We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 L St, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Due to a fault of mine I was a no show and even though they didn't have to they gave me a full refund which was above and beyond what they needed to. I can only imagine with such great service to a traveller in need, how good the hotel must be. Thanks again Inlet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
sidsuri,

Thank you! I don't know if you've ever seen a 15 story building blush, but your kind words just made it happen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    86
    91
    54
    60
See reviews for
62
108
42
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Based on previous reviews, I asked for a renovated room when making the reservation by telephone. Andrea honored my request, and an upper floor room was awaiting us even though we arrived at 1 AM. The room was large, sunny, quiet, and very clean.

A plus is the small supermarket across the street. Fresh coffee and a variety of interesting bakery items are available. They also sell good salads, pre-made food, and delicious pastries
which can be enjoyed at the kitchen and dining area in the room.

It is a 15 minute walk to downtown. Hotel parking is free.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
831Fred,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your room. Having the market right across the street is an excellent feature, and additionally we have now added a coffee café to our lobby so you can get your Mocha before you even walk out the door! (Its almost too easy...especially when you work here...)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Outdated kitchenette. Freed standing cabinet contained an old tube style TV. Air conditioner was undersizes for room and it was only 80 degrees outside. Small, cramped bathroom with very low toilet. Tried to play cards in the bar and they said no. asked for two more chairs in our room and they said no. we ended up bringing them from other rooms from our 5 rooms reserved.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
mah7925,

Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on having a friendly and courteous staff. Good news! Flat screens are coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonville, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent one night at this hotel at the end of May and when we walked in we had to ask for the price again to make sure it was the real price. I forget if we were at the Super X or the Motel X earlier in the week that had paper thin sheets and beds that sagged before you even sat down.

The Inlet towers were very clean, had an extra curtain to pull down to make the room dark, beds were very comfortable, staff was very nice, had a mini fridge, the water is actually not bad (maybe all of anchorage is like that? but not overly chlorinated in any case) and the price was the best we could find anywhere in town

Room Tip: we were on the 15th floor, 2 different rooms and both rooms were equally nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
tim b,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We strive to offer clean, comfortable rooms at affordable prices, and it sounds like we hit a home run for you! We hope you will stop by again if you find yourself in Anchorage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Confused about writing this.... While the pick up shuttle at train was nice, the lobby nice, breakfast good, and pub neat with music, it all changed on floor 2. Our room was actually comical. We stood and recorded it and laughed.
It started with an air cond unit in the window that did not work on their hottest day yet (it was VERY hot in the room and we are even from the desert), then we found a fan in the closet--but it did not work. We went to get a drink and the faucet was put on backward. So...to the shower to cool off--midnight after train ride. The tub was a 1960 jacuzzi--you seriously have to have a ladder to get in--However, they did provide one!!!! That was funny in itself!
Finally climbed the top of the mountain, got in the shower, and could not figure out how to make the shower come on. When I finally did, it was HOT then COLD,,,,,no warm. Got out--still laughing... no blow drier!
Just went to bed where we had to sofa pillows flat as possible. Opened a window for cool air but it only opened about 4 inches.
Would not stay here again, BUT i must say we did get a good price and still enjoyed the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
jjjday,

Thank you for your review. I'm having a few laughs myself as it is a common misconception that our building is not clean, when in fact it's just retro. I'm glad you picked that up! We went through a "retro-vation" in 2001 during which a lot of these items were installed new in the hotel. The faucets in the room (kitchenette) are capable of spinning around 360 degrees much like a kitchen sink faucet, and our Jacuzzi's are large (but that's why we provide the ladder.) Also, being a high rise, it's building code that our windows cant open further than 6" due to being a fall hazard for small children. As I mentioned in my last response, the new ownership of the building did go through and replace or repair all the AC units...glad they did because its been record breaking summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here last year & we got a corner room on a higher floor & it had an awesome view & that particular room was large & clean & hot. Luckily, it had a few windows so we were able to get some good air flow. We stayed here again in May 2013 & this time we brought our dog. We were put in a small room that smelled like dogs & it was on the 2nd floor & the room was so HOT it was unbearable. There was an air conditioner in the window but it wasn't working. We asked the front desk about it & the gal said all A/C in the building is on a timer. About an hour later, my older son went back to inquire about the A/C at the front desk & this time a male employee told him that this is Alaska we don't need A/C in this type of climate! (We live in Alaska so I don't need someone telling us about the climate in AK) To sum it up, the beds were uncomfortable & no A/C & no bathroom fan (for after you take a shower to prevent steam buildup, etc). We had 3 fans in the room & it was still HOT! We continued on with our vacation throughout Alaska for another week & we truly enjoyed our A/C in every other Alaskan hotel we stayed in!

Room Tip: Corner rooms on upper levels offer great views. Just because you see an air conditioner in the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
amct,

Thank you for your review of our property. I'm sorry to hear your second stay wasn't as enjoyable as your first, but we do have to keep pets on pet floors to avoid the spread of allergens around the building. Also, with the amazingly HOT summer we have been having, the new ownership of the building has replaced or repaired ALL AC units to insure our guests have a comfortable stay. Thanks again for your time and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchikan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

First Anchorage hotels are brutal. As a general rule they are super expensive, dirty, have crappy customer service and no amenities. To give you an idea, until you've spent close to $300 a night for a 1970s filthy avocado and orange room you haven't been in a typical Anchorage hotel.
I ended up in the Inlet Tower because the original hotel I was to stay at was overbooked. I was pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean and comfortable. There was a fridge, microwave and mini kitchen area. I did my usual bed check and was very pleased.
The hotel is an older building that they've cleaned up nicely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites

Address: 1200 L St, Anchorage, AK 99501
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inlet Tower Hotel And Suites
Inlet Tower Hotel Anchorage
Inlet Hotel Anchorage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.