We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not family friendly, OK for singles” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Merrill Field Inn

Merrill Field Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Merrill Field Inn to your Saves list
Merrill Field Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Sitka St., Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 69 Hotels in Anchorage
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not family friendly, OK for singles”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

First off let me say that the desk staff, Mike in particular, were very nice & extremely friendly. My key didn't work & AC wasn't hooked up when I checked in & both were remedied immediately & with a smile. Fabulous service. The rooms are LARGE! The kitchenette is a nice bonus. Everything inside the rooms is clean. That's where this review stops being nice. If that's all that matters to you, then this is the place for you! Regular summer rate $165/nt Military rate $113/nt. I stayed one night. I counted no less than 3 "transactions" taking place in the parking lot, 2 "by-the-hour room service" incidents (from the below-mentioned adult establishments, no doubt) and several glimpses into rooms where it's clear that folks actually LIVE in this motel. One of the desk clerks was fitted with an ankle monitoring device, no kidding! It's the kind of place where if you're young & traveling on a limited budget you'd stay, but with a family, it's just wiser to move on to a branded more established chain where these kinds of things don't happen & you won't become a statistic.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Front Desk Clerk at Merrill Field Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for your honest review. We at Merrill Field Inn appreciate any feedback you may have to give us, and we'll attempt to fix any problems you may have with our establishment.

Unfortunately, the problems with our location are not ones that we've been able to do much about. We have tried to keep most of that seedy element from encroaching onto our property, but it has been difficult and we've only had partial success. I'm sorry that we were not able to complete fix this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    6
    10
    20
See reviews for
10
15
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Searsport, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Driving across the country, starting in Searsport Maine to Anchorage I had many experiences and levels of service. Everyone at the Merrill Field Inn went above and beyond my expiations and travel experiences. I’m 91 years old and have stayed in many hotels across the country and the world. I strongly recommend you make this stop to see what true hospitality is.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Front Desk Clerk at Merrill Field Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We hope you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We spent two days here after a horrible experience some where else. The staff is friendly and they provide all the things stated. The rooms were as discribed. Newly remodeled clean fresh rooms. They know how to treat their guests. If you have any questions the staff is very knowledged about the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Front Desk Clerk at Merrill Field Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We hope you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

hotel was barely ok, wifi didn't work so had to get cat5 cable. Hotel and parking lot were very dirty and run down, cigarette smells all over, abandoned storage car in parking lot, shuttle service to downtown Anchorage was very nice, however, had to call cab to get back to hotel since the shuttle was "out."

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Front Desk Clerk at Merrill Field Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We here at Merrill Field Inn would like to apologize for the sub-standard service you received and any other problems that you may have encountered during your stay at the hotel back in June of 2012.
The Merrill Field Inn is now under new management and we are making strides to greatly improve the room, property and service for our customers. All of our rooms are being completely remodeled including new Flat panel TVs, new furniture, beds and much more. All of our rooms are now Non-Smoking with a $250.00 cleaning fee for anyone caught smoking in our rooms. The house keeping staff has been changed a couple of times since your visit, and the current staff is doing a much better job of keeping the rooms clean and tidy than the previous staff. Along with new management, new friendly staff have been added to assist in the comfort and enjoyment of our guests.
As for the neighborhood, The nearby showgirl clubs were closed by the Municipality of Anchorage last year. However they have recently been reopened and are under great scrutiny by the Anchorage Police. So far we have had no incidents caused by their presence as before.
Value is always an important issue for our customers. With the new improvements and remodeling of our hotel we are comparably priced with other hotel with the same features and amenities including a free shuttle service for our guests. It is our hope that you will return to the Merrill Field Inn and at least check out the noticeable differences.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glade Spring, Va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We spent two nights at the Merrill Field Inn on a recent trip to Anchorage and found it to be most comfortable. Our room as spacious and clean. The manager was friendly and most helpful in recommending places to visit. The shuttle service was excellent and very timely. Paul, one of the drivers, was most helpful and well versed in the Anchorage area. Although this is an older motel, it is well kept up and very affordable in a town with very high hotel rates in the summer. We would definitely stay again should we return to Anchorage.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Front Desk Clerk at Merrill Field Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for the positive review! I hope you choose to stay with us the next time you are visiting Anchorage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

The room we got was clean and looked newly remodeled. Nice flat screen TV with microwave and small refer. We had a nice view of the small airport and could watch the planes landing and taking off. The noise level was what you would expect from a road side motel, we had no problem. The staff was helpful and the Chinese restaurant next to the motel was good. All in all it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Front Desk Clerk at Merrill Field Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you very much for the good review. We are trying very hard to fix our old (and at the time, very much deserved) reputation, and every good review helps do that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

This place is a very basic older motel, but it is a fine place to crash for a night - especially if you are flying in/out of Merrill Field. Our room was clean, and the free shuttle from the main airport (Ted Stevens) was a huge plus. The hotel has apparently been renovated since most of the negative reviews on here were written. I think the management has also changed, according to someone I called at the chamber of commerce. Considering that the Hampton Inn wanted $250 for the same night, this place was a good value at about $120. It's true that there is an adult entertainment bar across the street, but I did not hear or see any of its patrons so it really didn't bother me.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Front Desk Clerk at Merrill Field Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you very much for the good review. We are trying very hard to fix our old (and at the time, well deserved) reputation and every review in our favor helps us do that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merrill Field Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrill Field Inn

Address: 420 Sitka St., Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 69 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Merrill Field Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Merrill Field Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrill Field Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merrill Field Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.