We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Anchorage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Anchorage Hotel to your Saves list
Historic Anchorage Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   330 E Street, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed for three nights after arriving in Alaska . It was a great place to recover from the jet lag! We felt the location was perfect and the breakfast a huge plus. This was a good hotel to base yourself in to access other tourist attractions before we started our tour of Alaska.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    134
    39
    20
    4
See reviews for
74
159
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monument Beach, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed in the hotel two nights and loved the historic feel of the place and the rooms. I was in a front room overlooking the street, which was very noisy, so I recommend a room on the back side, away from the street. The manager at the desk went out of her way to be helpful, including running one of my suitcases to the airport after I had forgotten it at the hotel.
The breakfast/bar area is right off the lobby, comfortable, nothing great, but an okay place to hang out for a while before going out or for early coffee.

Room Tip: Get a room in back, off the street, for a quiet sleep. I did get a kick out of the street side as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This was a very quaint & charming hotel!!! The staff was great!! Always friendly & always greeted with a smile!!! Nice continental breakfast included!!! Very convenient location to downtown!! I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Anchorage area whether for business or pleasure!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I was recently in Anchorage for a long weekend and based on the good reviews here on TA, we decided to stay at the Historic Anchorage Hotel. Maybe my expectations were too high but I found this hotel to be average only, not much more than that.

The hotel is old, therefore the rooms look somewhat old. The bed and bedding were nice and it was comfortable, but I can't say much more than that. The walls are thin and you can hear people walking around due to creaky floors. But it was never terribly problematic for us.

We never had breakfast there. I'm not sure what time it ran but by the time we got downstairs there was only cold cereal and make your own waffles. Maybe that's all there is for breakfast?

I'm confused by the mention of train noise noted by other review(s) as the tracks are several blocks away but maybe that was because of our room position. We were in the front of the building and did get some noise from the street at night when we had the window open.

The location is very good, right in town and easy to walk to everything. But if I were coming to Anchorage again I'm not sure that I'd seek this place out for a second visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Nice hotel with an excellent staff. They were extremely helpful with plans around town. Only issue we had was noise from the trains during the night. If your a light sleeper this could be an issue. The room was well appointed, very clean and spacious.

The breakfast buffet was very good in a lovely setting. It's a shame the bar is only used for breakfast since it was so beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

On our recent trip to Alaska we stayed in Anchorage twice and, both times, stayed at this hotel. It is a great place. It's quaint and charming. Staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms are not large but there's sufficient space for two open suitcases plus human movement. The Continental Breakfast is served in the Old bar and is nicely presented with plenty of variety for different tastes. The location is excellent with a really good sushi restaurant a few doors away. Also, it's close to the train station and the City Market.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed 1 Jun to 10 Jun at the above hotel, great staff, friendly place, couldn't be enough help. Provided good advice about the general area, places to go and see. Only complaint(very minor) was that the TV volumne was preset, Tough to hear the programs if you are hard of hearing. Would I stay here again? In a heartbeat. When able to sleep,(the land of the midnight sun makes it difficult.) I slept well.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor,corner room was nice,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Anchorage Hotel

Address: 330 E Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historic Anchorage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored and generously appointed, the Anchorage Hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Rich in tradition and elegance... Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Anchorage. The Anchorage Visitor Information Center, Anchorage Convention Centers, 5th Avenue Shopping Mall, the Alaska Center for Performing Arts, the Alaska Railroad Depot, Anchorage Museum, and some of the finest dining and entertainment that Anchorage has to offer are all just steps away from the hotel.Aside from our convenient room amenities, Anchorage Historic Hotel offers guest services to accommodate everyone from the discerning leisure traveler to the busy corporate guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Historic Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Anchorage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.