickup from the airport.

My room was clean and everything worked just fine. The room and the hotel itself looked sort of 70-ish or retro on the inside. Furnishings looked a little dated in the lobby as well as my room, with those old colors of orange and green and gold that were so popular back in the 70's - 80's.

The hotel staff was courteous although not really always in the know. I had arrived two days prior to the start of my photo tour with a voucher in hand indicating I had pre-paid for those two extra days. I showed the voucher to the front desk and they had not the slightest clue as to the upcoming photo tour checking in or the fact that I had actually paid for those two days already.

The hotel itself is not really within walking distance of anything. To get to downtown or even the nearest starbucks requires a taxi unless you have rented a vehicle.

The room came with the standard amenities: coffee maker, mini-fridge, mini-microwave, shampoo, etc. The only thing missing from that was the shower cap (I actually like using the shower caps because I don't always want to wash my hair every time I take a shower).

I will say that the bed was extremely comfortable and I slept better there than in any other recent lodging.

The restaurant was definitely hit and miss in terms of food. I would not eat there again unless there was no place else to go.

All in all, it was an OK hotel and served my purposes. As another reviewer put it "Wishing it was more....". I probably will stay elsewhere should i ever choose to visit Anchorage in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMGAlaska, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a trip advisor review for the Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown.
I appreciate your candid feedback and was pleased to hear our beds are "extremely" comfortable. As far as shower caps we do have them available at the front desk free of charge as well as many "forgot something" items like toothbrush, paste, razors and sewing kits. We appreciate your business and I hope your Alaska photo tour was perfect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza while on a business trip and it was a very nice small hotel. Had 7 floors, free wi-fi, really good $15 a day breakfast (a little high), nice lobby and nice front desk staff. Granite in restrooms, small refrigerator, and felt nice modern and clean. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel. The pool is a bit small but still nice.To the hotel I would only suggest longer drapes that hit the floor to really block out the light during the all light days in the summer. The only negative was that while in my room I could hear when someone was walking in their room on the floor above my room. I stayed on the 5th floor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMGAlaska, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor Review and we very much appreciate the 5 star rating!.
I will share you comments with our staff. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nice front desk staff. Nice big rooms. Nice big window. Clean. Quiet. Nice small details.. A folded ice bag that looks like a lemon on a water glass; a clip to hold the curtain fully closed; little extra spa amenities to help relax. Con... I'm really having a hard time waking up my family to go! They are so comfortable they all keep falling asleep :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMGAlaska, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the 4 Star Trip Advisor Review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown

Address: 109 W. International Airport Road, Anchorage, AK 99518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you seek the best of Anchorage, discover the experienced staff and stylish elegance of the Crowne Plaza Anchorage Mid-Town. Located in accessible midtown Anchorage, the Crowne Plaza hotel is just minutes from downtown, shopping, the Alaska Railroad Station, H2Oasis, Dena ina Convention Center, the Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center and the Alaska Zoo. Just 2 miles from the Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport, the Crowne Plaza Anchorage Mid-Town makes your ride fast and comfortable in their complimentary shuttle. Savor a pleasant meal in the Juno restaurant or enjoy a cocktail before turning in for the night to your Sleep Advantage room.Business travelers will feel right at home at the Crowne Plaza Anchorage Mid-Town - generously sized work desks, free wireless and wired high-speed Internet access (HSIA). Located nearby are local companies such as British Petroleum (BP), Arctic Slope Regional Corporation, Alyeska Pipeline, CH2M Hill, Denali - The Alaska Gas Pipeline, Providence Hospital, Alaska Regional Hospital, Alaska Native Medical Center and the University of Alaska.Hotel guests will quickly realize Crowne Plaza is The Place to Meet. Whether holding a convention, banquet, board meeting, reception or informal event, your comfort and success are ensured. No matter if you are on your way to an adventure in remote Alaska, or here to experience Anchorage s big wild life you will find Crowne Plaza The Place to Meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown Hotel Anchorage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.