We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast
3800 Delwood Place, Anchorage, AK 99504   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 120 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Kingsport, Tennessee
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We have just returned from 9 fantastic nights at the Alaska House of Jade! It's like coming home. We've stayed here 6 times and love it more each time we come. Dee and Yves are the most gracious hosts and always make our stay comfortable. All the rooms are great, but we now have our favorite if we reserve well in advance. You won't find a better breakfast !! Dee is a fabulous cook!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houseofjade, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Debbie & Keith - after so many visits over these past years, you truly seem like family. It's always fun to hear about Meghan's adventures and to see such a happy family reuniting each year. We hope the reunion does come together next summer. Thanks for the kind words. See you in 2013.
Dee & Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
46
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Alaska House of Jade in June 2012. What a great way to start off our Alaskan adventure! The rooms were very comfortable - we stayed in the Chugach suite. Dee is a fantastic cook - the breakfasts were the best of all the B&Bs we stayed at during our trip. Dee and Yves made us feel very welcome. In the evenings, the guests are invited to visit with them in the kitchen and to enjoy wine or beer and whatever yummy baked goods were available that day. I would highly recommend Alaska House of Jade to anyone looking for a place to stay while in Anchorage.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houseofjade, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Celina & Brett: We're so glad you enjoyed your visit and thank you for the kind words. We too enjoyed meeting you and getting to know you a little. We'll look forward to a return visit. Dee & Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I concur totally on the previous reviews. Do not hesitate to stay here. After arriving I was asked if I was hungry and was served one of the best quiches ever (homemade). The breakfast the next morning was top notch! They even let me use their car to pick up a couple items. My traveling partner who arrived later and I were both very impressed. Thank you both again for such a wonderfully memorable (albeit short) visit.

Barb

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Hello Sharon & Barb: We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoyed meeting both of you and also wish your visit could have been a little longer. The secret to the Quiche is the variety of French (and International) cheese. Glad you liked it!. Hope you enjoyed the cruise. Thanks for taking the time to rate your visit.
Till we meet again.... Dee & Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We flew into Anchorage for a two night prestay prior to our Alaskan cruise. We LOVED Alaska House of Jade. Yves and Dee are wonderful people, very friendly and welcoming, it was just like staying with family :) We stayed in the Denali suite which was beautifully decorated, spotless, and very roomy. We decided to have a glass of wine on the porch and Yves joined us shortly thereafter with a bowl of nuts and wonderful stories about his time in various countries. Over breakfast the following morning Dee told us all about her family. We felt like we were home! If ever we are back in Alaska, this is definitely our "go to" place! :)

Room Tip: Any room would be lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Hi Wendy and Ron: It was great meeting you and hearing of your travels, etc. We sincerely appreciate you saying such nice things about your visit. We hope this will be the first of many more visits to Alaska. Dee & Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We found this B&B while looking for somewhere to stay near Anchorage on our way to Denali. Thank God we chose this place. A gorgeous house inside out. She greeted us personally even though we got in pretty late, at around 11 PM! Rooms were very nice and well maintained. And in the morning, the breakfast! It was a feast. The dining room was very clean with lots of windows right by a beautiful patio. The environment is just lovely! Definitely the best of all the places we stayed in Alaska. Yes it is!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houseofjade, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Hi Shamiul: Yves and I just wanted to thank you for taking the time to rate your visit at Alaska House of Jade. We sincerely appreciate your kind words. All the best to the family.
Dee & Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Back in Anchorage for the second time in as many years, I was a little hard pressed to find a suitable B&B. I was joining my brother and his family of four. Most B&B's accommodate 2 per room and here we were a party of 5!

Dee was extremely helpful. She gave us the entire lower portion of the house, which suited us admirably. Had a small dining area and a kitchenette to boot. Breakfast exceeded out expectations and their rates were most reasonable. Located 15 mins out out of the airport it is easy to find, but must have wheels.

Had half a day to kill (there is not a whole lot to do in Anchorage after you've paraded up and down 4th Ave), she directed us to The Alaska Native Medical Center. I know what you are thinking...Medical Center?? Excellent choice, it has all wonderful native exhibits and a authentic gift shop. Rest of time, she said, we spend at the 3rd Ave street fair. I found her and Yves more knowledgeable than the Tourist Center on 4th Ave.

Great B&B, great people!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houseofjade, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Yves and I want to thank you for taking the time to rate your stay with us. Thank you for the nice review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and your visit to our great state. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Alaska. Over the years more and more visitors realize that Alaska is NOT a one-time destination. Thanks again, Dee & Yves Memoune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My son and I had the pleasure of staying at the House of Jade for 5 nights, it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Dee & Yves made us feel completely welcome and with the opportunity to spend time mixing with other guests we felt part of a small community. The atmosphere is very informal which made us feel completely at home. Dee is an excellent cook, so the breakfasts were a real treat. The variety, quality and quantity of food on offer was fantastic. We had an excellent room with en-suite facilities. The B&B is in a quiet location, but only a short drive from downtown Anchorage. If we ever make it back to Anchorage, this would certainly be our preferred place stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houseofjade, Owner at Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Hello Alan and Rich: Thank you for the nice review. Yves and I throroughly enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again one day. Best Regards, Dee & Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3800 Delwood Place, Anchorage, AK 99504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious suites with accommodations for families and large groups. Most rooms have multiple beds. In addition, all rooms have private bath, flat screen premium cable TV and robes. On-site free parking and convient location just minutes from the airport and city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.