We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast
3800 Delwood Place, Anchorage, AK 99504   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 121 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Dee and Yves are gracious hosts with a comfortable, spacious home. They went out of their way to make us feel at home. The gourmet breakfasts were outstanding and included caribou sausage. We enjoyed chatting with the other guests. Dee was helpful when asked about activities and places to visit in Anchorage.

Room Tip: Each room was a good location and I liked that the rooms could sleep an entire family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houseofjade, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi Barb and Mark. It was so nice sharing our home with you. Renee came by as I'm sure you know by now. I think that's going to be a good fit. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. Looking forward to your return visit.
Dee & Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
60
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stay at B&B's for the experience, and there was no shortage of that here.

Dee (the Innkeeper) is what makes this place great. She'll take care of you in any way she possibly can.

If you need a mom, a grandma, a friend, a conversation, a tour guide, a host...Dee is all those and more.

Breakfast is served to suit your schedule, not hers, and the food was very good.

Our room was very clean, very tastefully decorated (as was the whole B&B), and very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houseofjade, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We're delighted that you felt at home and enjoyed your stay. Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. Hope to see you again in the future. Dee & Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had read the reviews of Alaska House of Jade and chose it based on the high reviews. We were not disappointed. We loved Dee and Ives. They were friendly and extremely hospitable. Comfortable rooms. Plenty of space. Large bathrooms. We had a large tub and plenty of space. The breakfast was large and tremendous. We loved the experience and will stay there again. I will recommend this to anyone staying in Anchorage. This is a great place.

Room Tip: Call early, it fills up fast for a reason.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houseofjade, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hi Stephen and Emily. Thank you for your review of your stay at Alaska House of Jade. It was so nice meeting you both and Alan and Denise as well. We love it when folks stay long enough for us to get to know them a little. We too hope you'll visit again and maybe next time you won't be so busy and will be able to enjoy a glass of wine on the deck. Glad you got to see the bears!
Dee & Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Despite our late arrival past midnight at Dee's B&B, we found a personalized note on the door providing directions to the Denali Suite, which was our room for the evening. After a nice hot shower in the over-sized tub, we were able to get well-rested on the large and comfy king-sized bed. The best part was in the morning though when we finally met Dee. She also happily offered us to sleep in a bit longer given our late arrival and cooked us a fresh hot breakfast of scrambled eggs, mini waffles (light and airy) and, the best part of the day, reindeer sausage (this was so good I ate two full links, minus the bite that my girlfriend managed to eat). Dee even happily tailored the scrambled eggs to be egg whites only for my girlfriend. Don't forget to ask for directions and, hint hint, coupons for activities in and out of Anchorage. Dee happily went out of her way to make our stay more enjoyable. Oh, did I mention the delicious reindeer sausage? Be sure to make this at least one stop here in Anchorage (this is only 15 minutes from the Ted Stevens International Airport) before Dee officially retires!

Room Tip: Check out the rooms online and call Dee and speak to her in person. She might be able to get you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houseofjade, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hi Guantong & Jessie: Thanks for the kind words. We strive to assure our guests are comfortable and pleased with their stay and it means a lot to us when you take the time to let us know if we met your expectations. It was so nice to meet both of you and we wish you happy travels in the future. Don't lose our email should you find yourself in Arizona in the winter. Dee & Yves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Yves picked me up way over at Whittier and took me bicycle riding two of the 3 days I was there. 55 miles total. I would never have found the trails to do so much riding. Great house. Great breakfast. And Dee and Yves really host all their guests. Whatever you needed. Even two nice lunches for me. Just fantastic. Stay at Alaska House of Jade you will be happy. Anchorage's horn of plenty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houseofjade, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hi Bryan: First let me say how much Yves enjoyed the biking. He especially enjoys it when guests have the time to hit the trails with him. We enjoyed meeting you and sharing our home. We'll look forward to your next visit. Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review. Dee & Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here actually in 2008 and it was fantastic. There were 8 people in our family group and we all had a wonderful experience. Dee went out of her way to accommodate us. Hope to return again!
Debbi W.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houseofjade, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi Debbie (and Ed). Gosh, 2008 - hard to believe that you are just now writing a response. Perhaps you saw us on Facebook and decided to write. Whatever the reason we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit enough to tell others about it.... even if it is 5 years later. I had to do some research to make sure I had the right party. But fortunately I had listed the names of everyone in your party thus I'm pretty sure I have the right Debbie W. You actually stayed with us in August 2007. So it's been 6 years. Yves and I also hope to see you again in the future. All the best to you and again, thanks for remembering us. Dee Memoune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the House of Jade and experienced exemplary service, wonderful food (too much!), great company and the rooms and beds were comfy and beautifully presented. Dee and Yves are terrific hosts and we would all spend time here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houseofjade, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi Jennifer. Thanks for the nice review. We enjoyed meeting you, Linley and Brian. It's always special for us when guests stay more than a quick overnight. It allows us to get to know you a little better. We sincerely appreciate your kind words. Hope to see you again in the future.
Regards, Dee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3800 Delwood Place, Anchorage, AK 99504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious suites with accommodations for families and large groups. Most rooms have multiple beds. In addition, all rooms have private bath, flat screen premium cable TV and robes. On-site free parking and convient location just minutes from the airport and city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.