We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Anchorage Hotel

Save Saved
You added Historic Anchorage Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Historic Anchorage Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   330 E Street, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

My husband & I stayed for 2 weeks in the Historic Anchorage and we would stay there again when we revisit Anchorage. The room was big and comfortable, a fan was available if it got a bit too warm and there was very little noise to be heard where we were situated.
The staff were very friendly and did all in their power to help with enquiries, dinner bookings, travel arrangements etc..
We would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    112
    35
    16
    4
See reviews for
64
130
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2008

We really enjoyed this hotel and thought it was charming. We stayed the first and last night of our trip and enjoyed both rooms. The first stay we were given a third floor suite, which had a separate sleeping area, tons of windows, dressing area and kitchenette. We asked for a room in the back of the hotel because of the bar noise. On the second stay we had a normal guest room, but also loved it. Very clean and great front desk service. Would stay no where else in Anchorage. Also, during the summer there is a crafts fair one block away during the weekend which was a fun place to spend some time and buy a few gifts.

  • Liked — Historic and charming
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

In my Fodors travelguide the Historic Anchorage is described as the last hotel with charm in Anchorage. It is a charming hotel with a real cozy vibe.

**The location is perfect for exploring downtown Anchorage. The Weekend Market is just a block away (well worth visiting - just keep in mind it only runs in the summer. We were there for the its last weekend of the season). Also close to shopping (Cabin Fever was my favorite shop for more unique items and books of local interest) and close to good restaurants (Glacier Brewhouse is great, but gets very crowded very fast - make reservations or go early. Snow Goose is a good less crowded alternative.)

**The hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I only met 2 ladies and they were both wonderful and easy to chat with. Anchoragites (is that the right term?) are very friendly and proud of their city. Definitely take the time to chat with them.

**Room was clean, spacious and comfortable enough with a flat screen tv and very small mini-fridge.

**Continental breakfast was average - you can make waffles, there is juice, coffee, tea, cereal, milk and fresh fruit - nothing to go bananas over, but passable as far as continental breakfast goes.

I loved all the historic photos along the walls and that the hotel has such a long and interesting history....

BUT with all of the above in mind the street noise is really really bad! The problem is that in the summer months the rooms are a bit stuffy (it being an older building and all). You are provided with a fan, but it doesn't quite do the trick so you'll want to open the windows. And who knew Anchorage had such a WILD night scene??? Horns honking, people yelling, cars revving engines. We finally decided that we'd rather deal with the stuffiness than the noise. Unfortunately this didn't shut out the noise entirely, but it did help. But again, this being an older building you can hear a great deal of noise from the surrounding rooms - particularly those above. It sounded as if the person upstairs was purposefully stomping around the room at 10pm, but surely he/she wasn't....right?

My fodors travel guide also said to book a corner room because of the noise, but I didn't heed this advice and sure wish I had - particularly since we had an overnight flight the next day. I'd also add my recommendation to book on the top floor.

In the end this is such a nice little establishment and I hate to give it less than the 4 or 5 stars I usually give hotels of this caliber, but the noise is a really big big problem here. If it wasn't for all the other nice things about this hotel I would give it a 2.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, location, historic building
  • Disliked — NOISE, NOISE, NOISE!!!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

Beautiful Hotel, great location. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Room is small, but has a flat screen TV. The walls are thin! Heard every room beside and above us! Didn't sleep very well because of the noise.

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

If the peace and quiet of the Alaskan great outdoors is getting to you, this is the place to stay. Conveniently located across from a busy bar as well as a dance club, you can not only hear but also feel the throbbing disco beat all night long. Add to that construction noise and the sound of heavy trucks rumbling by your window, and you've got a situation that tests the quality of your earplugs.

Closing the windows only helps slightly, as they are "historic" and do not close properly. Besides which, the ventilation system consists of a floor fan, so if you close the windows in the summertime, you've got no air.

We stayed here three miserable nights, and couldn't wait to get out. AVOID!

  • Disliked — Endless, relentless noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

This hotel is the ideal place to stay in Anchorage. Beautiful quaint rooms and very clean and comfortable. Decorative floor fan kept room very comfortable since there's no A/C. The manager at this hotel went above and beyond to recommend things to do and places to stay on our journey. Staff is very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was a plus! Alaska is very expensive and this helped the pocketbook a bit! If traveling with three or more, request an upgrade to a suite - very minimal difference - much added space for luggage, especially if traveling with children so they have a place of their own at night!
Will definitely stay here again - just not soon enough! So much to see that is just in walking distance - even if you just have an afternoon. This is not a chain hotel off the beaten path - many, many great restaurants, live music, shops within blocks - not to mention the great mall.
We'll be back!!!

  • Liked — The COMFORT!
  • Disliked — No bar in hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

We stayed here for 1 night in May 2008. We liked this hotel very much. It is a charming historic place and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations for dinner. The only problem with the hotel was the location (noisy). First we thought it was great since it’s a block away from the weekend market and good dining options but the problem was at night (on a Friday night) when drunk people were coming out of the nearby bars and they were singing very loudly on the streets. We could hear them like they were inside our room. We didn’t get much sleep that night. Next time I would stay in this place but in a room not facing the main street. The continental breakfast that is included was OK.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Historic Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Anchorage Hotel

Address: 330 E Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historic Anchorage Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored and generously appointed, the Anchorage Hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Rich in tradition and elegance... Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Anchorage. The Anchorage Visitor Information Center, Anchorage Convention Centers, 5th Avenue Shopping Mall, the Alaska Center for Performing Arts, the Alaska Railroad Depot, Anchorage Museum, and some of the finest dining and entertainment that Anchorage has to offer are all just steps away from the hotel.Aside from our convenient room amenities, Anchorage Historic Hotel offers guest services to accommodate everyone from the discerning leisure traveler to the busy corporate guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Historic Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Anchorage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.