We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cold shower” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Copper Whale Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Copper Whale Inn to your Saves list
Copper Whale Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   440 L St., Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 121 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Lake Tahoe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“cold shower”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed there for a week. Location is fine. Noisy building. Not recommended for younger people. Be sure to get your own bathroom.
During the week, 3 different mornings had to take a cold shower. If you are there for a business trip, i don't recommend this. 3 mornings had a cold shower. Owners weren't willing to give much of a discount because of this. Overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
I'm really sorry about your bad experience. We thought the problem was solved, and action was taken when I was first made aware of the problem. Clearly, it continued to get worse over several days' time. Unfortunately, I was not informed the problem was ongoing until after your departure. Please accept my sincere apologies. In our defense, the rate you were billed was discounted substantially from our regular September room rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    51
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
29
75
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed here for three nights in mid-May 2012 when I visited Anchorage on business. I loved the peaceful nature of the Copper Whale's rooms, common areas, and gardens - I felt like I was home during the entire visit. My business took place downtown and so I was walking distance (3 blocks) from work during the entire visit which was great because it meant leaving my car parked the whole time - no driving whenever I can help do so.

The gardens were bright with flowers and other annual and perennial plants in May. The various trees and shrubs (which abound on the property) were all leafing out that time of year and the patio of my west facing room looked out onto the Cook Inlet (although there were other buildings and homes in the viewscape). I enjoyed soaking up the afternoon sun that came into the room. I enjoyed the plush and cozy bed and linens. The housekeeper left a kind note and chocolate on the pillows. Beautiful photographs of Alaska are framed in large print on the walls of the rooms and the common areas. Breakfast was nothing like what you might receive at any chain-hotel. We had fresh cut fruit (grapes, cantalope, pineapple, strawberries, blueberries, etc.); whole bananas, oranges and apples available; yogurt, fresh baked bread, fresh milk and juice (not from a dispenser), hard-boiled eggs, danishes (not the tasteless, cheap kind of most hotels, but a variety of fresh ones that are made with high quality ingredients and no preservatives (taste so good!). We also had cereals cold and hot (not in a little box), all kinds of different spreads for the toast, hot tea, hot coffee...really just an excellent breakfast. Everything is laid out in the upstairs common area and the Copper Whale offers it's guests actual silverware and dishes and mugs and glasses. All of the food is elegantly presented. A homely atmosphere. Classical music of an uplifting kind plays in the background while you sit on cozy couches looking out the wall of windows which give way to a view of the Cook Inlet. With a pair of binoculars on hand one might be lucky to spot a passing whale out in the water. The proprietors were very good at being available but not imposing during the breakfast hours - there were a couple of different gentleman that would make their way into the breakfast area to check on things and casually carry conversation with the guests, but they should excellent tact in knowing if a guest wanted to chat or wanted to enjoy a quiet morning.

Only downside to me - the building is adjacent to a major intersection in downtown Anchorage. As such, cars can be heard roaring by at all hours of the night, especially in the mornings. The cars and trucks are especially loud when they are stopping at the light and then starting from a dead stop, engines loudly running at higher than average rpms.

The best thing about Copper Whale Inn was it's people, the guests and proprietors both. The atmosphere was very friendly and welcoming and accommodating. A guest would count him or herself lucky to enjoy the solitude of Copper Whale Inn amongst the busy, sometimes frenetic world of downtown Anchorage.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main building, on the top floor facing the Cook Inlet. Rooms close to the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your glowing review! We will hope to host you again when your travels bring you through Anchorage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here one night on business travel in July. The stay in this B&B was very pleasent.The B&B offers quite homy feeling even though it is located in downtown between multi-storey buildings.However the price seemed quite high but then again this is in Anchorage. The tourists street is just within short walk from the B&B.
The room I got was nice but it was on the road side which made it quite noisy as the road seemed to be quite busy with cars and pedestrians even in late hours.So remember to ask room on the other side if thinking of staying in these B&B.
The breakfast was ok but not so plenty with selections to choose.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thanks for your review. Our location is our strongest suit, certainly, but with the great downtown location comes the urban atmosphere surrounding our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I'll start by agreeing with most of the positives I'm reading in the other reviews - the view of the inlet is amazing, the staff is super nice/friendly, it's really close to a lot of great stuff, and it definitely has a different vibe than a typical hotel. All good, right?

Well, yeah, except trying to fit 4 of us in their "biggest" room was a challenge. Perhaps we should have known better when we learned they accomodate 4 people with a sofa/futon and a rollaway. But, I expected more room to accomodate those items. Instead, we were literally bumper to bumper packed in the room.

Another issue, although I can sleep through anything, was the noisy city streets right outside. There is no way to avoid this, as the building is right on a corner, and even a few cars late at night can be disruptive.

Finally, the parking situation is a bit of a pain, although it would be a minor nit if there weren't other issues. You either pay another $14 per night or get lucky and find on on the street spot (meters stop collecting at 6:00pm). For an already expensive room (for the size), adding an additional $14 for parking (across the street) is annoying.

My family loves Alaska (been there 6 times) so it's hard for me to criticize any place we go. The Copper Whale would likely be a nice place to stay as a couple. Perhaps it was over ambitious of us to try to cram in 4. Live and learn, as they say...

Room Tip: This is for couples, not for families with teenagers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your detailed and constructive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of days on two different occasions and the consistent factor was the nice people we met, both working there and staying there. We also stayed in two different rooms, loved one, and accepted the other. Glen was very helpful in planning out day and activities, and was always around in the morning for breakfast and conversation.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed hosting you during your visit to Alaska.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We LOVED the location, walking distance to everything in downtown that we enjoy. Beautiful setting with lovely gardens all around it. Our room was clean and comfortable and just as advertised on their website. I really liked that it was secure and the staff was very nice. Something about the atmosphere of this B & B I just loved...it was just what I hoped for and then some. The breakfast was really nice & generous and better than we've had at most of the places we've stayed at. I loved the main room, it was very cozy and inviting with my favorite soft music playing. Parking is a bit of a problem probably on weekdays where as they do not have a parking lot but we got really lucky and parked across the street from our room door in the metered parking and didn't have a problem keeping that...and it's free on the weekend. It's a place I really would like to go back to someday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thanks so much! We'll hope to host you again. Yes, the parking is a bit of a pain in our downtown location, but you can always find a street spot within a block. Or, we have the option of the paid garage parking if you'll be walking around downtown all day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our room for four nights at the Copper Whale Inn was far above "adequate", with a beautiful view of the water! Glenn, Nick, and each staff person with whom we had contact were extremely friendly and helpful with local information. The breakfast was a really good start to a busy Anchorage day, enjoyed in a lovely living room area. Every part of the Inn appeared very clean and very comfortable. Easy walking distance to the many downtown activities, one block from the bike trail, bike rentals right on the property. We would be thrilled to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you very much! Please come back sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copper Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Whale Inn

Address: 440 L St., Anchorage, AK 99501
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Copper Whale Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy scenic ocean and mountain views from downtown Anchorage at the Copper Whale Inn! The Great Land's natural beauty is visible from every window of this historic property. Easy walking distance to restaurants, galleries, Anchorage Museum, shopping, performing art and the Coastal Trail. Bike rental on-premise (summer). Concierge services, guest computer, free wireless! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copper Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Whale Hotel Anchorage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper Whale Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.