We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - Great Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Anchorage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Anchorage to your Saves list
Hilton Anchorage
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Third Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Hotel - Great Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is the best Hilton hotel we have ever stayed at in regards to customer service and management involvement. I have stayed at many Hilton’s around the world but I can't ever remember when so many managers and staff members ask how our stay was going and was there anything they can do to make your stay better. That is great customer service. They made you feel welcome and loved having you stay at the Anchorage Hilton. It was the kind of customer service and management involvement I wish every Hilton would copy.
The hotel itself was nice and in a good location. It was clean and secure as what I would expect from a well run Hilton. The breakfast buffet was good along with the service. The front desk staff went the extra mile to make our stay at the Anchorage Hilton a memorable event. The hotel had a nice gym with better and average equipment for a hotel gym.
I sent an email to the Hilton’s Customer Service a few days before our arrival requesting a room upgrade and when we arrived they upgraded us to a very nice room on the 22nd floor with a great view. Also the front desk breakfast gave us for two days because I mention to them before I retired from the federal government I would only stay at Hiltons and I was a Hilton Diamond member. That was unexpected but a very nice touch.
Another good idea customer service item that caught our attention was having food (Club Sandwiches) in our room that we ordered on the Hilton’s internet a couple days in advance be there when we arrived. They were in the room and were good to eat after such a long trip from Washington DC.
Yes I would recommend and stay there again if I ever had another opportunity to visit Anchorage, AK.
This hotel is a must stay when in Anchorage.

Room Tip: Contact them before you arrive if your looking for a room upgrade, I room on a high floor has the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    243
    203
    99
    44
See reviews for
95
226
47
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bemidji, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay here 2 times in 10 days. It was wonderful!! I had a room in the Anchorage tower at the top. Lovely rooms with nice amenities. The staff was wonderful, especially the bellhops!! They were polite and very quick!! The hotel only offers valet parking. It can get expensive if you are there awhile. We had an event rate which helped. The serve Starbucks coffee in the lobby! Beds were comfortable and the rooms were nicely sized. My views were excellent!! Every request was handled immediately. Will go back when ever I can. Right downtown and easy to find places to eat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldotna, Alaska
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The room was clean and smallish. TV was nice flat screen. View was to die for of the inlet, sunset and Alaska range. The workout room was the best I have seen in a hotel in Anchorage with a lot of cardio a space. The pool was clean and the warmest most comfortable I have seen in Anchorage also. Location was convenient as the conference was in the building and walking easy to many downtown restaurants. Negatives were paying for parking and walking to the hotel from the lot. We luckily didnt use the internet but to charge for that in this day and age is pathetic. Food prices in the lobby were outrageous also.

Room Tip: Any upper floor rooms have great views!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed here for a conference and it was an adequate hotel. Nothing stands out as exceptional, but the room was clean and the staff extremely polite and helpful. It is evident that this hotel is aging and struggling to keep up with the times but I cannot complain about anything in particular. I frequently stay at a Marriott and even in the older Marriott hotels, they seem to have done a better job at keeping the look fresh and the hotel up to date.

The room was very nice - I had requested a King but received two Doubles. They offered to change it for me but I liked the location and view from the room so I kept it. The bathroom is standard - tub and shower with nice water pressure. Unlike most of the pictures I have seen of these rooms, mine had a great flat panel TV that worked well. Otherwise, the room was just another hotel room... nothing to truly set it apart from the rest.

I did not eat at the hotel, but did have drinks with my colleagues in the hotel bar. Service was extremely nice and fast. Valet parking was $24 per day which I felt to be a little pricey but the service was fast and friendly.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay - great location and friendly hotel staff. Not the best hotel I've ever stayed in but far from the worst!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Although this hotel is located in a downscale section of Anchorage, I felt very safe. The security is excellent as are the services. This hotel has a great business center, good dining services at different levels and was very clean!\

Room Tip: West Tower-the fitness center is there so you don't have to walk through the lobby in your post...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I recently stayed at the Anchorage Hilton for a conference. Helpful check-in staff, room was clean, and the location served me well while in town. I had a room up on the 19th floor which provided a great view of the water and mountains beyond. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try a higher floor in the Anchorage tower for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow, Alaska
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

No breakfast, no shuttle and EXTRA $13 for internet per day. Also nothing special about room except how high up you can be. Not worth the extra money PLUS all the extras like internet, breakfast and taxi ride - not worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olesea v, Front Office Manager at Hilton Anchorage, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear valued guest,

We would like to apologize for your experience at our property. Unfortunately we don't provide any transportation to or from airport. And It's a Hilton standard to charge for internet. We definitely apologize for any inconvenience and we would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade for your next stay and free WI-fi. Please, don't hesitate to contact me via email or phone, if there is anything else i can do for you.
Please, accept our apology again and thank you for choosing Hilton.

Olesea Velesco
Front Office manager
olesea.velesco@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Anchorage

Address: 500 West Third Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Anchorage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Anchorage hotel is a convenient ten-minute drive from Ted Stevens International Airport, and within walking distance of the Alaska Railroad Depot and Anchorage Convention District. Explore Anchorage's popular attractions including the Alaska Museum of History and Art, the Ulu Factory, Nordstrom and the Fifth Avenue Mall - all only two blocks from the hotel. Enjoy a comfortable stay in a stylish guest room featuring thoughtful amenities and high-speed internet access to help you stay connected with family and business. Dine in the inviting Hooper Bay Cafe and savor a variety of authentic Alaskan and American cuisine. Unwind in Bruin's Bar and catch up with the latest sports and news in this welcoming hotel bar. View the extensive Alaskan art collection in the lobby and enjoy a self-guided walking tour. Stay active during your stay with an energizing workout in the fitness center and refreshing swim in the indoor pool before unwinding in the steam room. Make business easy at the Hilton Anchorage hotel. Stay in touch with business in the 24-hour business center featuring a range of business friendly amenities and services. Our Anchorage hotel offers 20, 000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting and event space to easily accommodate business meetings, conventions, elegant weddings and special celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Hilton Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Anchorage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.