We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Fishing in the City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ship Creek

Ship Creek
150 E Whitney Rd, Anchorage, AK 99501
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 87 Attractions in Anchorage
Type: Bodies of Water, Zoos & Aquariums
Activities: Fishing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A creek located downtown where salmon run up fish ladders.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fun Fishing in the City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We had 2 days in Anchorage after our cruise and heard about the fishing here at Ship Creek which is just a few blocks walking distance from our hotel. We headed over there and down the hill by Earthquake Park off Avenue C. We found a dozen people there fishing for Silver Salmon. You could see the big fish swimming around and while there we watched 2 get caught and another 2 dropped in 15-20 minutes. There is a shack there that rents all fishing gear including waders for around $30. They have a filet station and grill there to cook them if you'd like. The secret is you have to fish around high tide, hour before and hour after. The tides in Alaska are huge and creek empties at low tide and turns into a big muddy mess. But for some quick fun without having to travel somewhere, thats a great place to go. There is also a bar and restaurant right there sitting over the creek.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, AK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Bike the Ship Creek Trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I hesitate to right this review because Ship Creek bike trail is a relatively unknown place to ride, making it especially nice. Lots of Anchorage multi-use trails are well loved and well used, making them not so conducive for a ride with consistent pace. I'm not a rabid bike racer type, but I do like to ride uninhibited. Ship Creek trail offers that, along with lovely views of the creek.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun, Free, Informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Take a stroll along the creek behind the Comfort Hotel and across the creek on the other side to see the salmon from the shore and the bridge and read about early Ship Creek and Anchorage history.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“pretty disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Overall disapppointed in the area. It was pretty dirty and run down. I have been to very nice inner city parks/river front areas and this is not one of them. My kids couln't believe I took them there.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“In the city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is a great place to go alone or with family or friends. Its downtown. It is in walking distance from hotels and residential areas. Just love this place and you can fish here.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ship Creek also viewed

 

Been to Ship Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ship Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.