We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Dive!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 L St, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Bloomingdale, OH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a Dive!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in August 2013. Reminded me right off, of low income housing buildings. Thought I would see Cock Roaches scurrying. Half of the building is permanent residents, so in a sense it is. Mattresses were old and collapsed in center Advertised Wifi, that was non-existent. The Staff was friendly, management were horrible. I booked this hotel through Hotwire and was belittled at check in for it. Called hotwire and complained but what can they do. I would not recommend this to my enemies.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
rockonrrt,

Thank you so much for your review. It is a common misconception that due to the age of our building it is not clean. I can assure you that is incorrect, we take great pride in the cleanliness of our facility. Additionally, we are always looking for ways to improve our guest satisfaction and welcome constructive criticism. Again, we apologize that your stay was not as you expected and we wish you all the best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    90
    93
    54
    63
See reviews for
67
110
42
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has beds that I would expect to see in the Salvation Army with urine stains on them.
The blankets are disgusting and filthy. The room and the hotel itself stinks and is malodorous. "Pew".
Please please please DO NOT MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE AS I DID AND WASTE YOUR MONEY HERE JUST TO BE LET DOWN AND FEEL BAD.
My wife is now mad at me for bringing her here and exposing her to this lousy dump.
Go elsewhere or sleep in a car or the park but do NOT stay here unless you want to punish yourself.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville, Georgia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

For $165/nt. we and two other couples stayed here in June, 2013. Each couple had a suite overlooking the inlet on upper floors with great views. The hotel is older, but is refurbished, clean, and comfortable. End suites are larger than center suites, but all have small kitchens and dining areas. Service was excellent. They provided my husband with a wheelchair throughout our visit, and have free shuttles to downtown and the airport. Nothing fancy, but a good alternative if you don't want to pay much higher rates at name-brand hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Ruth P.,

Thank you so much for your review. We pride ourselves on our guest service and I am very pleased to hear we met and exceeded your expectations. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotels in Alaska are expensive and in Anchorage are even more. But this hotel had a good rate and the location was fine. A Benihana was next to the hotel and the city center is 10 or 15 minutes walking from there. The view from the room was very nice, I could see half of the city from the room. About the room: simple but clean and nice, spacious, with a sink beside the tv, a microwave and a coffee machine, comfortable bed with one pillow per person and linens smaller than the mattress. The air conditioner was noisy and the curtains did not block the sun (neither the midnight sun) The hotel spaces were not so clean as the room. Carpet at social areas look dirty and smelly, decor in outdated and the atmosphere is a kind of dark. Service is very attentive, though the maid forgot to clean the room and make the bed - she changed the towels and left!

Room Tip: As soon as you check in and go to your room check if the air conditioner is noisy and if the room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
RNVR,

Thank you so much for your review. Unfortunately, I believe you stayed at the Clarion Suites, as they have a Benihana adjacent to their facility. We are about a mile away, but do still offer the proximity to the city center (and great rates). We would love for you to stop by and see us the next time your travels bring you to Anchorage though!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Huge 1 bed suite on the 15th floor with a great view over the north side of Anchorage. It's not luxury but just what you need when travelling with kids. There's a great supermarket next door if you need supplies.

Room Tip: Should have asked for a room with a view Southwards over the inlet
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
greenwellington,

Thank you for your review. Your room tip is spot on. We do offer great views of Cook Inlet to the West, but on the flip side, when you are facing East, you have the Chugach Range as your backdrop. Which to choose, which to choose? Happy travels green, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The staff at the Inlet Tower (front desk, shuttle driver, wait staff) were all very friendly and accommodating. The hotel itself is fairly basic, but clean. The restaurant, where we had breakfast was fine, but pricey (as is most dining in Alaska). If you stay at Inlet Tower, choose a room higher up which probably has nice views of the water. I was on the second floor, so no views. Location was about a 10 minute from downtown Anchorage and a 5 minute walk to the Tony Knowles Bike/Walking trail. Good supermarket on the same block with great coffee.

Room Tip: Choose one on a higher level so you can get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
GinkoBoston,

Thank you for your review of our Hotel. I think you nailed almost everything I could have said, so I'll let your words do the talking. Thanks for your time, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Learned my lesson trying to save money on a hotel. I knew this was an old hotel, but even old hotels can have decent beds. Bed was VERY old, springs coming thru, dipped in the middle, bedding old/threadbare dirty, carpets old, dirty, loose all over. Looked like a tenement. Pretty nasty overall. Staff were friendly, public area was updated and nice, but rooms were hideous! Shower pressure good. Will never stay here and do not recommend anyone else do. They need new beds (at least from this century), bedding, carpet, cleaning emphasis (bathroom floor had dirt and hair ick). Did not let me feet touch floor and slept trying not to touch old nasty blanket & spread. Really don't know how they can take money for these rooms with a good conscience.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
jomama7,

Thanks for telling us about your stay. You'll be happy to know we have already upgraded our linen package, so no worries there. I would like to point out that we take cleanliness very seriously here, and while we are an older property, we cut no corners in health and safety standards. It is a common mis-conception that just because we are "older" we are not clean. In addition to the public areas you mentioned we are also working diligently to update other areas of the hotel, and your direct feedback drives the decisions we make on where we can most improve. I'm sorry to hear your experience was not the best, but we take all constructive criticism as a way to continually improve the guest experience, so thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites

Address: 1200 L St, Anchorage, AK 99501
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inlet Tower Hotel And Suites
Inlet Tower Hotel Anchorage
Inlet Hotel Anchorage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.