We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, good beds, but otherwise . . .” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Anchorage

Save Saved
You added Hilton Anchorage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Anchorage
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Third Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #24 of 68 hotels in Anchorage
La Mesa, CA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“New, good beds, but otherwise . . .”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2007

Along with a group of 21 folks on a post-cruise tour, but independently arranged, we stayed pre-Denali and post-Denali at this hotel. Of the 7 people we knew well, all but one complained about various conditions and those who have gold membership in Hilton or better said it was unlike any Hilton they've stayed in . . . terrible.
1. The air conditioning did not work properly in several rooms. Our first room was so cold that it was unacceptable. Solution: After a second request two hours apart, a maintenance worker came to the room, removed the protective wall paneling and turned off the a/c; then, plugged in a small electric space heater and said in "1/2 hour it be 90 here." We didn't want it 90 and tried to tell him that. He said, "you have fresh air." The window wouldn't open. Naturally, we unplugged the heater promptly.
Two or three other couples had same or reverse problem, i.e. too hot, so he comes in and shuts down the equipment.
2. Non smoking rooms had obviously been smoked in. One person had a severe allergic reaction, being miserable on the trip to Denali. They do not enforce non-smoking rules. I saw a person standing in a non-smoking room with the window open smoking and attempting to wave the smoke outside then throwing the lighted cigarette out onto the roof below (fortunately paved with concrete pavers).
3. Some of the women working the front desk seemed unsuited for meeting public concerns.
4. The rooms we had in the West Tower were shoddy inside . . . carpets old, dirty and smelly in some cases. Wood furniture old and abused . . . one handle on night stand hanging down, finish off, chips from wood etc. Plenty of mildew around grout in bathtub added an interesting "touch of class."
On the plus side: breakfast (not included) was pretty good. Bellmen are very helpful. They work with Holland-America Gray Line tours and are very good about checking in baggage for several hours while we waited to go to the airport late at night.
But, try to stay elsewhere! The Cook seems very nice from walking through, but don't know specifically about the rooms.
The location is good for restaurants . . . walking distance to the Glacier Brew House (moderate and very good) and Simon"s.

  • Liked — new beds, decent breakfast, helpful bellmen
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    177
    137
    76
    33
See reviews for
70
155
35
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2007

I'm wondering if the Hilton corporation knows how bad this hotel really is, I've stayed in motel sixes that had a more caring staff then this place has. The room was clean enough but after the experience I had with the front desk just soured the whole mood of my stay. My only guess is that it was close to the end of the tourist season and the seasonal people they had working the desk were more concerned about going back to school or home then the people they were hired to assist.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
508 helpful votes 508 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

We went to Anchorage for a couple of days to get some errands done. Being that it is prime time in the summer here in AK, we paid prime prices (299 night). We usually go to the Voyager, but a last minute trip was in order and the Voyager was sold out (too bad). Our room was 514 in the West tower. It was small and noisy. The busses with hundreds of cruise folks were coming and going all hours of the day and early evening. Making it impossible to have a conversation in the room without hearing diesel engines roaring.
The room was outdated with the exception of the bedding and linens. They were quite comfy. The carpeting, drapes (broken and hanging off the rod) and furniture needed some help if not just to be cleaned. The bath had an updated vanity, but the floor was dirty with hairs everwhere. Our coffe maker still had coffee in it from the last guests and the walls and doors were dirty. We left a few bucks on the pillow our first night to hopefully get a vaccuum, but no luck. At 4 they still hadn't cleaned our room yet. The halls were dirty with dishes sitting on the sill outside of our room for the entire stay. Top of the world bar (or something like that) had a leaky roof right over the menu as you enter, dripping all down it, and the couches and bar area were very well worn and dated. This hotel definately has a ton of cruise traffic, and it must be very hard to keep it up, but for $300 a night, they should do a better job. We will only stay at the Voyager from now on, lesson learned, the Voyager may be a little dated in its furnishings, but it is IMMACULATELY clean and cozy, while still being downtown. Shame on the Hilton!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dirty rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2007

I stayed here at the beginning of an Alaska trip. I was pleasantly surprised by the accomodations since I had low expecations based on previous reviews. We were in the Anchorage Tower. The room was standard size Hilton room. The bedding was new and in the style of Westin bedding. Room furnishings appeared new within last 3-5 years. The bathroom was small with one sink and great water pressure in shower. Bathroom had Crabtree and Evelyn amenities. In my experience this was similar to most average business class rooms I've stayed in. Nothing special but OK. I had no complaints.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable with contempory decor.
  • Disliked — nothing.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

We stayed at the Hilton Anchorage for one night during a pre cruise land tour. We were suppose to stay at the Captain Cook, but due to being sold out were placed at the Hilton instead. I would have rated this hotel better, but the Hilton really lacked in service. The room was recently updated and the bed comfortable. But the front desk employees were lazy and put out if you asked a question. Our room did
have air condtioning that was nice, but the rooms were placed around the elevators, so you could hear them. I was glad we were there for only one night.

  • Liked — The beds
  • Disliked — THe hotel staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
358 helpful votes 358 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

We stayed in this hotel becauses it was suggested and arranged by our cruise line. Excellent central location--walk to restaurants and several sites of interest. The hotel seems stuck in a time warp from at least 20 years ago. Its "Alaska" lobby decor is dated, a Starbucks outpost notwithstanding. Our room had two comfortable beds and a decent-sized, clean, and dated bathroom. The room decor, again, is greatly in need of updating, though it was clean and in good condition. Forget the name "Hilton" as lending any panache; this could just as easily have been a Holiday Inn. The buffet breakfast was of great quantity and surprisingly good quality. .

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — decor
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2007

We were in Anchorage for a conference and were tempted to get "the conference hotel". Too expensive! The room was tiny for $160, the bathroom was tiny too! Friends booked rooms in nearby hotels for half and even one quarter of the price, less stars but they were very pleased; they had internet access and breakfast and they did not feel ripped off. Parking not included, internet not included, breakfast of course not included. On the upside it was very clean!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Anchorage

Address: 500 West Third Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Anchorage 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular hotels in Anchorage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Hilton Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Anchorage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.