We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prince William Sound

Prince William Sound
Anchorage, AK
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 87 Attractions in Anchorage
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Kayaking, Sailing, Viewing wildlife, Whale watching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Soak in the breathtaking scenery of fjords, glaciers, waterfalls and bays whether kayaking, sailing or cruising through the calm waters. Wildlife abounds in the form of whales, seals, sea lions, eagles, bears and deer.
Bristol, Tn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Must do trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We took a day trip from Anchorage and did a six hour glacier cruise with Kenai Fiords Cruises. The scenery is spectacular. We saw a glacier calving, whales, sea otters and lots of birds. Our captain was very knowledgable and kept us interested and entertained. If you have any thought you might suffer from motion sickenss, pre-medicate before the trip.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    46
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mont Vernon, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We took the Phillips 26 Glacier Cruise recently. The boat itself was terrific. The twin hull catamaran was so smooooth you barely knew you were moving unless you went outside to experience what 35-40 knots feel like. The staff was well organized. You get seated at a table with 4 seats, 2 people facing the other 2 people. Hopefully you'll get someone you can enjoy for the next 6 hours. They served the sandwich lunch right away which tasted okay. Drinks (except for water) are extra. We had so-so weather but the captain tried his best to show us the glaciers and the ranger doing the narrative was entertaining. The sights were excellent. Well worth the trip. We took the train from Anchorage and back, and would not ever do that again (see my review on the railroad). We saw small calvings of some glaciers, lots of seals and birds. Beautiful blue (and green) water full of floating ice chunks with lots of scenery and lots of waterfalls. We got to travel to where a glacier once resided but has now receded over a mile away in the last few years but that their GPS map shows the boat driving on a glacier. The photos do not do justice on how really beautiful this place is.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scone, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The cruise around the sound was fantastic. There was so much to see, snow capped mountians,glaiciers, waterfalls and plenty of wildlife.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“What you imagine when you think of Alaska”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I debated a long time over which cruise to take. Ultimately, went with the shorter one (Blackstone) because of the tunnel timing, the promise of smooth sailing, and wanting to eat “in-town” before we departed. In hindsight, would have been fine with either and probably would have picked the longer one (and used our BOGO coupon). We made the 10:30 tunnel just fine from Anchorage and would have supported the 12:15 departure. Ate at the “best” restaurant there and were disappointed. You still don’t have to get the buffet on the boat, they have soups, chili and mac n cheese ala carte. I would have done that had we realized. There’s not much to, “see” in town, so getting off the boat and back to the car to depart right away would have caught the 6:00 tunnel just fine with the slightly later return. As for their process, check-in and pick up your tickets in their building up top. You line up down by the dock with your actual tickets in hand. Note: this is the same place people line up for other cruises. This area is pretty unorganized and it’s unclear when you walk up which cruise is boarding. A dry erase board would be a nice addition for the booth. Now boarding X, Y you’ll be next, just wait for us to call for you. The trip started rainy, but got sunny just when we arrived at the glacier, wow, that really made things more beautiful. We didn’t see much in the way of sea life and only saw a small calving at the glacier, but oh that sound, it’s amazing. It was pretty and well worth the drive from Anchorage.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wet trip, but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Rain, low clouds, not good. The Phillips 26 Glacier Cruise was good. The boat and staff were terrific. Liked the fish and chips for lunch, we didn't have the sandwich so can't comment on it. Bad weather but the captain tried to show us the glaciers and the lady doing the narrative was entertaining. Sun finally shown the last hour so we got to see a lot of glaciers. Took the train from Anchorage and back, good way to go.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prince William Sound also viewed

 

Been to Prince William Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince William Sound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.