We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty nice, and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Anchorage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Historic Anchorage Hotel to your Saves list
Historic Anchorage Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   330 E Street, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Anchorage
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    124
    37
    19
    4
See reviews for
70
147
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel was in a very good location, easy travel from the train station, easy access to all of downtown. The fact that this was not a cookie cutter place was very appealing to us. The rooms were nice as was the breakfast.

Prior to booking I'd read a review complaining about the noise. For some reason I assumed that those people were overly sensitive and did not heed their warning. The word "Historic" in the name of this hotel means historic, as in no air conditioning. As a result we needed the windows open during our stay in late June. Unfortunately this subjected us to the "Rum Runners" nightclub across the intersection from the hotel. We heard every song, every reveler, and every argument had by every over-served patron. It went on until 3 AM.

I'm pretty sure I paid $100 for each hour of sleep I got that night. The hotel desk informed me that the nightclub was not allowed to keep it's doors open that late into the night. Apparently nobody told the management over at Rum Runners.

This place would be a fine choice assuming the temperature of the day never exceeds 50*F, and you're staying Sun-Wed. I wouldn't stay here on a Thu-Fri-Sat any time of the year.

Room Tip: Try to get one without a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricAnchorage, General Manager at Historic Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Jean D,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us last June. We are happy to hear you like our central downtown location and find us very appealing. I am sorry to hear about your lack of sleep due to the bar across the street.
It is with pleasure to tell you "Rumrunners" has lost their liquor license as of January 1, 2013.
We hope that you will reconsider staying with us again on your next visit to Alaska.
Again, thank you for the feedback.
Warmest regards,
Terri L Russi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Very friendly staff, and lovely little hotel. Nice continental breakfast (amazing coffee!) and you could make your own waffles. Perfect location in the heart of downtown and walking distance to shopping, restaurants and sightseeing. Only 2 negatives--The bed was a smidge hard for my liking (although the linens were good quality) and the room got somewhat stuffy overnight, but other than that I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Will definitely stay again when I am travelling to Anchorage.

Room Tip: If you are looking to get some really good sleep, and are a light sleeper, stay on the 3rd floor, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricAnchorage, General Manager at Historic Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear LittleDeeBee27
We certainly appreciate your wonderful feedback and your valuable business. We will look into the bed situation and the stuffiness in the room you occupied. Our steam heat has individual thermostats on the radiators to control the heat. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and our central downtown location. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Warmest regards,
Terri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Second stay at this wonderful, affordable hotel in downtown Anchorage. The staff is friendly and helpful in every way from reservations to check in/out. We were able to check out a little later, store luggage and a cab was arranged. Breakfast is good, rooms are spacious and beds are great. Visiting this hotel during the Halloween season is a special treat. Another plus-you can walk to all downtown locations including the coastal walking trail in minutes. I will return!

Room Tip: Street can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We recently enjoyed our stay in downtown Anchorage at the Historic Anchrage Hotel. Not only is it with walking distance of great restaurants and attractions but they also provide parking for a small fee (this can be a rarity in downtown Anchorage) and have wonderful, very helpful staff. Staff not only unloaded our luggage and took it to the second and third floors, gave us excellent restaurant suggestions and even arranged easily for a late check out and then went out of their way to help us reload our luggage. The three of us reserved two rooms on two different floors. Both were large and very comfortable. One was located at the front of the hotel where street noise can be a problem. A "white noise" machine was provided but not really needed in this room. An adequate breakfast is also included with the rooms. We would definitely choose to stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: On the off chance that there is noisy activity on the streets, choose a middle or back location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I returned to Anchorage for two weeks vacation in late August 2012 and had no hesitation in booking the Historic Hotel. We stayed there on two previous occasions and found it to be perfect in every way ... this year was no different.

The room was very comfortable, breakfast good and the coffee was available all day! Manager Terri and all the staff were more than helpful, every query was answered and were very knowledgeable about local events and places to see. They were also helpful in making reservations for restaurants/taxi's etc The hotel is situated in the downtown area and is close to stores and tour offices,

We would recommend it to anyone who is coming to Anchorage for a short or a long stay. Well done Historic - we'll be returning! Mary B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed. The room was large and the bed super comfortable. I was able to walk to several stores and do all my shopping. The staff and manager were very helpful and responded promptly. I needed an extra cloth hanger, I made a comment about it and after the room service lady overheard me, she quickly brought some from their storage room. I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Anchorage Hotel

Address: 330 E Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historic Anchorage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored and generously appointed, the Anchorage Hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Rich in tradition and elegance... Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Anchorage. The Anchorage Visitor Information Center, Anchorage Convention Centers, 5th Avenue Shopping Mall, the Alaska Center for Performing Arts, the Alaska Railroad Depot, Anchorage Museum, and some of the finest dining and entertainment that Anchorage has to offer are all just steps away from the hotel.Aside from our convenient room amenities, Anchorage Historic Hotel offers guest services to accommodate everyone from the discerning leisure traveler to the busy corporate guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Historic Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Anchorage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.