We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Anchorage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Anchorage to your Saves list
Hilton Anchorage
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Third Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The only regret about staying at this hotel – not being able to stay longer. Unfortunately, we only spent one night during our Cruise/Tour of Alaska, returning from Denali National Park / getting ready to take the cruise train from Anchorage to Seward to board the cruise. The room was beautifully appointed, nothing but quality furniture, bed linen and coffee. The view from our room was absolutely spectacular. We had large windows covering two walls almost entirely, thus had the view of the mountains until late at night. Down below we were able to see the hustle and bustle of activity at the local market.

We were somewhat disappointed about not being able to access the Internet; however, all we had to do was ask the front desk staff. WiFi was free and all that was needed was a code.

We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and were not disappointed; particularly the breakfast buffet had great selection of items at a reasonable price ($40/two).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    221
    189
    95
    41
See reviews for
90
209
41
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Excellent hotel. Very convenient location in downtown area. Were given good suggestions for eating and shopping.All services very well done. Bellmen most accommodating in giving directions for return of rental car.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Pole, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

OK hotel-Payed a lot and valet was expensive. I guess I expected more from the Hilton since I payed $200 a night. I booked the room for an entire week and figured I would have gotten a discount for that. No hot tub in the "spa" and the buffet was $20 a person just for breakfast. I don't like the railroad being right across the street, I got to wake up to their trains sounding off every morning at 6 AM.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Hotel was centrally located...close to shops and restaurants; 2 blocks from the train station. The staff was extremely attentive and friendly! Everything was clean and comfortable. We had a wonderful stay while in Anchorage.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
194 hotel reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton in Anchorage for a long birthday weekend. It was centrally located in downtown Anchorage and being that it was a weekend, there was generally free meter spaces around so we were able to avoid paying for parking. The hotel was a bit of a zoo in the morning as it seems like it is a popular spot with the cruise ship "turn" days as both were a bit crazy in terms of breakfast time.

The staff were very friendly and helpful in terms of providing information and suggestions of what to do outside of Anchorage and the restaurant staff was also very attentive.

The hotel is showing a little wear but still plenty comfortable and clean. The higher floors have nice views of the inlet and the surrounding mountains. The workout room is also pretty spacious and has decent views (though on a much lower floor).

Since summer is the high season and the weekends are super busy, the rates are a little high (for what you are getting) but was nice to be central vs. staying out a little further (and not saving much) so would recommend a central location even with a car.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our cruise ship booked the hotel and we stayed one night. Not sure why anyone would visit the city of Anchorage as a tourist - the downtown is not attractive and seems kind of lifeless. Our double room was perfectly fine - especially the bathroom which was fairly new and clean. The room itself was showing some obvious wear although it was also clean. The lobby bar was nicely lit and the bartender was friendly (drinks are expensive). We really enjoyed our buffet breakfast in the morning - many choices and well prepared food. A good stay but certainly not memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here as part of a cruise/tour. Got off on the wrong foot - we had asked HAL to call ahead from Denali to ensure that we had sufficient beds for 3 travellers. When arrived only 2 beds, went to reception and said we had asked HAL to call ahead and they had confirmed we would have 3 beds - the lady at reception said quite sarcastically "they say they called ahead, but they probably didn't " I then advised her I was present when the call was made - we then received an extra bed. Nothing stand out about this hotel, service and rooms average. The breakfast buffet was much to busy and we ended up with a bagel from Starbucks in the lobby. Good location for walking to nearby shops and restaurants. Room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Anchorage

Address: 500 West Third Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Anchorage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular hotels in Anchorage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Hilton Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Anchorage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.