We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Call ahead to find out about live demonstrations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alaska Native Heritage Center

Alaska Native Heritage Center
8800 Heritage Center Dr, Anchorage, AK 99506
907 330 8000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$49*
and up
Anchorage City Tour with Optional Alaska Native...
Ranked #5 of 87 Attractions in Anchorage
Type: Educational Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: Arts and crafts, Dining, Antiquing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alaskan native culture is presented through storytelling, dancing, craft-making and simulated, life-sized villages representing each of the five main indigenous groups.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Mountain View, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Call ahead to find out about live demonstrations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

When we visited, one of the fixed exhibits (native shelters) was closed for some special event and there were no live demonstrations going on -- aka the "living history" that we were most interested in. Probably still worth the long shuttle ride out and back, but I got the feeling we missed out on some of the experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    152
    40
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very Informative Experience that ends with a very Satisfying Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We visited the center last May 2013. It is very educational and we get a glimpse of how the indigenous people live in the villages. The guide is very knowledgeable and never gets tired of answering our questions. It is my first time to see and touch a raincoat made of seal intestine!

At the front of the center is a 30-foot totem pole representing the Alaska Native Heritage Center sharing its knowledge with other people. It’s really amazing that a single pole can have so much stories / tales carved into it. You need to listen to the stories in order to appreciate the carvings.

We ended our tour by having dinner at the center. The food is simply amazing, especially their very tasty Alaskan King Crab and the mixed berries dessert.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Native Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Interesting visit. Native homes, lectures and live native music and dancing. Worth the 30 minute trip to the site.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what's there”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was very disappointed in this experience. It seemed like a hefty price to pay for such a small, understaffed place. The description sounded much better on the flyer. The outdoor display took no time at all and there was no one around to answer questions. Grant you, seeing the different dwellings was interesting, but after seeing two, they all seemed to blend. I wish there had been someone there to explain and add some local color. All in all, the admittance price is too much for what you get.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place for cultural experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Was mesmerized by the native performers and all of the cultural exhibits and art. Will visit everytime in Anchorage!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaska Native Heritage Center also viewed

 

Been to Alaska Native Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaska Native Heritage Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.