We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay ....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Anchorage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Anchorage Hotel to your Saves list
Historic Anchorage Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   330 E Street, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$99.00 Weekend Specials
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great place to stay ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I returned to Anchorage for two weeks vacation in late August 2012 and had no hesitation in booking the Historic Hotel. We stayed there on two previous occasions and found it to be perfect in every way ... this year was no different.

The room was very comfortable, breakfast good and the coffee was available all day! Manager Terri and all the staff were more than helpful, every query was answered and were very knowledgeable about local events and places to see. They were also helpful in making reservations for restaurants/taxi's etc The hotel is situated in the downtown area and is close to stores and tour offices,

We would recommend it to anyone who is coming to Anchorage for a short or a long stay. Well done Historic - we'll be returning! Mary B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    130
    38
    19
    4
See reviews for
72
154
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed. The room was large and the bed super comfortable. I was able to walk to several stores and do all my shopping. The staff and manager were very helpful and responded promptly. I needed an extra cloth hanger, I made a comment about it and after the room service lady overheard me, she quickly brought some from their storage room. I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Spacious, centric, comfortable, pleasant hotel. An OK breakfast is included in the price. One block from the open market, and walking distance to all of the (small) Anchorage downtown. It is quite busy, so you must make reservations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I booked this hotel on the strength of the trip advisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. We stayed the previous night at the Hilton and thankfully they couldn't accomodate us for an extra night before our flight, so we transferred here. It is just around the corner from the Hilton and we took our bags round at about 9am and the lovely girl on reception checked us in and then stored our bags as the room wasn't ready. Not a problem as we were spending the day with friends exploring Anchorage.

The hotel had been done up in an old fashioned way with lovely furniture and decoration, looked just like an old english country hotel (we felt quite at home!) When we got into the room later in the day it was very clean and well appointed and reasonable spacious. We overlooked the street and had a view of the mountains in the distance, but it was noisy later on in the evening and early hours of the morning with revellers going home.

Breakfast was fine, not too much choice but great for we wanted. There was coffee, tea, two different juices, pastries, cereals and toast. You could also make your own waffles if you wanted to. Breakfast was served in what was the old bar to the hotel, so the seating was on high bar stools, which not everyone would find comfortable.

We enoyed our stay here, the staff were charming and it is in great location.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street would be quieter, but appear to have a view of a service area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Right in the smallish downtown area of Anchorage, the hotel is within easy walking distance of some good restaurants and interesting shopping. Rooms are generous in size, nicely decorated with comfortable beds and furnishings. Serve a good free continental breakfast and complimentary wifi in the rooms. A good base of operations for sights in and around Anchorage. Within easy walking distance of the train depot for trips to Denali, Seward, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This location provides great access to the downtown area. It is small but quaint and cozy. The original wooden bar is intact and a beautiful background for breakfast. What caught our attention most was the bed. It was incredibly comfortable. In fact so comfortable that I called back to see what the mattress and bedding were. We loved Alaska and plan to come back to this great little get away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I made a reservatin with them one night for the annual Anchorage Pirate Pub Crawl, the next day they said that I wouldn't be getting my room at the price I had reserved it for. The lady was pretty rude about it, I cancelled immediately. I don't do business with dishonest people.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage99, General Manager at Historic Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear elgreg_Ory:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback. Yes, we did make an error in the rate and availability of your suite for two nights. I apologize for this, we should honor the rate we quoted. The promotion is for Saturday night only.
The published Pirate Pub Crawl rate is at $109. for a standard and $139.00
for a suite for the night of September 22 only. The real challenge is, we
do not have double suites available on the Friday, September 21 at the special rate.

To show our good faith, we would like to invite you to stay with us in a
Junior Suite at 50% off our published rack rate on a date of your choice in
the near future. (Based on availability.)

Again, please accept our sincere apologies as for no one was trying to be
dishonest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Anchorage Hotel

Address: 330 E Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historic Anchorage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored and generously appointed, the Anchorage Hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Rich in tradition and elegance... Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Anchorage. The Anchorage Visitor Information Center, Anchorage Convention Centers, 5th Avenue Shopping Mall, the Alaska Center for Performing Arts, the Alaska Railroad Depot, Anchorage Museum, and some of the finest dining and entertainment that Anchorage has to offer are all just steps away from the hotel.Aside from our convenient room amenities, Anchorage Historic Hotel offers guest services to accommodate everyone from the discerning leisure traveler to the busy corporate guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Historic Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Anchorage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.