We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in Anchorage” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Anchorage

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Anchorage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Anchorage
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4301 Credit Union Dr, Anchorage, AK 99503 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA members save 10%
Ranked #6 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in Anchorage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is a three-minute drive from the airport. The rooms are large, the beds are comfortable and the hotel is overall clean. The only things I could complain about are the satellite TV reception was terrible -- seems to be a theme across Anchorage, and maybe not just a problem unique to the Hampton Inn-- but TV channels would appear and disappear nearly every minute, and the wireless internet signal was not a lot more stable. Also, the tub in our bathroom was in need of a major rehaul, but the rest of the room was modern, clean and cozy. The breakfast being included was a nice perk, though the gluten-free options were limited. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you canadagrl77 for taking the time to offer your thoughts and experiences. I'm excited to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our local Cable provider been contacted to investigate any signal issues. Thank you for informing us. Our breakfast at Hampton is one that our guest's thoroughly enjoy. I am happy you were able to refuel before a big day in Alaska!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    94
    30
    9
    12
See reviews for
59
70
22
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

I've been a Hilton Honors Diamond member for years and this hotel is very consistent with other Hamptons I have stayed at throughout the lower 48. Price is in line with the cost of hotels in Anchorage, although the rooms were a bit smaller than most other Hamptons I've stayed at. Service was excellent, staff are friendly and they even have fresh baked cookies in the evening. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Only complaint I had was not getting an upgrade offered as a Diamond member, even though the hotel wasn't fully booked. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you Labsnbeagels for offering your comments. We strive to offer our Guest's a consistent experience across the Hampton brand. No matter where you may be, at Hampton, you always know what to expect. I do apologize for not being able to offer you an upgrade. When returning to Anchorage, please contact me directly so we may better serve you. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

All the Hampton Inn associates at the Anchorage location were very friendly, welcoming, and helpful. I want to mention Julii Sutherland and Enuh Velegg who were especially helpful to us in locating a pharmacy near by and in getting to our next stop to begin a Holland America tour. The free breakfast buffet was great, and our experience at this Hampton Inn was outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Our Hampton Team thanks you for leaving a review on our Hotel. Our team loves to hear our guest's experiences and know that they were able to make our guest's stay even more enjoyable. Thank you A C D!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is a great small hotel, actually a motel, but with a high class feel. Exceptionally bright front desk people, large, clean rooms, and a knockout free breakfast. Exceeded my expectations at the price. Close to the airport and the cheaper off airport EZ Car Rental office but just 5 minutes from downtown. Gets my highest rating as a critical traveler.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
This is why we do what we do! Reviews like yours, Bob J drive us to deliver Hamptonality to every single person who walks through our doors. Our Hampton team, our clean rooms and our "knockout free breakfast" are why our guest's return time after time. Thank you for offering your comments Bob J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyesville, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We love to stay at Hampton Inn because the level of comfort, cleanliness and amenities are consistent. The Anchorage Hampton Inn is actually above the other Hamptons we have stayed in. From the greeting left in our room upon arrival to the cookies in the evening (and on the weekends--we were told by one Hampton that they only did cookies during the week). Staff was friendly, helpful, and genuinely seemed happy to have us staying with them.

One thing: We had a king bed during our first two nights (requested & reserved online) but then after a two-day break we were put in a two queen-sized bed room. I don't know if I should have made a point of requesting a king bed but when I did on our final return to the Anchorage Hampton Inn I was told there wasn't a king bed available. A guy checking in at the same time was getting a king bed and said we could have his room. All was great with us.....except we learned he got a king bed room (which was his original room) too. So what was up with that? I don't like to be forced into a room with two queen-sizeds (me & my husband traveling together) when clearly a king-sized bed was available. If this is a practice in the hotel industry because king beds are somehow easier to rent then I'm disappointed in that practice.

But, this Hampton Inn had a wonderful lady who fixed the breakfasts, Tela at the desk was exceptional, as were others. We will continue to stay at Hampton Inns but will make a point of requesting king-sized beds.

Room Tip: Be specific about bed size (I guess).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you Sharon E. for taking the time to leave a review on our Hotel. I look forward to sharing your comments with our team. I know they'll be excited to hear your words of praise! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed one night on June 15th.the area was safe. The hotel was newer. On the room...The carpet was dirty and sticky. There was no shower curtain in the bathroom and did not notice until we were unpacked. We did shower anyway and used the wet towels to clean up the water. At least the bathroom floor was clean! The water did not drain from the tub and was ankle deep before shower was complete. I did report all of these deficiencies to the the check out desk!!

they had a great breakfast but it would have been more pleasant in a with a clean carpet and attention to detail (bathroom) for the price paid!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you Sue M for taking the time to review our property. We praise all our travelers who offer feedback. We want to ensure each and every one of our guests receives a clean comfortable room and on behalf of our Hotel, I offer our apologies. Our breakfast, like you said, is Great! With eggs, bacon, fresh fruit, waffles and much more, you'll find we off something for everyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We spent one night, July 12, 2012, at this Hampton. We like to stay at Hamptons and this met our expectations. The staff was very nice and helpful. We were taking the train on Friday July 13th to Seward and the staff was very helpful with information and the shuttle. I always say you can't go wrong with a Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you TheVicster for offering your feedback. Our Hampton team prides itself on offering our travelers great service. Whether it be where to eat, or what to see, our team can offer a variety of information to suit all of our guests. That's Hampton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Anchorage

Address: 4301 Credit Union Dr, Anchorage, AK 99503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#7 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#8 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Anchorage 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Anchorage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.