We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but a bit run down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Anchorage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Anchorage to your Saves list
Hilton Anchorage
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Third Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OK, but a bit run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton Anchorage for 5 nights while there on business. There are some plusses (the beds are comfortable, the staff is very warm and friendly) that I expected of a Hilton, and they delivered as expected. Unfortunately I was a bit surprised by the areas in which the hotel did not live up to the expectations I have of that brand. For one thing, the room was a bit tired: there were areas of water damage, the window was dirtier than I thought was possible, and the decor looked like it was planned in 1975. The other disappointment was the impression I got that they had not quite staffed up enough for their peak season.

Other things to be aware of, not necessarily good or bad, are:
- Internet is very expensive unless you are a gold member or have AT&T service at home (AT&T wireless service does not count).
- Parking is very expensive.
- The hotel was packed, mostly with cruise ship passengers, which gave the place something of a Boca Raton vibe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    243
    203
    99
    44
See reviews for
95
226
47
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, PA, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Checked into my 2 rooms at 1:00 a.m. and the rooms were not ready even though I called the hotel 1 week in advance to inform them of our late flight arrival. I further called the hotel when we landed to let them know we were on our way. The room still were not ready and one of the rooms, a smoker used before us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,GA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton Anchorage for several days before going to Kodiak. It was my first trip to Alaska. The hotel is in a great spot and you can walk everywhere downtown from it: the museum, the tourist office, great restaurants and the weekend fair is across the street. I went to the gym. It was immaculate and there is sufficient equipment and a pool for swimming laps.

I had the occasion to interact with the staff. After I had checked out, I realized I misplaced my Pandora bracelet and the staff was extremely helpful in helping me look for it. Joe of housekeeping and James the security guard both checked the room I was in and Scott the manager even emailed me twice to check to see if I had found my bracelet. Which I did - in my new backpack in a tiny pocket I had overlooked. They staff exceeded my expectations in helping me.

Room Tip: The gym is on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have stayed at several hotels in Alaska over the last few years and this is a great hotel. I had a great few of the mountains and everything was very clean and everyone was very accomdating. I will defintely stay at the Hilton in Anchorage again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

First the pros - the beds were very comfortable here, the valet folks and restaurant staff were nice, and the gym is modern and the location is good. The cable selection was "ok" (hey, at least there was HBO).

However, for the price and considering the fact that very few amenities are included (no free internet or breakfast - and very pricy breakfast options at the restaurant, $24 valet parking only), I did not find this hotel adequate and will not go back.

For one, my room was only serviced TWICE during the week I stayed! The second night I was there, they came sometime between 6 and 8 pm (I stopped in at 5 to change for dinner and it was still messy), which is very late. Especially paying over $200 per night. The third night, no one came. At 9pm, I called the desk and asked what the problem was. They said my room must have been overlooked and offered to come up right away to clean but by then I wanted to go to bed. I asked that they just send someone up with a fresh coffee cup (I had no more, since they are single use and no one was in my room to replace them) and asked that they please make sure to come the next day, earlier than 5pm if possible. Someone came up 30 minutes later with the cup, which seemed pretty slow since I was literally waiting so that I could go to bed (jet lag...). Fourth day - no service at all, again. This time I did call late in the evening and make them come up and clean, because the trash was beginning to smell. Fifth day, no service, again. I called to find out what the problem was - they said it was busy season, all the rooms were booked, and they were understaffed. That's understandable except they are also charging through the nose for high season and, honestly, that is not my problem. One of the few things I expect from a hotel is that they clean the room. Sixth day, arrive back at 4pm, no service. I put the DND sign up, so I have no idea if they would have ever gotten to or not. So in all, 2 nights out of the 5 (not counting the night I checked in), even after complaining. Please note that the room info says that sheets are cleaned on the 3rd day - no one ever changed my sheets all week.

Second, as other reviewers noted, the street noises and the train are audible, at least from my room in the Anchorage Tower. Also the AC turned on with a long sequence of thumping that made me think the ducts were going to fall from the ceiling.

These are all things that I'd be fine with in a cheaper hotel, but not for the price of this Hilton.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, General Manager at Hilton Anchorage, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
First of all, thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet expectations and we are actively working with our housekeeping team to ensure our standards of cleanliness and comfort are consistently met. I understand the condition of your guest room was of concern, and I thank you for bringing the housekeeping issues you encountered to my attention. I will keep your review in mind as we constantly look towards refresh options. Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to give us a second chance the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The food was good, but rooms felt like I was staying in a older hotel. Also this train is loud and can be heard from the Anchorage tower room. Valet was good but took a while to get your vehicle. The breakfast in the cafe was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchburg, New Jersey
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We arrived at about 4:30 in the evening; however, because I had to have the feather pillows exchanged, we did not get into our room until 6:30. Due to allergies I requested to have all the feather products removed from the room. In addition, upon entering the room, I was overcome by a very strong room deodorizer or air freshener. Due to an environmental allergy, I requested another room and upon talking with the evening manager and housekeeping supervisor, I was informed that this air freshener is used in all rooms. I was given an alternate room in which the fragrance was not as bad; however, we had to keep the window open during our entire stay. I also left notes in the room each day reminding the housekeepers to not use the air freshener in our room. My concern or question was, “just what odors are they trying to mask with the air freshener?”
We had a lovely view of the mountains from our room; however, the window was so dirty that we couldn’t get a clear view of the mountains.
The executive lounge is open from breakfast on Monday morning through breakfast on Friday morning. Breakfast is served in the morning and appetizers and desert are served in the evening. The staff in the executive lounge is friendly and the food selection is very good; however, we found it very frustrating that the lounge is closed during the weekend. On the weekend we had the breakfast buffet in the café in the lobby where the food selection was varied, the food was tasty, and the service was exceptional.
Since this hotel had many tourists during the summer months there were couple of other items that I found of interest. One, there was no concierge available in the hotel and second, postage stamps for postcards were not available for sale in the hotel.
The fitness center has several treadmills and elliptical machines and one reclining bicycle. They have some weight equipment. The center is spacious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, General Manager at Hilton Anchorage, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. I’m sorry we were not able to provide you with a satisfactory experience during your recent stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback. The smell you experienced is actually a standard Hilton room freshener which we use. I apologize your allergies kept you from being able to enjoy it.
The club lounge is only open on the weekdays and we will seriously take your comments into consideration.

Thank you again and we hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Anchorage

Address: 500 West Third Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Anchorage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Anchorage hotel is a convenient ten-minute drive from Ted Stevens International Airport, and within walking distance of the Alaska Railroad Depot and Anchorage Convention District. Explore Anchorage's popular attractions including the Alaska Museum of History and Art, the Ulu Factory, Nordstrom and the Fifth Avenue Mall - all only two blocks from the hotel. Enjoy a comfortable stay in a stylish guest room featuring thoughtful amenities and high-speed internet access to help you stay connected with family and business. Dine in the inviting Hooper Bay Cafe and savor a variety of authentic Alaskan and American cuisine. Unwind in Bruin's Bar and catch up with the latest sports and news in this welcoming hotel bar. View the extensive Alaskan art collection in the lobby and enjoy a self-guided walking tour. Stay active during your stay with an energizing workout in the fitness center and refreshing swim in the indoor pool before unwinding in the steam room. Make business easy at the Hilton Anchorage hotel. Stay in touch with business in the 24-hour business center featuring a range of business friendly amenities and services. Our Anchorage hotel offers 20, 000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting and event space to easily accommodate business meetings, conventions, elegant weddings and special celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hilton Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Hilton Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Anchorage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.