We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in excellent locstion.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Anchorage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Anchorage to your Saves list
Hilton Anchorage
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Third Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average hotel in excellent locstion.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

You'll be paying Hilton price for a Comfort Inn room.
Lobby and common areas are quite nice but as soon as you go upstairs, it's a tired hotel in need of updating if they want to justify the price.
Business center works well but is quite expensive for printing/use.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    243
    203
    99
    44
See reviews for
95
226
47
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Was booked into this property on our Holland America Line land component of our Alaskan trip after the cruise. The property is of an older era and is showing many signs of being old. Not the Hilton experience we've had in other Hilton properties. We were issued keys for the West wing of the hotel so not sure if this is older than the other part. Room was reasonably comfortable and had good toiletries. No free Internet in the rooms, only the foyer. Quite close to restaurants and shops and rail station. There were Sunday markets over the road from this hotel which were quite good but the final market for the season was on the 11th September as that is when the contact ran out for the market place apparently. Bed was comfortable and air conditioner was working fine. Ok for a one night stay but nothing outstanding about this hotel.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is not a luxury hilton, and for most people, this is the first place they will stay in Alaska. It's easy to see how people's expectations are set way too high before arriving.

We only stayed one night before picking up the Hertz rental the next day and heading out of town. It is PERFECT for this type of stay. BTW: you will save huge $$ renting the car downtown. Anyway, the hotel is in the center of town, it's a quick cab ride from the airport, the rooms are ok, you might have a view. We got in very late and they kindly upgraded us to a suite.

The staff was really nice even though it was clear they bore the brunt of people's unrealistic expectations. I suspect anyone visiting at the END of their trip would be leaving nicer comments. We stayed at a different hotel on the way out which was similar quality, cheaper, but not as conveniently located.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I had great expectations for my hotels stay at this Anchorage Hilton.
I am sorry to say that the Hotel in no way met the standards of a 4 or 5 Star "Hilton" Hotel.
The Hotel definitely needs remodeling, and needs to and educate their staff on how to treat guests properly.
The $24 per day parking was a
ridiculous amount considering other hotels in the area gave free parking.
However, The location was absolutely great, and for this reason alone I "might" consider staying at this hotel again, but probably not.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

First of all we're locals for over 10yrs. Being a homeowner we've only stayed in hotels when we left the state on vacations etc.. Our 1st visit and we must come back, when the snow is thick. If your plan to visit Anchorage, the Hilton Hotel in the middle of downtown is a must. Don't forget when calling ahead to ask for Daniel Lind...He's the best. The Restaurant has a nice quiet atmoshpere with friendly service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife looked around for the best hotel she could find in Anchorage, at the best location and price. Anchorage was our stop-off point to take a Norwegian Cruise from Whittier to Vancouver and we were there two days in September. This hotel's listed rates are $149 a night, but my wife talked them down to $90. This hotel is well located, right downtown and within walking distance of everything. The room was comfortable, had everything we could need. This hotel is a bit below Hilton's reputation and usual standards, but way above any other hotel you will find in Anchorage. The paint was peeling around the door and the vanity in the bathroom. On previous occasions we have stayed at other much more marginal hotels at higher rates, so this one is acceptable considering it is in Anchorage and what else is available.. Make sure to have breakfast at the Snow City Cafe a few blocks away, but be prepared for an hour's wait to get a table, amazing breakfasts.

Room Tip: Exceptional views of downtown area from the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naalehu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The best part of the room was the really comfortable bed. The rest of it looked tired and not up to Hilton standards. The drapes were a struggle to close and were tattered. And we HAD to close them because our view was of the rooftop mechanical equipment. I would have requested a different room, but I was pretty tired and we were only there one night.

No free Internet in the rooms?????
$24 a day to park?????
$20 breakfast Buffett????

All those extra charges on top of an expensive room really turned me off. Glad we spent the next two nights at the 11th Avenue Bed and Breakfast (cheaper and much nicer).

Room Tip: The even numbered rooms on the third floor of the west tower look out at the rooftop mechanical equi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, General Manager at Hilton Anchorage, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and we apologize you were not aware of our parking and breakfast charges when you booked your stay. We have a wonderful location in the heart of downtown Anchorage and $24.00 for valet parking is a great deal. Self parking is available in nearby municipal parking lots for $1.00 per hour and is always an alternative option for our guests. We offer complimentary internet in the lobby for your convenience and our full American breakfast buffet is $19.50. You may also order off of the breakfast menu which may have fit your budget better. We hope you will give us a second chance if you visit our area in the future. Thank you again for your review.

Thank you,
Scott Doonan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Anchorage

Address: 500 West Third Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Anchorage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Anchorage hotel is a convenient ten-minute drive from Ted Stevens International Airport, and within walking distance of the Alaska Railroad Depot and Anchorage Convention District. Explore Anchorage's popular attractions including the Alaska Museum of History and Art, the Ulu Factory, Nordstrom and the Fifth Avenue Mall - all only two blocks from the hotel. Enjoy a comfortable stay in a stylish guest room featuring thoughtful amenities and high-speed internet access to help you stay connected with family and business. Dine in the inviting Hooper Bay Cafe and savor a variety of authentic Alaskan and American cuisine. Unwind in Bruin's Bar and catch up with the latest sports and news in this welcoming hotel bar. View the extensive Alaskan art collection in the lobby and enjoy a self-guided walking tour. Stay active during your stay with an energizing workout in the fitness center and refreshing swim in the indoor pool before unwinding in the steam room. Make business easy at the Hilton Anchorage hotel. Stay in touch with business in the 24-hour business center featuring a range of business friendly amenities and services. Our Anchorage hotel offers 20, 000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting and event space to easily accommodate business meetings, conventions, elegant weddings and special celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Hilton Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Anchorage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.