We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location, average digs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Anchorage

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Anchorage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Anchorage
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4301 Credit Union Dr, Anchorage, AK 99503 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA members save 10%
Ranked #8 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
GreenLeadersSilver level
State College, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“nice location, average digs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I spent four nights here in August with my husband and two children after extensive research on various lodging possibilities. The problem in Anchorage (and most of Alaska in the summer) is that everything is twice as expensive, at least, as it should be. And Anchorage doesn't have a lot of great places to stay, particularly for families. Overall I think it wasn't a bad choice. The staff is great, the location a short walk to everything interesting in downtown Anchorage, and there is easy access to biking trails. We walked downtown at least once a day, sometimes twice. I likes the extra room the suites provided, and the free breakfast was at least economical (although two mornings a cruise ship group crowded the area). The pool area was extremely depressing- dank and gloomy, in my opinion, but my kids loved it. The rest of the hotel was fairly budget, but for the most part clean. To be honest, were this Hampton Inn anywhere else, I would give it a very harsh review, but again, for Alaska, it wasn't bad. I think, including a work-related discount, we paid $230/night. Ouch.

Room Tip: All the rooms are about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    102
    34
    12
    12
See reviews for
65
80
24
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We spent one night here after arriving on a late night flight from Chicago.
The staff were incredibly friendly, warm and welcoming.
The room was very nice and the hotel was very quiet.
They also had a nice, diverse breakfast buffet in the morning.
Would stay there again and would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMANCAK, General Manager at Hampton Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Hi There !

Thanks for staying with and for taking the time to post your review. Feedback and comments are extremely important to us, I ll be sure to pass yours along to our staff. Hope your travels went well. Look forward to seeing you next time you stay with us .

Take care

Andre Giannandrea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We were delighted with our stay at this hotel. The lobby is very welcoming, especially in the cold Alaska weather. All employees, from the front desk to the shuttle drivers to the housekeepers, were friendly and polite. Our rooms were comfortable and clean. There was a good variety of breakfast items, hot and cold, and the menu varied each day (however, waffles were ALWAYS available). This hotel offers a shuttle which provides transportation to the airport as well as downtown. The downtown shuttle was particularly helpful because it would be quite a hike to walk there from this hotel. Shuttle service was always prompt and the drivers were consistently helpful in answering questions about the area. There is a new WalMart Superstore which is just opening nearby and it would be a reasonable walk to get there (but not in the winter). We didn't use the pool; but the temperature felt very comfortable when i dipped my toe in it. And of course, as everyone else has mentioned, those warm fresh baked cookies in the afternoon were a definite asset. Although it is not conveniently located to downtown, this is a good choice for a stay in Anchorage.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tami L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
Hi There !

Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to post a review , I m glad you had a great experience with us. I ll be sure to pass your comments and feedback along to the team. We take all comments and feedback very seriously ! ,

Thanks again, look forward to having you with us soon

Andre Giannandrea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I were traveling to Alaska and met up with our daughter. Because our flights arrived at different times, we were looking for a hotel not too far from the airport. The car rental agency person mentioned there was a Hampton Inn nearby, so we were sold immediately.

We called to confirm the rate, AAA rate that is and pulled up minutes later. Our room on the 3rd floor was fine, with 2 beds, for the 3 of us. The person a the desk, a native Alaskan was helpful in giving us ideas for dinner and activities as well.

The room was clean, comfortably warm after their first snow of the season, and breakfast the next morning was excellent.

No complaints from us. Always recommend Hampton for traveling. You always know what you're getting.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tami L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
Hi Terri,

Thanks for chosing us for your stay in Anchorage, I ve passed your comments and experience on to our team. We very much value our guests feedback for training and improvement purposes. Thanks again, hopefully the weather is a bit better for you on your next visit.

look forward to having you stay with us again.

Andre Giannandrea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed here on Sept. 21,2011. We were welcomed by friendly staff and great cookies(nice touch).The room was clean,bright and had all of the amenities we needed. The pool was wonderful as well as the internet service. Breakfast was very good with fresh fruit, baked goods and waffles. Every staff person we saw was friendly and welcoming. The van service (free) from the airport and into downtown was efficient and convient. This was a real plus. Resturants are close and accessable. We would come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMANCAK, General Manager at Hampton Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Hi There,

Thank you for staying with and for taking the time to post a review. I m glad to see you had a good experience. I ll pass your feedback on to our department leaders. Thanks again, look forward to seeing you next time.

Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

This hotel was a great price for the amenities Even though other reviewers found the pool cold and the staff rude, I found the staff to be incredibly nice and accommodating and always greeting you with a smile. The pool was warm and the hot tub was great. The breakfast was very filling with many things to choose from including omelets, waffles, fresh fruit, etc. The room was very clean, quiet and the beds were awesome. One of the best night's sleep I've ever had at a hotel and I've stayed in many five star hotels. Newspapers everyday and cookies and coffee also. What a bargain. If I travel to Anchorage again, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tami L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Hi There,

Thanks for staying with us, and for taking the time to post a review, we very much value the feedback of our guests. I glad to see you had a good experience here at the Hampton Anchorage, look forward to seeing you next time !

Thanks again

Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We needed a place in Anchorage for one night, after our friends' wedding. We got Hampton Inn on a budget travel site. It was clean, but by no means nice. Less than attentive staff. But, all in all, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tami L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for staying with us! I am sorry that you found our staff less than attentive! We truly strive to provide excellent Guest Service, and I apologize that you did not receive that! Please feel free to contact me direct at the hotel with any specific issues that you experienced, as I utilize these Guest comments as training material, in order to improve our service to our guests! 907-550-7000

We love having you with us!

Tami Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Anchorage

Address: 4301 Credit Union Dr, Anchorage, AK 99503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#7 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Anchorage 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Anchorage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.