We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Hampton in Anchorage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Anchorage

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Anchorage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Anchorage
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4301 Credit Union Dr, Anchorage, AK 99503 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA members save 10%
Ranked #6 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
GreenLeadersSilver level
Corpus Christi, United States
1 review
“Great stay at Hampton in Anchorage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Very neat, clean facility. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Their shuttle service will take you to/from the airport and even get you downtown. For us, this saved us having to take a taxi everywhere. They have a nice fitness facility, and the pool was super. They even paid attention to the fact that in the summer you need VERY dark shades to keep the late night and early morning sun out of the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enuh V, Manager at Hampton Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a Trip Advisor Survey of your stay. I apologize for the delay in response for I am the Task Force General Manager watching over the hotel.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I will certainly pass this information on to our staff.
Hope to see you with us again soon
Kimberly Gonzales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    94
    30
    9
    12
See reviews for
59
70
22
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Anchorage can surprise you with attractions and food expenses, so keeping the hotel expenses under control is very wise. You need evaluate a place always against your requirements/expectations. Besides, since beginning, I was sure would expend few time in the hotel, with so many opportunities outside. The hotel had a mission (and sometimes a challenge to many places!) to deliver a nice bed and shower and, if possible, a decent breakfast (there is always a coffee shop outside!). Well, the Hampton Inn Anchorage succeeded: the bed-shower-breakfast was reasonable, with the breakfast may be dragging down the overall grade. Don’t wait too much of the breakfast, even if they serve the standard eggs, bagels and hot coffee. The bed-shower follows the chain’s standards, which also includes free internet, free parking and a hot water pool and Jacuzzi. ON top of this, ahe staff was really good, even if we need little assistance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Nice lobby, free breakfast. Rooms just OK. Cleanliness of hotel, especially pool and bathroom, below par. Location is some distance from down-town but shuttle to-from Visitor Center or Anchorage Museum was efficient and helpful. Staff at front desk were pleasant but locals (staff friends / family?) appeared to be allowed to use the pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your review,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed at the hotel in May of this year. Loved the free cookies at the front desk. Hotel is nicely located near several Restuarants, Wal-Mart and the theater. Front Desk was very welcoming and rooms were clean. Not far from downtown or the airport. Was a great stay and will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enuh V, Manager at Hampton Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a Trip Advisor Survey of your stay. I apologize for the delay in response for I am the Task Force General Manager watching over the hotel.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I will certainly pass this information on to our staff.
Hope to see you with us again soon
Kimberly Gonzales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This place is below average for a Hampton Inn. We would have given it 2 stars but the courtesy, professional, welcoming nature of the night auditor (sorry didn't get his name) increased our rating to 3 stars.

Pros:
*The place looks nice from the outside.
*The lobby & breakfast area were modern & comfortable.
*Staff overall were friendly (except for our housekeeper who was annoyed that we weren't leaving at 10:30 & wanted to stay until our noon check-out time)
*Breakfast was decent, same as usual

Cons:
*Outdated microwave & refrigerator looked like they were at least 20 years old. (almond colored with brown trim dials.)
*Outdated light switch (almond colored with timer dial)
*Outdated furniture (dark wood laminate)
*Bed seemed old as it sunk down when we sat or laid on it.
*Sofa had many dark stains.
*Sticky carpet when walking barefoot so we put on socks, which turned blackish brown.
*Post it note on headboard handwritten to tell us the duvet & sheets were cleaned
*They ran out of pillows. Our son had to sleep with a pillow case filled with a folded up blanket.
*Door latch screw was loose. Every time someone walked by, it would rattle which woke us up numerous times. We tried to fix it but the hole was too big & worn which meant it wasn't tight enough for safety.

Our biggest disappointment is that we called at 6:30PM to say our flight was delayed with no estimated departure at that time & we knew we wouldn't arrive until after 1:30AM. We asked that our room wouldn't be given away because that happened to us at a different Hampton Inn in the past. We were assured that our room was already assigned to us & we were fine. We arrived at 3AM to find out that our reserved room (2 queen beds for the 3 of us) was given away. The only room left in the sold out hotel had a king bed with a sofa bed on the first floor, across the hall from the fitness room & swimming pool. Things got worse upon the condition of our room (see notes above). Thank goodness the night auditor who was a caring sensitive man. Otherwise I would have broken down in tears from the exhaustion & stress of the entire day/experience.

I would not return to or recommend this hotel. There are many other options nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. The hotel is under new management and I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights in June 2013. Decent hotels with good breakfast and friendly staff. The hotel is clean and well maintained. The location is convenient, approximately 10 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at a lot of hamptons and this one is SO so....
Room wa kinda small and on the tired side, beds too soft, room was clean breakfast standard, all in all a pretty standard Hampton maybe a bit on the lower spectrum the price was not worth it

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, The hotel is under new management and we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Anchorage

Address: 4301 Credit Union Dr, Anchorage, AK 99503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#8 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Anchorage 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Anchorage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.